Becca Cosmetics Luminous Skin Colour Ultra Sheer Foundation SPF 20

I love the whole idea behind Becca Cosmetics.  I adore all of the lovely fleshtoned tints and the sheer veils of color, whether its eyeshadow, blush, or lip tints.  Their advertising is sensual and lush.  It always reminds me of a warm humid day out at the beach, or a musky forest.  Everything just reminds me of  the sensuality of skin.  So when I saw their extensive skintone foundations, I knew I had to walk away with something!

1. Becca Luminous Skin Colour Ultra Sheer Foundation SPF 20 in Nude, Camel and Olive, 1.7 oz for $42.00

Here is the thing about their star product, which is the Luminous Skin Colour Ultra Sheer Foundation SPF 20.  Many don’t really consider it a true foundation.  The coverage is so sheer that many believe it resembles more of a tinted moisturizer.  However, I don’t think calling it a tinted moisturizer is accurate either.  Tinted moisturizers tend to have a creamy and thicker consistency.  Becca Luminous Skin Colour is really like a skintone veil.  It still allows your skin color to show through a veil of color.  It can even you out, or give you the hint of a tan depending on how dark you go, which is something else that is unique about this foundation collection.  Most people could probably match with multiple colour washes because the colors are so sheer.  I think that is AWESOME.  I love the idea, and actuality, of pure, even-toned clear, luminous skin.  There is nothing more beautiful or sensual.  This range of foundation tones allows your skin to show through, while offering a veil of color to even you out. 

The cons to this foundation collection are obvious.  It provides almost no coverage of problem areas.  If you skin is broken out, this is not the foundation to use to cover it.  It won’t cover a thing.  If you are excessively oily, this will not help in mattifying you.  If your skin suffers from significant hyperpigmentation, this will not do a thing.  This foundation truly is meant for those with very few flaws. 

So why would I, someone who is oily, acne-prone and currently, uneven-toned, love this product?  Because when my skin is clear and even-toned, my skin looks gorgeous with this on.  For normal and dry skinned girls, who have mostly clear skin, this is an amazing product.   For oily girls, you may not love it.  But a thin dusting of powder can correct the dewy look if you are against it.  This is definitely a younger-skintone foundation, and likely one I will have to move away from as my skin requires more help in looking even-toned, but for now it is one of my favorite foundations.  If you like actual coverage, you will not like this.

Enough of my lovefest for Becca Cosmetics.  Here are the swatches for the Luminous Skin Colour in Nude, Camel and Olive, all of which work with my skintone.  Nude is a warmish neutral beige-nude; Camel gives a brightened yellow veil of color, which is actually kind of too yellow on my skin and I tone it down (and a hint darker) with Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheers bronzer; Olive has a slight hint of red to its undertone, which makes my skin look tannish. 

I recently acquired the shade Nude so I am including it in a separate swatch photo with the other two shades.  Nude is lighter than OliveOlive has a hint of a reddish undertone, while Nude really is a warm beige-nude that fits my coloring the best.  So good actually that you can’t tell I have it on.  I can tell because my skin looks a teeny bit more uniformly colored.  It VERY SLIGHTLY corrects my coloring, but not the post acne marks.

Updated: Becca Cosmetics is now carried by Sephora, online and in stores.  Not sure if ALL stores, though.  After I was able to test several other shades, I can pretty much say this foundation is goof proof because you CAN fit multiple shades considering how sheer they are.  I tried out Toast and Tan, which are both darker than my natural skintone, but with my tan – enhances my tan, giving me a lovely faux-beach baked look. 

Here are new swatches with better light. 

Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Ethylene/Va Copolymer, PVP, Cera Carnauba/Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax/Cire de carnauba, Butylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Tribehenin, Silica, Isopropyl Lanolate, Glyceryl Stearate, Triethanolamine, PEG-32, Steareth-2, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Glyceryl Caprylate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Tocopheryl Acetate, PEG-100 Stearate, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan) Extract, Disodium EDTA, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Camelia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Hexylene Glycol, Betaine, Hexapeptide-11, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Apigenin, Oleanolic Acid, Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1, Quaternium-73, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Maris Sal/Sea Salt/Sel marin, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Isopropyl Myristate. May contain/peut contenir [+/-]: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Carmine (CI 75470), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Mica (CI 77019).


8 comments

  1. Pingback: The Foundations: Part 3 « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: And Another Thing… « Fairytales and Coffee

  3. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared
    this site with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information.

    I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Outstanding blog and great style and design.


Leave a comment