Revlon Colorstay Makeup For Oily/Combination Skin

1. Revlon Colorstay Makeup for Oily/Combination Skin in Sand Beige and Golden Beige, 1.0 oz for $12.99

When I was hit with the mother of all breakouts one summer, I relied on Revlon’s Colorstay Makeup for Oily/Combination Skin in Golden Beige.  It seems I have a pattern of having my WORST breakouts over the summer.  This leads me to believe that it is the excess humidity that is exacberating my acne-prone skin.  Other than the new Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup, I have never had such a great, full coverage, long lasting, unbudgeable foundation. 

I remember picking up Revlon’s Golden Beige and hoping it would be a shade match – it was – and then hoping that it would not slide off my face, or disintegrate over the summer.  My skin was horrendous and I was completely embarrassed by it (I was in my mid twenties), now I am like FU, I’ve got skin issues and I try the best I can. I was so impressed when after several hours of being outside in the hot, humid summer heat, my foundation remained intact on my face.  It hadn’t moved or disintegrated.  It completely covered the red, and even though you could see the bumps, they were uniformly colored and covered.  I will say that unlike Urban Decay’s Naked Foundation, you DO feel Revlon’s Colorstay on your skin.  I did not forget I had it on because my pores kept on producing oil, so I felt the foundation like a second layer on my skin, the same way I felt Cetaphil’s DermaControl Oil Control Moisturizer SPF 30.  That feeling does make me afraid to my skin, but then I have no business touching my skin – so GOOD!

The foundation shades do oxidize a bit darker but not substantially darker. Golden Beige is my best shade match, but I can also wear Sand Beige, preferably in the dead of winter with a hint of bronzer.  Both leave a great finish and base to add on other cosmetics.   I actually checked out Warm Golden, as well, but it turns a very dark shade of orange on me. 

Here are the swatches.

For those who don’t feel comfortable spending a lot on foundations, then I suggest Revlon’s Colorstay Makeup that comes in both dry and oily skin versions.  Revlon’s Colorstay Makeup Foundation is one of the best drugstore foundations, and it compares remarkably well to department store foundations, as well.  Just think that Revlon had Colorstay Makeup for ages before L’Oreal and Maybelline came out with their hit foundation formulations.

Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%), Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)

Leave a Reply

