Maybelline FIT ME! Pressed Powder

Maybelline Fit Powder Front

Over the past spring – technically it is still spring, but you sure wouldn’t think it-I started preferring powder foundations over liquid foundations.  This was mostly laziness and the fact that my skin has been looking pretty good for a while now.  Powder foundations allow for lighter coverage that you can quickly swirl and buff in in a matter of seconds.  Not so with liquid foundations.

In the past, I have overwhelmingly preferred liquid foundations.  This was mostly due to the fact that powder foundations were very thick AND they did not come in shades that matched me.  Liquid foundations were more forgiving and adaptable.  I am pleased that along with the expansion of shades for liquid foundations, powder foundations have also gone through a shade expansion. 

Maybelline’s new FIT ME! foundation line is probably one of the best drugstore foundation lines out there next to Revlon’s.  It was a huge improvement compared to their previous foundation lines and I find that it offers better tone variation than the very peach/orange leaning L’Oreal True Match foundation line or Revlon’s Nearly Naked foundation line, which is what I refer to as blazingly orange.

Maybelline Fit Back

I picked up Maybelline’s FIT ME! Pressed Powder ($7.99) in Natural Beige (220) and I was able to compare it shade-wise to my oldest sister’s powder match in Natural Buff (230),when she visited for a weekend.  The swatches are below (each window contains both shades in different lighting) and I do think the names are a bit deceptive.  I would assume that Natural Beige (220) would be darker than Natural Buff (230), but it is not.  Even in the powder form, Natural Beige (220) looks darker than Natural Buff (230), but when you swatch it, it is the opposite.  Natural Beige (220) appears lighter and less orangey than Natural Buff (230).  My oldest sister has a neutral, light tan skin tone, compared to mine which is lighter with yellow-green undertones.  However, both powders oxidize significantly.  Initially, Natural Beige (220) looks like a fantastic skin tone match for me, but then it turns considerably darker as it mixes with my skin oils.  It actually doesn’t turn a vibrant orange, like Revlon’s Nearly Naked Pressed Powder, but a beigey, light tan brown color. It’s actually a lovely color.  It is less jarring than an orange face.  However, I look like I have brown face on a light yellow neck.

Maybelline large Front Text

Maybelline Fit Me Swatches Text

Aside from this issue, which I try to control by not using as much of the powder,  using a highlighter to tone done how dark the powder will oxidize, or using mineral sunscreens that leave me white, I actually do like this powder.  The powder is blendable and does not appear cakey – like ever.  It provides a natural skin-like finish and it never appears too powdery.  This is a great budget powder, and I believe it is actually my FAVORITE budget pressed powder.  If you are within the light to medium range, this is a great foundation line to check out.  I am also super excited to say that Maybelline seems to have added some new shades to the foundation line.  I am excited about the new shade, Golden Beige (240), which appears lighter than Natural Beige (220) on Maybelline’s website.  I hope they create a matching powder for it.  Also, if you are within the deep range, Maybelline has extended the shades to actually reflect DEEP skin tones, and not the medium shades they try to pass off as Deep.

Collage gb1

Ingredients: Talc, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Magnesium Stearate, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Nylon 12, Caprylyl Glycol, May Contain (+/-):, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), CI 77491, CI 77492, Iron Oxides (CI 77499), F.I.L. D43256/1


8 comments

  1. must try this now too. you make everything so tempting 🙂 i’m currently using milani’s multitasker face powder and i like it, but want to see how it compares to this.

    • I have good things about certain milani products. Ater the ban I am revisiting some brands I dismissed as cheap, when in reality they never had the advertising dollars like the P&G type brands that are not as good but get spammed all over the media.

    • Interesting…I think this is one of the few drugstore brands that is a steal at it’s retail price and would still be a value buy if it were more expensive. I really was impressed with this powder. Compared it to Lancôme’s Duo powder which I use and like, this has a smoother, more blendable, non-cakey texture. Hands down. Plus, it has a lot of tone variation within the light-medium range that doesn’t necessarily turn orange like other brands – even at the high end.


Leave a comment