MAC Blush Collection: The Swatches

Blush was the first makeup product I ever felt comfortable with and it was the only one I used for many years.  My first blush was from Cover Girl because it was cheap and it gave a lot of product.  I do not remember if it was Instant Cheekbones Contouring Blush in Sophisticated Sable or Classic Color Blush in Natural Glow.  What I do remember is that those were the two blushes I used almost exclusively throughout high school and college, and even on my first job out of college, where I expanded the Cover Girl color range and bought other blush shades like Rose Silk, Soft Mink, and Soft Sable.

MAC was the second “pricier” brand I purchased blush from.  (The first pricy blush I purchased was from NARS and it was Orgasm. ) I purchased from MAC because it was cheaper and it had a lot of exciting fashion colors.  I wouldn’t feel so bad stockpiling from them the way I would from NARS.

Here is the thing about MAC, it has brilliant marketing.  They are relatively inexpensive compared to other department store brands; they are always producing exciting and interesting advertising campaigns; and they are always introducing new limited shades and recycling old shades into “new” product launches.  Therefore, MAC has made itself into an “IT” brand by keeping itself fresh and relevant at a great introductory “premium” price point for those who want to move up from drugstore mass market brands.   Plus, price spreads between mass market brands  and entry department store brands have been shrinking.  I mean, not to long ago, I purchased a L’Oreal Visible Lift Repair Absolute Rapid Age Reversing Makeup, in Natural Beige for $17.99! Revlon’s Photoready Cream Blushes are being sold for $13.99! These are drugstore prices?!

Anyways,  my MAC collection is not extensive and my favorite blush shade was discontinued.  It is the Blushcreme in Lilicent. I think Revlon Creme Blush in Rosy Glow may be a close shade substitute, although, it is a thinner, gel-powdery consistency and the color is sheerer and more neutral than the peachyness in LilicentIllamasqua Cream Blusher in Zygomatic may be close, as well, but more a beigey-pink, but I need to swatch compare these at some point and post to say for sure.

MAC blushes vary with color payoff and wear.  It really is shade specific.  I can’t even say it is product line specific. So the best thing for you to do at a blush counter is to swatch your arm with all the shades you like, regardless if its a Mineralize, Beauty Powder, Sheertone, or Powder Blush, walk out of the store and compare in the sun.

MAC Blush Brigade:

1. MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in So Ceylon (discontinued), $29.00

2. MAC Mineralize Blush in Hot Planet (pink side/bronze side), $23.50

3. MAC Eversun Beauty Powder Blush (discontinued), $20.00

4. MAC Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul, $23.50

5. MAC Sheertone Shimmerblush in Plum Foolery, $20.00

6. MAC Powderblush in Cubic, $20.00

7. MAC  Blushcreme in Lilicent (discontinued), $20.00

Finally, here are the swatches:

After MAC‘s original Blushcreme in Lilicent, my second favorite MAC blush is the Mineralize Skinfinish in So Ceylon.  I have wondered if this a true blush, but I believe it is.  I used this color often to darken up too yellow foundations.  It is a wonderful natural bronze color.  I am surprised it was discontinued. 

I haven’t worn a MAC powder blush, or any powder blush, in almost two years because I noticed that my skin was turning the blush muddy.   The more problematic my skin becomes, the more serums I am layering on it, making my skin too “moist” preapplication, so powder blushes do not stand a chance.  I look forward to wearing powder again when I get my skin under control.


Leave a comment