Jouer Cosmetics Mineral Powder Blush in Bougainvillea

Jouer Mineral Blush

Jouer Cosmetics Mineral Powder Blush in Bougainvillea, $24.00

Becca Cosmetics’ Mineral Blushes got me into exploring other mineral powder blushes.  I loved the soft, creamy, pigmented look of their mineral blushes.  However, their blush shades are pretty limited.  I had to venture outside for a mineral powder blush in a different shade.  I picked up Jouer Cosmetics Mineral Powder Blush in Bougainvillea to add to it, which is described as a deep rose shade by Jouer Cosmetics.

Jouer Mineral Blush Close UpThis mineral powder was created with “light-diffusing minerals to create a soft finish” and contains green tea powder, antioxidant vitamins A, C, E to counter free radicals.   It looked nice in the pan but when I swirled my brush, mineral powder particles kicked up all over the pan.  When I applied it to my cheeks, the color was TOO diffuse and powdery looking.  I tried to increase the intensity of the shade and all I ended up with was powdery cheeks and this hazy shade of light-medium rose that did NOT want to deepen.  It was very muted but it did not evenly distribute itself over my cheeks no matter how I swirled or buffed my cheeks.   The pigment was definitely poor for a “deep rose” shade.

Bougaiville swatch text

I think this would be a great shade for very fair individuals who want a soft, hazy shade of rosy-pink on those cheeks.  But even then, I still don’t think the lightness of skin could compensate for how unevenly this applies, or powdery it is.  I, also, do not suggest this for oily skinned individuals, or those with large pores in the t-zone, as I believe this increased the uneven application of the pigment.  I can see this working on very fair women, who have TINY, non-existent pores with a normal-balanced skin type.  Even then, though, I would not recommend this blush.  There are better quality blushes at this price point.  PASS IT.

I was really disappointed by this blush.

INGREDIENTS: TALC, SQUALANE, SILICA, BORON NITRIDE, LAUROYL LYSINE, ZINC STEARATE, KAOLIN, CAMELLIA SINENSIS LEAF EXTRACT, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, RETINYL PALMITATE, ASCORBYL PALMITATE, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN. MAY CONTAIN (+/-): MICA (CI 77019), IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), RED 7 (CI 15850:1), RED 30 (CI 73360), CARMINE (CI 75470), ULTRAMARINES (CI 77007)

4 comments

  1. Oh dear I am so sad you are not having as positive an experience with Jouer as I had hoped :/ I only own Peach Bouquet but I didn’t have a problem with powderiness or uneven application. I wonder if it’s just the shade you got?? Because in your swatches I can definitely see what you’re talking about…but I did not experience this with Peach Bouquet. I wouldn’t say it’s the most pigmented blush I own but I had no problems getting it to show up on my NC25ish skin

    • Yeah, I was really trying to make it work because I love Jouer’s Tints, but even the quality control on that was weak because of the granules in it. Just hit me that I have had issues overall with their products, which is too bad because I love the concept and the packaging, but there needs to be definite quality control because the pigment of your swatches of Peach Bouquet were quite nice.

    • I want to give rave reviews but they are not letting me with their inconsistent quality. There is definitely a QC issue at work here. I love their tints but a few of mine had large unmelted granules in the mix. I didn’t feel like paying return fees for an exchange or do hassle.


Leave a Reply

