What’s In A Name?: Remede Skin Exacting Masque

Categorizing and naming a skincare product is pretty important.  It signals to the consumer what the main intended use is, regardless of the many creative uses you come up for it.   For instance, I am not going to sell a chair by calling it a table.    Sure, it can be used like a table, but really, it is a chair.  When I received a sample of the Remede Skin Exacting Masque, I believed that it was a mask and applied it as such.  Since I tend to leave my masks on for a long time, I didn’t notice anything wrong. I never bothered to read the instructions on the packet.  A mask is a mask, right?  Except, when it is not. 

1. Remede Skin Exacting Masque, 1.7 oz for $88.00

I ordered the full size product because of the interesting tingling-mild effervescing sensation I received from the mask during the first few seconds of application and because the ingredients were interesting.  It wasn’t until I read the back of the box that I realized that this product was not really a mask.  “This unique leave-on gel formula delivers a perfect blend of essential and barrier restoring oils, stimulating extracts, gentle but efficient seaweed-derived exfoliants and Vitamins A, C and E. It’s an extraordinarily hydrating, intensive revitalizing treatment that leaves skin soft, smooth, radiant and energized.”  WOOPS.  I was annoyed.  I had just bought a “hydrating gel.”  My oily skin does not need a hydrating gel.  Sure, I need moisture when I have nuked my skin with glycolics and retinoids, but those are by necessity very balm-like and meant to deeply moisturize sensitive, dry skin.  Hydrating gels, at least my experience with them (Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel), are not useful for my oily skin OR my sensitive, dry cracked, but still producing oil skin.

But I could not deny the really interesting tingly-effervescing sensation I received from the gel.  This product has over a dozen different essential oils and I am a sucker for essential oils.  I also cannot deny that this leave on gel “mask” handled my dry, cracked skin quite well.  It is not necessarily that moisturizing, but the exfoliating properties were very helpful in removing the roughness, while the essential oils brought targeted moisture.  I find that the byline underneath the actual product name is a more appropriate official name for this product: “leave on refining and rejuvenating treatment.”   Of course, it doesn’t have the same ring as Remede Skin Exacting Masque.

Buying this mask may have been a misunderstanding on my part, but it worked out pretty well.  I actually like it.  It may even be a repeat purchase.  Like I said, I am a sucker for products packed with essential oils.  They can do no wrong on my skin. 

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Butylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Glucosamine HCl, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Alteromonas Ferment Extract, Algae Extract, Saccharomyces Cerevisiae Extract, Maltooligosyl Glucoside, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hydrolyzed Lupine Protein, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Coriandrum Sativum (Coriander) Seed Oil, Cupressus Sempervirens Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, Nymphaea Alba Leaf Cell Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Pinus Sylvestris Leaf Oil, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Oil, Juniperus Communis Fruit Oil, Polyisobutene, Diphenyl Dimethicone, Hydroxymethyl Dioxolanone, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Polyacrylate-13, Limonene, Linalool, Polysorbate 20, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Benzoate, Geraniol, Urea, Ethylhexylglycerin, Carbomer, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Carmel, Yellow 5 (CI 19140)

One comment

  1. Pingback: A-Bombs Away! « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

