Jouer Cosmetics Tints

Jouer Tint 2

1. Jouer Cosmetics Tints in Amaryllis, Dahlia, and Petal, $20.00

Jouer Cosmetics, despite it’s “newish” status among blogs has actually been around for a bit.  I can’t exactly remember how long, but it’s definitely been more than just a couple of years.  It used to be carried by Sephora before it was removed.  I know this because I actually played with this in a Sephora store.  The weird thing is that I am pretty sure this either used to come in a white box, or white plastic container, but I am not 100% sure.  It’s weird that I have this nagging memory of playing with this brand in Sephora, but not 100% certainty.  Jouer is a pretty distinctive name and the interlocking casing mechanism is unique.

I first heard about Jouer Cosmetics as a small beauty blurb mention in a beauty magazine, probably Allure.  As always, I was intrigued and curious to try the line.  But a quick check of the ingredients turned me off,  as it appeared to have oil in it ath the time.  At this point, I was avoiding products with oil in it, as well as, any creamy textured products because of my oily, acne-prone skin.  I have since become a more informed beauty consumer and I am the better for it.  Not all oils are evil on my acne-prone skin.

Jouer Tint Open 2

I picked up Jouer Tints because of its multi-purpose nature.  A lip and a cheek product that is creamy and blendable on the skin? Awesome!  I tried to pick up an assortment of shades that I didn’t really have.  This can be hard to do since most brands try to provide the same core blush shades, but I was hoping for a different varitation of what I already have.  Plus, even if it was the same, I don’t have too many dual purpose products.  Plus, the packaging is COOL!

I picked up three shade; Petal, Dahlia, and Amayllis, but I actually wanted a fourth, too, called Bare, but it seemed like it might be similar to Kevyn Aucoin’s The Creamy Glow in Nuelle (which was discontinued years ago, but I still have the shade).  Well, after having tried these, I wish I had picked up Bare and Peony!  While I love the blendable tints on my cheeks – that would be flattering on just about any skintone –  I loved them even more on my lips!

Jouer Tint Back

I have difficulty finding lipstick textures that I like on my lips, as well as more casual, wearable shades that don’t make me look all washed out and sallow.  This is why I prefer bright, almost neon shades for lips, like NEON oranges and VIBRANT pinks.  But these are not CASUAL colors and they are definitely NOT low maintenance.   I want casual, low maintenance, and flattering!  These are it!

Jouer Tint Open 1

Petal is a described as a soft rose pink.  Amaryllis is described as a creamy soft red, while Dahlia is described as a sheer ripe berry.  I found Petal to be a warm, light pink.  Not really rosy at all.  Amaryllis reminds me of a juicy strawberry smoothie, a bright reddish pink.  Dahlia is a medium berry color.  The coverage is adjustable.  You can go for a stained effect with sufficient blotting.  You can layer and blot, blot, blot for a subtle matte effect.  Or coat with heavy layers for a fuller lipstick effect (I am not a fan of this since I hate feeling a thick layer of lipstick, but it is a good way to build volume if you have thinner lips.)  Best of all, all three shades are easily mixable to create your own custom shade.  I decided to layer all three and blend, blend, blend, and came up with the PERFECT, spring medium warm pink for my skintone.

However, I was not a fan of the inconsistent formula in the pan.  There were random larger lumps that were NOT thoroughly blended.  This could be a quality control issue, or it may be a storage environment issue.  I am not sure.  It does not effect the texture of the cream once blended on the lip, but it does not feel as “luxurious” with those lumps in the pan.  However,  I absolutely love the interlocking form factor to create your own palette.  I did not think this would matter to me but I actually do like locking these together.  Kind of brilliant, actually.

Jouer Tint Swatch 1 Text

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor Seed) Oil, Isopropyl Myristate, Petrolatum, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Paraffin, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Stearoxymethicone Dimethicone Copolymer, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Ozokerite, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla Cera) Wax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Isostearyl Behenate, Polyethylene, Kaolin, Biotite, BHT, Propylparaben, May also contain:, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77894), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850:1), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410) (CI 45410:1), Carmine (CI 75470) (CI 75470)

5 comments

  1. Wow Jouer Cosmetic! I wanna try the brand especially on its cream products. The colors looks great on your skin tone. However it’s sad that the formula is inconsistent, but I think by blending it well, it should solve the problem 🙂

    • Yeah – It is inconsistent. I picked up the Tiare highlighter creme and it was smooth. Vigourous blending solved the issue. These are great though. I dislike creamy lipsticks so the fact i can use these as lipcolor without that heavy cream texture is awesome.

    • Hi! You know I bought these because I’m a blush whore but these are incredible for very pigmented but lightweight color for the lips. It almost feels like a heavy stain but with a creamy finish that doesn’t budge.

  2. Pingback: Jouer Cosmetics Highlighter « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

