Lancome Maquicomplet Complete Coverage Concealer

1. Lancome Maquicomplet Complete Coverage Concealer in Medium Bisque and Correctuer, $29.50

This concealer has been a lifesaver for me because of the horrendous adult hormonal acne I have been hit with recently.  I know I featured it in a concealer collection post, but this deserves its own post.  Honestly, I would freak out if I didn’t have a tube of this stuff on hand, which is why I ran out and got more.  Medium Bisque is the only shade you can use if you are not very fair or dark.  Lancome’s shade range for this product line is abysmal.  I have both the Medium Bisque and I recently picked up Correcteur, which is a very pale yellow, which I suppose is meant to cover red spots first and then you layer on another concealer?  Or it could be an undereye highlighter.  I don’t know.  All I know is the Lancome associate said I could use it to cover up the red first, which is what I have been doing.

If you are between a MAC NC 25-35, I am pretty sure you can use this concealer.  It is a warm medium-beige, which is darker than my skintone, but since I am trying to cover up angry red acne, it works just fine.  It is exceptionally creamy, can be sheered out when necessary, blends seamlessly with other foundations from other brands, and it stays moist – thank goodness. 

I use this sucker every day, multiple times a day and I do not skimp.  While I don’t like the applicator because it makes it difficult to get the last bit out, I like the fact that I can just hit the wand to my skin and dot it allover where I need it, without my finger touching it.

So far this is my star concealer for angry red bumps on dry irritated skin. I would love to find something closer to my skintone, as this does dry down a hint darker on its own so I have to blend in with other lighter foundations.  But it really has been uber important to me this summer. 

Updated in 10/12: Score! When I am on tazorac and my skin is peeling non-stop during the course of the day, and I cannot wear ANY foundation because the blending/rubbing lifts peeled sections of skin everywhere, I can rely on this tube of creamy concealer dotted everywhere to mimic a very light foundation cover that will not emphasize my peeling skin, but conceal it!

Here are the swatches:

Update: I went to Sephora and compared Lancôme’s Maquicomplet Complete Coverage Concealer to Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer and the pigmentation level of the Lancôme is higher and the texture is creamier.  Lancôme easily beats Nars’.  Shade wise, the Nars’ Custard is closest to Lancôme’s  Correcteur and Nars’ Ginger is closest to Medium Bisque.  However, Lancôme’s Medium Bisque has more warmth to it.  Although, Lancôme’s Medium Bisque falls somewhere between Nars’ Ginger and Caramel.

Here are Café Makeup’s swatches of Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer.

I, also, compared Lancôme’s Maquicomplet Complete Coverage Concealer to Becca’s Radiant Skin Creamy Concealer and, once again, Lancôme beat it with higher pigmentation and a creamier feel.  Becca’s Radiant Skin Creamy Concealer, also, felt less creamy than Nars’ Radiant Creamy Concealer and seemed better suited for oilier skin types.  I actually suggest using a moisturizing product under Becca’s Radiant Skin Creamy Concealer.  Becca’s Banana is closest to Lancôme’s Correcteur and Becca’s Macadamia is closest to Medium Bisque.  However, Medium Bisque is warmer and deeper.

 I find that between Becca’s and Nars’ radiant creamy concealers that both run a bit liquid-y and less creamy than I would have expected for a concealer marketed as “creamy.”  However, both delivered  a bit more “radiance” than the Lancôme concealer.  The light-reflecting, or radiance, from these two concealers were similar to YSL’s  Touche Éclat highlighter pens.  As concealers though, I find Nars’ and Becca were kind of weak.  These are definitely more in line with YSL’s Touche Éclat with more shade variety and a teeny bit more pigment in the light-medium range, and a lot more pigment in the medium-deep range.  I actually think medium to deep toned ladies will enjoy Nars’ and Becca’s creamy concealer wands as great pigmented highlighters, since these tones often get left out in most cosmetic range.

6 comments

  1. I LOVE how pigmented yet light and fluid this concealer looks. I’ve been looking for a new concealer for a while now (my usual Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer just doesn’t seem…well, creamy enough for me anymore. I want something more fluid). The Correcteur shade seems like it would actually be a pretty good match for my skin–the Medium Bisque seems a little dark…maybe if I mixed the 2 together that would work though. I’m definitely checking this one out next time I’m at the counters

    • I’ve actually accidently left my medium bisque out of my gym bag the last week. I was so annoyed when all I saw was the correctuer but it actually worked to cover up my acne and did disappear into skin – mixing in with my foundation underneath – so definitely give this stuff a try. It has been a savior against bumps because it is not drying and blends very well! It blends seamlessly into skin color wise.

  2. Pingback: Absolute Skin Saviors of 2012 « Fairytales and Coffee

  3. Pingback: R.I.P. Muji Nylon Makeup Bag or How Someone Became Extra Grimey « Fairytales and Coffee

  4. well damn, i wish i came across this review before i hopped on the nars concealer. now i’m reading your blog like a novel. i’ll try this next. you do amazing reviews.


Leave a Reply

