YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation: The Swatches

YSL LE TEINT TOUCHE ÉCLAT Illuminating Foundation SPF 19, 1.0 oz for $55.00

Here is the foundation color guide that YSL put out.  It is not the most helpful without actual color swatches to compare, but it gives you an idea.  For instance, did you notice that BD 30 appears to be a more golden yellow than BD 40, assuming that the color guide is an accurate indication of color intensity and undertone differences.   

B30 appears to have a distinct yellow-peach tone, compared to the BD40, which is lighter and pinkier.  While B40 looks warmer than BD40 which makes no sense, but when B40 dries down, you can see a hint of peach in there on my yellow-green skin.  The YSL Color Chart is a little odd.  Some of the Beige colors appear to have more warmth than the Beige Dore colors.  Also, I noticed that despite the large number of shades, there can be significant jumps from one shade to the next.  BD40 is significantly lighter than BD50, which appears to be a light golden tan-brown.  My ideal shade would be between BD40 and BD50BD30 is not available in the U.S. even though it appears to have more warmth than BD40.

If you are curious to find out how the foundation worked out in the “field,” check out my post on the takeaways for this foundation.

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, PEG-10,  Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Polglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride,,  Phenoxyethanol, Caprytyl Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite,  Discdium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylgycerin, Fragrance,  Aluminum Hydroxide, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Dipropylene Glycol, Isotridecyl Isononanoate. May contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron  Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride; Octinoxate 7%.


18 comments

  1. Did the foundation last you the whole day on a hot day? Because here in Hawaii, it’s HOT & i love searching for foundations that really last throughout the day without blotting.

  2. Pingback: The Foundations: Part 2 « Fairytales and Coffee

    • No BD40 is too light. BD50 too deep and bronzey. There is a significant jump in warmth and depth between BD40 and BD50. Even without my tan, I don’t think I will be able to use BD40. I would need to check back around December.

  3. I completely agree with you about the big jump from BD40 to BD50. I am thinking about buying B40 as it seems to be the middle ground between the two and also BD50 to warm it up with a drop or two as B40 lacks warmth. This would also give me the benefit of being able to customise it to my skin throughout the year. I do love this product though, it has such a natural finish.

    • I’d caution on buying both to mix. I got samples and I mixed the shades and it looked a bit muddy. Something about the formulation makes it difficult to mix and create one inbetween shade. Get some samples and see how that works. Really expensive to buy both and not work.

    • If you are in the U.S. go to any Sephora store and ask for a sample. In major department stores you can ask too but they are not as friendly and can be kind of pushy. If outside of the U.S., if there is a sephora near you go or a major department store that carries the line in your country. Get several shade samples. I tried like 4.

  4. Pingback: Politically Incorrect Foundations « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a comment