The Foundations: Part 2

My second set of foundations.  I have included samples of foundation shades that I decided not to buy.  While I have never found an exact shade match, I think it is interesting to see how the shades compare.  Doing this has actually gotten me to see how I need to be WAY MORE CAREFUL selecting foundation shades.  What stops one brands shade from being “too” whatever from another brands being just “right enough,” even though it is also not right.  Is it finish? Is it texture? Is it the way it settles or oxidizes?  Is it the way light reflects off of it? Is it the way it feels after an hour?  Maybe pointless, but I find it interesting, why I CAN’T find a shade in one brand, and yet I will with another that isn’t quite right either…

Anyways, no more digressions…

1. YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation SPF 19 in Beige 30, 1.0 oz for $55.00 (sample)

After consulting another beauty consultant in way better lighting (thank you Sephora), I decided that Beige 40 was the best match for me.  But if you click back to the swatches of B30 and B40, you will notice how B30 is noticeably more champaigne peachy yellow than B40, which has more of a warm beige cast to it.  YSL’s Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation has interesting numbering based on the shades and the tones…Don’t go off of the names when selecting.  You should go in person and swatch EVERY COLOR within your color range on you and then decide.  If you can find a match, get it.

Ingredients: Octinoxate 7%, Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, PEG-10,  Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Polglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride,,  Phenoxyethanol, Caprytyl Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite,  Discdium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylgycerin, Fragrance,  Aluminum Hydroxide, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Dipropylene Glycol, Isotridecyl Isononanoate. May contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron  Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride.

2. Napolean Perdis China Doll Foundation SPF 15 in Look 2, 1.0 oz for $50.00

This is supposed to be a light and luxe long wearing foundation.  I don’t think it is lightweight at all.  It actually feels heavy and I think it actually looks heavy and it feels thick as you are spreading it out on your face.  I think that because of its thickness it coats the skin in a way to cover imperfections and make it look all uniform.  Hence, China Doll skinI didn’t like this and I will not wear again.  Plus, the color is not a good look.  Focus on the tesxture of the swatch.  It reminded me of batter as I spread it.  It also oxidized and is a very yellowy version of MAC’s NC 30.  The tip of the tube is also kind of gross with the twist off cap with encrusted foundation….blech.  Bad packaging.

Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Water, Isododecane, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Cyclomethicone, Butylene Glycol, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Silica, Nylon-12, Talc, Dimethicone Crosspolymer-3, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Chloride, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polydodecanamideaminium Triazadiphenylethenesulfonate, Polyvinylalcohol Crosspolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Xanthan Gum, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Phytantriol, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Ultramarines

3. YSL Teint Radiance, Radiance Enhancing, Flawless Foundation SPF 20 in Pink Beige, 1.0 oz for $48.00

I tried Gold Beige and it had a distinct pink-red tone to it that turned slightly orange.  I tried Pink Beige, which was light, light tan beige on me,and I was like, ‘well, actually this works.’  Don’t pay attention to names.  Swatch yourself!  When I first used this on my face, I did not like it.  The formula has this weird creamy plushness to it.  Weird to describe it like that.  It felt plush-creamy,  as I applied it, but it didn’t feel plush, or thick, as I blended it on my face.  When I was done, it didn’t feel like anything at all.  I thought that was odd.  It did give my skin an even-toned radiance.  I even use this as concealer on my skin sometimes when I want something less tacky than my Lancome Maquicomplet Complete Coverage ConcealerTeint Radiance glides on the skin like a plush, cool, liquidy marshmallow cream.  It is definitely a winter foundation though.  I stay away from this in the summer.

Ingredients: Aqua / Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Glycerin, Isododecane, Pentylene Glycol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Boron Nitride, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Hexylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphates / C9-15 Fluoroalcohol, Phosphate, Nylon-12 Fluorescent Brightener 230 Salt, Titanium Dioxide, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Lauryl Peg/Ppg-18/18 Methicone, Fructose, Glucose, Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Propylene Carbonate, Parfum / Fragrance, Silica, Dodecene, Poloxamer 407, Urea, Sodium Hyaluronate, Alanine, Alumina, Polyvinylalcohol Crosspolymer, Aspartic Acid, Glutamic Acid, [+/- May Contain] Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica.

4. Jemma Kidd Make Up School Light As Air Liquid Foundation SPF 18 in in Light/Medium (03), 1.0 oz for $38.00

I hate, hate, hate the packaging for this foundation.  I lost about a 1/5th of it just opening it because, set on its cap, the foundation settled into the cap and spilled as I opened it.  It doesn’t matter how you store this thing, unless it’s upside down, the foundation collects in the twist-off cap and spills.  Hot mess. Will not buy this again.  Packaging is  important, people.  As far as the foundation: yes, actually, it does feel light and cool on the skin. Super-blendable, nice almost matte finish.  It is quite nice, but you know what, I don’t care.  The packaging pissed me off.  Not re-purchasing.   This should have been a gym bag/travel staple.  Nope.

5. Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup in 3.0, 1.0 oz for $38.00 (sample)

Nice demi-matte finish.  I’ve discussed before.  Check a better swatch of this below.

6. Clinique Even Better Liquid Makeup SPF 15 in Buff, 1.0 oz for $27.00 (sample)

Already reviewed and swatched earlier.  I am not quite sure why I swatched this here, but look, see the nice peach-beige-peach-beige contrast!  🙂 Just remember, this is a dry-down dupe for Lancome’s Teint Miracle Foundation in Buff (7W)

The swatches:

5 comments

  1. Pingback: Treatment and Foundation in One? (Thhppfffttt): Clinique Even Better Makeup SPF 15 « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. I’m super keen on trying the clinique even better in Buff. EB is my holy grail formulation, while my perfect colour is Chanel Vitalumiere 20 cameo-clair. However, in my country they only sell EB in a few colours, none of which are quite right for me, and so I would have to buy Buff online. Do you still have a sample of that foundation? Is there anyway you could add a few more photos of swatches, in different lights? I’ve looked at the swatches in your other post too. Thanks for your help! Love your blog.

    • Aw thanks! Rat’s, I don’t have EB in Buff anymore. It is a very yellow-cream like color…The only foundation I have that is a near shade dupe is from Lancôme’s Teint Miracle, which as it dries down a hint peachy. The next time I go to Sephora, I will see if I can take a quick snap of a swatch on my hand in daylight, which is the best light for figuring out what the color looks like. I will upload it to this post, but probably not for a week.

  3. Pingback: Clinique foundations for yellow based skin tones | teejayesbeauty


Leave a Reply

