LEMMING SOOOOO BAD…Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder

MUST

NOT

GET

THEM

ALL

RESIST

FORCE

SO

STRONG

I am AGAINST highlighter powders.   I purchased LORAC’s Perfectly Lit Oil-Free Luminizing Powder some years ago and could not figure out how to use it – like it was a rubiks cube that needed to be solved.  No matter what I did, it was too much.  I looked like I was frosting my face.  I finally threw it in the garbage.  My skin was too greasy to effectively use powders without it cakeing up on my skin, and the frosting action was too much.  I eventually picked up LORAC’s Oil-Free Luminizer in Pearl 1, which I LOVE!  This was goof proof.  Since then, I have never lusted after, or been remotely curious about highlighting powders.  Liquids and creams are my go to.  So multi-purpose, so easy.  But if anything is going to get me to try a powder highlighter….I think it may be these….Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder…ACK!

Say it ain’t so…Hourglass!  These are soooooooo flipping expensive!  Did you have to come out with more than one color?  Why, why, why!? 

Why did you have to add that techno-speak – me and beauty-enhancing technology – MUY SIMPATICO.  “Photoluminescence and color-correcting”…arrgghhhh.  “Transparent micro-“…stop right there!  “Alter and refine the perceived appearance of the complexion by manipulating and filtering”….!!!!  Can it filter out my acne while sucking up my pores?….NO.  Damn. 

Six universal shades?  As in, I can use any of the six shades for a different effect? YES!  Eh, I’ll take 4.  Don’t need all 6.  I can show restraint.

BUT WHY LIST THE PRODUCT ON YOUR WEBSITE, SEPHORA, IF IT’S NOT EVEN AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE!!!!  None of the four shades I want are available!!!! ARGHHHHHHHH.

SCREW THIS MARCH BAN…IT’S 2013 AND A NEW QUARTER. 

I will just stare at my collage…that’ll tide me over….We’ll see if this oily skinned, acne-prone girl can be converted by this product.  I haven’t even tried it, touched it, seen it in real life, and I WANT TO BELIEVE!!!!

From Sephora’s website:

Mood Light – Soft, Sheer Lavender Pink

Diffused Light – Soft, Warm Yellow

Luminous Light – Champaigne, Pearl Powder

Dim Light – Neutral Peach Beige Powder

*Hmmm…maybe I should swap out the Dim for the Radiant…I hate peach beige on my yellow-green skin.  But that powder color looks interesting.

Update: Sephora gave me ETA as end of January…they can’t keep these in stock – ARGGGHHHHHHHH has these back in stock baby!!!

7 comments

    • Hi Meryl! You know, these are so expensive, and since I want more than one, I just have to hold out and wait. That lavender pink, golden champaigne, and shimmer peach beige, are just too unique for me to just walk away with just one…assuming these can work on my skin. 🙂

  1. I’m sure you probably are already aware, but all the shades are available online at Sephora now!! I know, I am so excited to try these too! I was literally on the Hourglass website a few nights ago and wondering when they would release a face/cheek powder product because their powder shadow formula is just divine! Then the very next day I got the info for the new powders so YAY! 😀

      • Ooh nice picks! I just received Radiant Light but I still want more!! I am curious about Mood Light because of the color but even more that, I want Diffused Light (I think the yellow tones would be immensely flattering on me) and Dim Light (peachy brightening goodness!! :P). I originally thought I would want Luminous Light the most but a quick survey of my highlighters show that I recently acquired many shimmering beige powders and need more variety

  2. I just saw the review by Becca @the Beauty Sample, and I must try these as well!! They look like the perfect dull winter skin skin perk me up! 🙂


Leave a Reply

