Hot Orange Lips with Hourglass and Make Up Forever

Hourglass MUF Orange Horizontal

It is a tad ironic that I am posting an orange lippy just when I am favoring the muted nudish pink tones.  Go figure.  I still love super bright orange and super bright neon pinks, but more casual colors that don’t require frequent checks of the mirror are more my style now.  Not like I wore them very often to begin with, but it was always a special treat when I did.  However, even with the few time I wore these bright colors, they sometimes made a bigger impact than I wanted…I once snoozed a bit on my ride back home on a late night and went back home with my orange lips smeared all over my mouth and surrounding skin.  Yes, I looked crazy.  Fortunately, this was during my grad school days, late at night, and very few people actually saw that hot mess.  Since that night, I’ve always been paranoid every time I wear a noticeable lip color.  Plus, I have an overbite with very large front teeth….the kind you hate as a kid, but turn out to be one of those features you get complemented on by strangers and dentists alike.  

I picked up these bright orange hues last winter when I was loving the new vibrant pinks and oranges that were being released in these cool liquid-lip matte colors.  I tried Stila’s Stay All Day Liquid Lip Color in Fiore (a hot pink) and Tesoro (a lovely hot orangey-red), but one quick rub of my lips together and it looked sludgey and peeled off my skin.  I loved the colors but didn’t like the wearability.  I tried Giorgio Armani’s Lip Maestro in Tibetan Orange and I loved it (and picked it up).  It will show up in a post eventually.  I really wanted to pick up another shade but decided to pick up another shade of orange from the very comparable Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Riviera, which was a few bucks cheaper.  

Hourglass MUF Orange

Hourglass’ Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick offered enhanced wearability and finish.  I wasn’t as nerve racked about the lacquer peeling off and clumping.  This didn’t mean that I was smacking my lips with abandon but it was a huge improvement from Stila’s comparable color matches for a few bucks less.  Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick does not bleed or feather.  It goes on in a thin creamy veil of color and dries to a dense non-dry looking matte finish.  I can’t claim to have ever worn this lip for 14 hours, but I don’t think 14 hours is legitimate simply because it does fade a bit after a few hours and it does kind of embed itself in to your lips, drying it out a bit.  A few careful thin swipes of color along with balm refuels the color payoff, but you have to be careful to reduce a smidge of clumping along the lines in your lips where the color may have sunk in more.  Regardless, this is an amazing lipstick for those of use who are neurotic and do not want to look like bozo the clown.

I picked up Make Up Forever’s Aqua Lip Waterproof Lipliner Pencil as a way to reinforce the color of what I thought would be bleeding and fading pigment.  Turned out with the enhanced staying power of the Hourglass and Armani Lacquers that it was unnecessary.  However, it turned out that this little pencil is more than just a way to lay down foundation color to lock in the pigment under lipstick.  This pencil can be worn on its own for medium tinted shot of waterproof color.  I was really surprised with the pigment and long lasting color.  A touch of balm adds needed moisture and a hint of shine to the finish for a more subdued look, even with the Bright Orange 17C shade I picked.  I liked this pencil so much that I picked up a hot pink number as well to be showcased some time later down the road.  

Hourglass Orange

One of the awesome things about pencil makeup is how much long lasting it is compared to liquid and cream-based products.  Sadly, that’s the one thing that makes the Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick a problem, is the breeding ground aspect of the flecked sponge-tipped applicator wand being reinserted into the plastic shaft.  The need to replace this lipstick often will be high.  That’s about the only negative I can think of.  It really is a safe way to wear loud, bright colors without neurotically checking the mirror or avoiding serious lip-contact action.

 

12 comments

  1. those make up for ever lip pencils are nice I think, they have a lot of right up my alley colours actually, it is always dangerous for me to go near a MUFE place, haha. I really like the shades of those hourglass liquid things but sadly, they look so bad on my dry lips and fade in a weird way 😦 I really like your new layout and your pics are so clear, can’t wait for more post, glad to have you back ❤

    • I was really impressed with the MUF Aqua Lips, I did have to restrain myself from picking up way more colors than the two I ended up with. That sucks about the Hourglass. I know I have dry lips, so I am careful with prep and how I apply. Yeah, it does fade after a while. It is good for one more application before you have to just stop. It’s still less neurotic for me than my other lipsticks so it’s a plus for me. Have you thought of Armani Lip Maestro? It’s actually a silkier, smoother feel and doesn’t fade as bad. Gold standard for these liqud lips. Thanks for the complement!

    • I am actually really excited to try more of their products oafter the ban! Their product line is the perfect balance of scientific innovation and beauty/fashion. Can’t wait for their triple highlighter powder collection!!!


Leave a Reply

