Lusting For…New Skincare

I will always be a bigger skincare nut than a makeup nut.  My skincare expenditures dwarf my makeup expenditures easily.  I wish I could go cold turkey and not buy any new skincare products until I used up a significant amount of my products but it is rather hard for me to do.  I may actually insitute a skincare no-buy period simply because I have nearly two dozen brand new, still shrink wrapped, or boxed, skincare products stuffed in dark drawers, or shelves.  Some of which I know I will not be able to use until next fall/winter, since they are unsuited for spring/summer.  :/

But lust I must.  And beauty companies are always releasing a new potential blockbuster product.  Arrghhhhh.  I like to check out Sephora’s or Skinstore’s website weekly for new products, and I was not disappointed.  There are a few products that intrigued me and are within my allowable price points.  I have already tried samples for a few and liked them, but I have not yet made the purchase because of my own glut of products.  Sigh. How long will my resolve last?  

Olehenriksen C Oil

Pure Truth Vitamin C Youth Activating Oil™, 1.0 oz for $45.00

An oil and Vitamin C ?  Sweet!  This actually reminds me of Lumene’s Vitamin C+ Dry Skin Comfort Radiance Cocktail (reviewed here).  I love oils, so the idea of a vitamin c-infused oil to apply before sunscreen sounds great to me.  I WILL try this before the year is out and report back.  It is more expensive than I think it should be but I am “le sucker” for oils so, oh well.

Ingredients: Rosehip Seed Oil, Tangerine Peel Oil, Lemongrass Oil, Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E).

Murad Intensive C Radiance Peel

Murad Intensive C Radiance Peel, 1.7 oz for $49.50

I actually tried a sample of this and I like it.  You can feel the exfoliating action quickly.  I have only used this after the gym so there is definitely more blood rushing in my face from my physical exertion, but this definitely softens and degreases my skin.  Kind of pricey though for a peel, but you actually dont need a lot to move around your face for the same effect.  It’s not like it neutralizes or anything.

Ingredients: Water, Kaolin, Synthetic Beeswax, Glycerin, Glycolic Acid, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ethyl Ester of PVM/MA Copolymer, Pentylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Urea, Yeast Amino Acids, Trehalose, Inositol, Taurine, Betaine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Opuntia Ficus Indica Flower Extract, Hydrolyzed Myrtus Communis Leaf Extract, Azelaic Acid, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Butylene Glycol, Fomes Officinalis (Mushroom) Extract, Cimicifuga Racemosa Root Extract, Ascorbic Acid, Chitosan, Propyl Gallate, Zinc Gluconate, Methyl Diisopropyl Propionamide, Ethyl Menthane Carboxamide, Menthyl Lactate, Lauryl Laurate, Hydroxyethyl Behenamidopropyl Dimonium Chloride, Aminomethyl Propanol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Ceteareth-20, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Limonene, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, Ocimum Basilicum (Basil) Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Ferula Galbaniflua (Galbanum) Resin Oil.

Murad Active Radiance

Murad Active Radiance™ Serum Featuring Resilient-C™ Complex, 1.0 oz for $89.00

I am looking for a new vitamin c serum.  I recently finished the last few uses of the Lumene’s Vitamin C+ Dry Skin Comfort Radiance Cocktail and I still have an extra bottle of the stuff, as well as the oily skin version.  However, I want something more potent for rapid firming and brightening.  Glycolic acid is one of the top ingredients and that is a plus.  I am particular about how serums feel on my skin, so I will see if I can get a sample before I buy to try out.

Ingredients: Water, Glycolic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Glycerin, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Hydrolyzed Myrtus Communis Leaf Extract, Enantia Chlorantha Bark Extract, Oleanolic Acid, Ectoin, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Zinc Gluconate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Biotin, Mannitol, Chitosan Ascorbate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Sodium PCA, Betaine, Sorbitol, Glycine, Alanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Arginine, Lysine, Glutamic Acid, Methyl Diisopropyl Propionamide, Ethyl Menthane Carboxamide, Menthyl Lactate, Lauryl Laurate, Polysorbate 20, Ethylhexylglycerin, Corn Starch Modified, Xanthan Gum, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Limonene, Linalool, Fragrance (Parfum), Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Orange 4 (CI 15510).

Marula Pure Marula Facial Oil

Marula The Leakey Collection Pure Marula Oil, 1.69 oz for $78.00

I received a generous sample of this from Sephora and I was really impressed with this oil, which is great for oily, acne-prone skin.  I have seen bad reviews for this product but they were all from women who complained about it on their dry skin, or it being not moisturizing enough.  So, dry skinned girl keep note this is NOT moisturizing enough.  However, on my oily skin it is just fine.  Loaded with antioxidants and omegas, it is supposed to nourish the skin, fight fine lines and wrinkles.  It can also be used as a primer and I have to say it worked well on my skin.  I still have the Hourglass No. 28 Serum, which is a primer chock full of essential oils, so this will have to hold out for a while.

Ingredient: Marula Oil

I didn’t notice until AFTER I was writing this post that I seem to be lemming after Vitamin C products.  So if there IS a moratorium on purchasing that will be the exclusion.  🙂

12 comments

      • Have you tried a lot from his line? My wallet yells at me everytime. The nurture me moisturizer smells like a dreamcicle aaaand is super nice on my sensitive skin.

      • I have tried various products over the years. I find his line is great for dry, normal, and combination skin types who do not like aggressive treatments, but its not the best for oily, acne-prone skintypes that want either aggressive treatment (me) or super gentle protective actives to combat aggressive retinoid use (me). This is definitely a line for people who minor skin issues and want gradual but consistent improvement in skin. Im not that patient. But a vitamin c oil is pretty interesting to me.

  1. Ole Henriksen products make me swoon. I’ve only tried samples because I haven’t dared purchase any full size products yet. I’m still more of a makeup girl than a skincare girl which is totally skewed because it’s much better to spend $50 on something that will improve your skin long-term than on some eyeshadows. I guess it’s because makeup gives you instant gratification. Anyways, what a ramble. I’m just getting into skincare and these seem like great products xx

    • Ole Henriksen is actually really good about selling kits at great value prices to allow your more products to try. Alhtough at your age you only really need like a cleanser, sunscreen, moisturizer/serum… 🙂 My skincare addiction started more as a need because of my acne…then it became a hobby… 🙂

  2. Hmmm… Vitamin C serums, I actually do not have any on my collection yet. You and Ruth Crilly are no good for my budget. LOL.

    • HAHA. You know depending on your skintype there are various options. Vitamin C, sunscreen, and retinol are like the triumervate in skincare. Dry skin – Ole henriksen, emerginC, Lumene; Normal/Oily Skin – Obagi 🙂

  3. Aaahh what are you doing to me?!! I REALLY want to try that marula oil now!! I always love the idea of using facial oils but it’s hard to find one that works for my oily, acne-prone skin. Must definitely try that one!! 😀

    • I wasnt even in the market for it. I was interested in Boscias tsubaki oil with camelia but I was unimpressed. The associate gave me a nice sample of the marula oil and I used that. Definitely good stuff. What’s cool is that is can double as a primer. However, if you are looking for an essential oil product for your acne-prone, oily skin – I can’t sing enough praises for Decleors Ylang Ylang Serum. i have purchased it around half a dozen times. it’s a staple for me.

  4. Now you made me wan’t both the Olle Henriksson serum and Murad peel :-). I also have lots of products tjat I haven’t used yet.

    Have you tried Kiehls midnight recovery oil? It my absolut favorit at the moment.

    • I was interested in the Kiehls Midnight Recovery Oil when I first heard about it but for some reason never made the leap. I tried the Murad Peel from a little tube sample and what impressed me about it is that I could use very little of it and I still experienced tingling, exfoliation action. Plus, I like the tube. Some OTC peels are too strong to work with my A-bombed skin and just irritate it (Mychelle/Arcona), others are too weak and do nothing (REN!!!), but this was like the sweet spot that worked with my retin-a regimen.


Leave a Reply

