Missing Muji Nylon Makeup Bag or How Someone Became Extra Grimey

Muji Makeup Case back in November

Muji Makeup Case back in November

When something happens to you that makes no sense, you replay that event over and over again.  You try to understand what happened.  You want to see if something differently could have happened.  It is a looped event, played over and over again, in your mind.  But no amount of thinking will change the results of what happened.  It’s too late.

Someone swiped my Muji makeup bag while I was in the locker room of my gym.

!!!

I think I would feel better if someone had swiped my wallet.  THAT makes sense.  Plus, everything in my wallet would be refundable.  An ATM card, a credit card, and one stinky I.D.  Sure, they could have stolen my identity.  But that’s why a fraud lock is useful…actually, thinking this over, perhaps, it was a small blessing that it wasn’t my wallet.  However, the sense of loss would have been substantially less had it been my wallet; although the inconvenience factor would have been huge.  You see, my Muji nylon makeup bag was packed with hundreds of dollars of skincare and makeup products that I AIN’T getting back.

While I have normally carried more than the average person to the gym, lately I have been carrying multiples.  A couple of blushes, a couple of concealers, Sephora  samples and VIB gifts (UNUSED!), sunscreens, facial washes, skin moisturizers, essential oils – You get the idea.  I had that sucker STUFFED.

So, let’s talk about the event.  Who does that?  Who swipes a medium-sized stuffed makeup bag full of mostly used makeup products?  I have never had something like this happen to me before at the gym.  I have been going to this gym for years.  I have walked away from my open bag numerous times. 

I try to pinpoint at what point it was taken but I can’t be sure.  Was it after I walked away from my bag to use the restroom and then came back, lost in thought, and not seeing my makeup bag outside, I pack my stuff away thinking I had already put it away?  Or did I just leave it out and someone just thought, ” Oh! Goodies!”

November 2012 Contents of Makeup Case

November 2012 Contents of Makeup Case

Since this happened yesterday, I am hoping there is a small chance someone left it at the front desk….  :/   Granted, they could have left it at the front desk yesterday, but they didn’t.  I checked. 

What was the damage?  I have been too afraid to do a real count of lost items but I already know of a few heavy hitters…With that, let’s say a goodbye to these following items, some well loved and blogged about, others still yet to be posted (OR PHOTOGRAPHED!!!), and others not even USED!

Dearly Departed List

Edward Bess All Over Seduction in Afterglow $38.00

Edward Bess Compact Rouge for Lips and Cheeks in After Sunset, $38.00

Jose Maran Argan Infinity Cream Intensive Creamy Oil, $28.00

Nude Skincare ProGenius Treatment Oil, Sephora VIB 100 Point Gift

Philosophy Gel Cleanser, Sephora VIB 100 Point Gift

Lancome Maquicomplet Complete Coverage Concealer in Medium Bisque and Color Corrector, $30.00 x 2 ($60.00)

Prescription Tazorac .05 % Gel (Retail Price!)

Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Cream Blush in Honey, $24.00

La Roche Posay Anthelios Anti Aging Primer SPF 50, $39.50

Lavera Natural Cosmetics Balancing Cream with Calendula, $23.50  (Praise be, I actually took it out of the bag at last second before I left home)

Maybelline FIT ME Concealer in 220, SRP

Murad Intensive C Radiance Peel, Sephora VIB Gift

Shu Umuera Cleansing Oil Deluxe Sample

Tarte BB Tinted 12 Hour Primer SPF 30, Sephora VIB 100 point Gift

Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm SPF 20, Sephora VIB 100 point Gift

Nvey Eco Erase Concealer in Medium, $29.50

Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Synchronized Complex, $52.00

Denman Travel Brush

Real Techniques Setting Brush, $7.99

Personalized Travel Mini Tube  of Decleor Essential Oil

Assortment of Sephora VIB samples and 100 Point Gifts I can’t individually remember

Other random toiletries

You know, some of these hurt to write about as I remembered which had been placed in my makeup case at the very last second before I zipped up and left home (Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Treatment) .  I recognized that I had more than I usually do in my bag, but I just didn’t want to feel limited…Oh well!

Learned my lesson.  I am travelling with bare minimum and will be careful with my stuff.  The funny thing is, I usually do a quick look around right before I leave to check to make sure I don’t leave anything behind in the locker room.  I have walked back into the locker room just to make sure I haven’t left anything behind.

For some reason, after I returned from the bathroom area, nothing in my sight kicked a recollection to put my makeup bag inside my bag.  So, I am guessing it was swiped before I came back to my bag – and being deep in thought, I completely forgot about it, since it was out of sight.

I mean, really, a USED MAKEUP BAG WITH USED PRODUCTS.  COME ON!!!

The worst part is that some of these won’t be repurchased for a while because I have so much other stuff that I can’t justify it until I make a dent in my stash.  I am sorry Edward Bess, you will have to wait.  Others were generous samples I never got to try.  😦  I guess I won’t know for a while if Nude Skincare’s reformulated ProGenius Treatment Oil was better than the original that I hated.  There goes my test of Urban Decay’s Naked Skin Beauty Balm. 

I still hold out hope that, perhaps, I actually left if outside in front of the mirror and someone stashed it until they could bring it downstairs to lost and found, but they weren’t done with their workout yet.   (Pretty Please!)  Nope.  I checked again, nothing.  Wow.

I can hope.

On a unrelated thought – I have been noticing a lot of Beauty Bloggers joining a spending ban that I saw posted on a UK beauty blog called We Were Raised By Wolves, I occasionally check out.  Well, this beauty spending ban has now hit a blog I regularly check, Bronzer Bunny, and I am feeling a little inspired, although EVEN MORE ANNOYED about my (possibly-pretty please let it be with front desk today) pilfered stash.   I don’t know if I will make it “official” because I had already decided to tone down my beauty purchasing, and have done so.  However, if I wanted to up the ante, I could go for 6 months.  (Baby steps, dangit!!!)

Either way, pilfered or no buy, I have enough of a backlog of products that I don’t need to buy anything except for a few replenishment items.  (Ok, actually that’s not true.  I have multiples of every type of skincare/makeup product I use. I would just have to move on to a different brand and wait to buy something I loved.)  Although, the focus of my blog would eventually shift heavily on skincare because my skincare collection dwarfs my makeup collection exponentially.  That’s not so horrible though because it would force me to write more informative posts.

10 comments

  1. This is so depressing! I’m so sorry 😦 I hope it turns up today!! I misplaced a brow pencil and concealer but I think those are in the car. I can’t imagine what I would do if this happened! And I was just thinking about what I would pack for a trip and how is feel if it all got lost. Oy! Good luck on doing a no buy if you entirely decide to do it – at the very least you’ll feel great about minimizing your stash and saving $$! 🙂

    • Idea of losing my stuff never occurred to me. I certainly didn’t think someone would swipe it…kind of unhygienic. It makes the idea of joining an official spending more annoying…on the otherhand…when I do go off a potential spending ban…I will have more incentive to replace with newer items. 🙂 can’t wait to hear more about your spending ban adventures!

  2. That sucks. People suck. Who does that anyway? Maybe you’ll get lucky and catch the person that did it, and get it back. Maybe you could put up some signs and it might just reappear? Anyway, boo!!

    • I know right!? I went to the gym hoping someone had returned it to the front desk, but nope. I couldn’t really workout. Skipped out after a 30 min lazy spin. I mean for someone to TAKE someone’s stuffed makeup bag full of mostly used products? I guess it was a Sephora bonanza for them. Whatever. They SUCK!

  3. This sucks!!! Who is so dumb to steal a bag?! Who is so dumb to steal anything, actually?! I hate these people.
    I really hope it’ll end in the best way..like..that someone feels guilty and returns the bag. I really hope so.
    In the meantime, I hope my hug can make you feel a little-little better, hon!!!!

  4. Whaaaat–really? Who the hell does that?!? Some people man…I don’t even know what to say. That’s really stupid and pretty gross of them (not saying you’re products were gross, just saying used makeup is used makeup and especially if you don’t know the person…why on earth would you want it??). I’m sorry to hear that–I know the items are replaceable but I would be super upset too–kind of a “lost faith in humanity” + “crap, how inconvenient at having to repurchase all of these items again” feeling. I’m not exactly rolling in it now either so if someone were to swipe that many of my makeup and skincare products, I probably wouldn’t have the money to just go out and replace everything immediately :/ Argghh–people are so dumb sometimes!! I’m really hoping this wasn’t a well thought out act–like maybe someone accidentally picked it up with their things and then by the time they were home and realized they had it, they were embarrassed and didn’t want to return it or just decided to keep it or whatever. I guess it doesn’t really matter because the end result is the same but still–to knowingly intend to take someone elses MAKEUP BAG is not cool!!

    • Yup. I’d feel better if it were my wallet. Used makeup is used makeup. Like really! There was so much in there that I am NOT going to run to immediately replace. Only thing I will be running to replace is the La Roche Posay Primer (LOVE). My oily skin loves it. Everything else is going to have to wait – AWHILE. Im not money bags either. Rather go to student loans.

  5. Ohhhh my goodness, it actually just hurt me to even read that this happened to you! What a weirdly random thing to steal…it just feels so weirdly personal. I mean, imagine someone stole your loofah.

    Maybe they picked it up by accident and can’t be bothered to bring it back? I’m trying to imagine if I saw a bag full of samples if I’d bring it back. I probably would, but only because I’m a product junkie and could relate to this sense of loss. I can imagine a less beauty-obsessed person being like, “Eh, it’s not a big deal” and tossing it…gah, this is upsetting to even think about.

    • That’s why it was so disturbing. I mean sure there were samples in there but there were also full sized used products. It’s basically a regular overstuffed makeup bag so who is the strange person who would think, “hmm, I’m going to take this”. It took me a while to get over it. My wallet or iphone would have made more sense. This? Not so much.


Leave a Reply

