Jouer Cosmetics Highlighter

Tiare

1. Jouer Cosmetics Highlighter in Tiare, $20.00

I noticed Jouer’s Highlighter in Tiare featured in a number of mags over the last couple months.  But the first place I really sort of zoned in on it was from The Beauty Samples blog post on it.  The swatches were beautiful.  I love highlighters so this sucker was going to end up in my hands eventually.  This is where the idea and visual appeal of a product can sometimes run counter to the actual user appeal of a product.

I love cosmetics.  I love the colors, textures, containers, and retail packaging.  I love the advertisements, the stories, the philosophies.  But sometimes that’s as far as it goes.  The actual usability of a product get’s lost in there, or becomes unimportant.  Except, I can’t justify collecting for collectings sake.  I have to actually love using the product.  It has to make sense with my skintype, skin tone, preferred makeup application methods…you get the idea.   As much as I LOVE the philosophy, packaging, colors, and branding of Jouer Cosmetics, I did not love this highlighter – not the shade, not the texture, and not how it fit into my makeup routine. 

This is a dense cream highlighter.  In comparison to Jouer’s Tint – which I love – this was harder to blend and the color pay off was far too streaky and diffuse for my taste.  I really had to jam in my finger to pick up any color.  I had to layer to get a strong color payoff.  Placing it on my naked cheeks and nose bridge, there was a barely there streaks of inconsistent gold.  I had to aggressively work in the product on my skin.  That’s a fail.  The only product I have that has to be aggressively worked in is my old discontinued Kevyn Aucoin Creamy Glow in Nuelle – EXCEPT I LOVE IT.  Why?  The blush is a dense, almost spackle-like texture that is pigment rich and requires extreme buffing into skin, but it imparts the most AMAZING ground into the cheek flush of color that will not fade or budge.  It looks amazingly natural.  (The new Creamy Glows just don’t compare even though they are far easier to use.)  You can imagine if it was that difficult to work on naked oily skin, using the product on skin covered in layers of serum, sunscreen, foundation or concealer, and blush was not going to be easy.  I am not a fan.  When it comes to cream highlighters, I love easy, creamy, blendable textures with real pigment payoff.  This was not it.

I decided to compare Jouer’s Highlighter to a similarly-toned highlighter – Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector in MoonstoneTiare has a stronger gold cast to it while Moonstone offered a pale, almost white-gold effect.  The key difference was application.  The Shimmering Skin Perfector is a sheer liquid that you can slap on with abandon on naked skin, mix in with cream blushes, moisturizers, foundations for that all over luminous effect.  It is EASY!  Jouer’s Highlighter has the same effect but it is NOT easy.  It requires far more labor, and far more product for the same effect.  Also, budget-wise, and total number of uses, Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector is a steal. 

Where Jouer’s Highlighter could have come on top would be portability.  Except Edward Bess’ All Over Seduction does what Jouer’s Highlighter should have done.  Offer smooth, blendable, visible shimmery pigment that can be used in small spaces in a super portable and convenient package. 

Here are the swatches.  This is the amazing thing about photos of swatches.  I look at these swatches and it’s like I am falling in love with this all over again and I am getting excited about adding it to my collection.  Then I remember – DOH!  Just because something looks great as a swatch does not mean it will look as amazing when it is actually used and incorporated into my makeup routine.

Tiare Text

Becca Tiare Collage

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor Seed) Oil, Isopropyl Myristate, Petrolatum, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Paraffin, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Stearoxymethicone Dimethicone Copolymer, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Ozokerite, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla Cera) Wax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Isostearyl Behenate, Polyethylene, Kaolin, Biotite, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, BHT, Propylparaben, May also contain:, Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492), Carmine (CI 75470) (CI 75470)

6 comments

  1. Oh no…I’m sorry you didn’t like it as much as I did. I feel like I’ve let you down somehow!! :/ I did not seem to struggle as much with the texture of this. I will say that it does take a couple of swipes in the pan to warm up but after the third pass of my finger, it has melted a bit and is easy (for me, at least) to pick up the amount of product I need and blend into my skin. I also think that because it’s not as slippery as the Tint, it stays on my skin a LOT better.

    Sorry again it didn’t work out for you!! Oh and I REALLY want Becca’s Moonstone!! 😛

    • OH MY no! No way did you let me down! don’t be silly! I have preferences – its a gorgeous swatched product. Looking at my swatches I was lemming for it all over again. But it wasn’t right for my preferences which I realized after using this product are pretty distinct. Only way to ever know is to try out. Everybody has their thing. This didn’t really fit with my “thing”.

  2. I just found your blog and I love it!! I love how you write, it straight to the point, amusing and funny.
    Oh and you’re on of the few of provides all of the ingredients in the products!
    I hear the moisture tint is good.
    You lucky thing, we can’t get that brand over here 😦
    x

    • Thanks for enjoying the blog Paris! I try to add ingredients when I can find them. Certain ingredients are nearly almost always a no for me so I scan for it. Yeah, Jouer seems like its a niche american brand, but since its expanded to nordstrom, it’s been expanding.

  3. Glad I found your blog because I was looking for a foolproof highlighter and it sounds like Jour’s is not one. Now tossing up between Lancome Eclat Miracle and Becca Shimmering Skin Perfecter in Moonstone.

    • Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector is sooooooo multi-purpose (even for body shimmer) and it provides so much quantity-wise, I wouldn’t even bother with the Lancome Eclat Miracle which gives a tiny amount by comparison – and I have tons of highlighters.


Leave a Reply

