Omorovicza Deep Cleansing Mask

Omorovisca Deep Cleansing Mask

1. Omorovicza Deep Cleansing Mask, 1.7 oz for $113.00

Nothing piques my curiosity for a skincare product than it being hard to get.  “Exotic” ingredients?  Far away cultural beauty secrets?  OMG – please give it to me.  Expensive?  ARRGGHHH!  I remember reading about the new at the time Omorovicza Budapest line in W magazine, a few years ago.  It was a short little blurb, but it was all I needed.  The price was a small obstacle as I had never paid that much for a mask, and never have since, but I did get my hands on this stuff.  This did not live up to my expectations.

Before we get to why, let’s get to the brand literature for this product.  This is a mud mask made of Hungarian Moor mud and French Clay which is rich in calcium and magnesium minerals.  This is a typical mud mask.  It is meant to draw out oil and impurities from the pores and detoxify the skin.  This is supposed to be gentle on the skin but with intensive purification properties that won’t strip or pull on the skin, offering a brighter, refreshed skintone.  This mask incorporates a “patented mineral delivery system [that is supposed to] leave skin firmer and younger looker” through enhanced absorption of complex minerals.   This is not a fragrance free mask.  It has a mild geranium scent to it – or so says the literature.  You can tell it is scented, but I certainly couldn’t tell with what.

The first time I used this, I was left with an uncomfortable dry, tight finish.  The mask dried quickly and any facial movements pulled the mask on my face, and it actually kind of hurt.  The mask is very finely milled, so it easily left crumbs with any facial movements.  I found that unlike some of my other masks that could be left on for hours without any real discomfort, this was not one of them.  I found this mask far more superficially drying on my skin than other masks.  Ultimately, I decided I could not use this mask for more than the maximum usage time, which is fair because the instructions say you should only really leave it on for 10-20 minutes, even though I almost always leave my masks on substantially longer.

Now, let’s get to my general skincare routine at the time of use.  At the time I used this mask, I was regularly using Differin, with sporadic use of Retin-A and TazoracDifferin is the most gentle retinoid on my skin.  Slight exfoliation, no drying.  My skin feels “normal” after Differin, not oily.   My acne was mostly manageable, with occasional flare ups.  The cleanser I was using for the most part was the MD Forte Glycolic Cleanser II or III, which contain 10% and 15% glycolic acid, respectively.  I was using Obagi’s Professional C 20% Serum, and Mychelle’s Pumpkin Renew Cream as a moisturizer.  I would occasionally use various facial mists, the blue/orange bottles of Shiseido sunscreen, and light foundation.  My skin wasn’t as bad, although my skin has always been very oily, acne-prone, with large pores in the t-zone.

As far as the feel of my skin after use of this mask, my skin felt drier and irritated.  I adjusted my skincare routine to make it gentler, alternating drugstore cleansers with 2% salicylic acid (Neutrogena or Aveeno) and substituting Decleor Rose D’Orient Serum as a moisturizer.  Omorovicza’s Deep Cleansing Mask was still superficially drying on my skin, yet my pores were still left kind of oily.  That was odd.  I could tell because my skin felt uncomfortably tight, while my t-zone pores showed teeny oily winks.  It had managed to suck up moisture from my skin, drying it out, but it didn’t do a darn thing by sucking up my oily pores.  As a matter of fact, I think the superficial rapid drying of my skin, resulted in increased oil production in my pores with ths mask on.

I never got to the bottom of the jar, or even half of it.  I intensely dislike not using up skincare products, but if something REALLY does not agree with my skin, I will give it away or throw it out.  This sat on my desk for a very long time, as I forgot about it.  I decided to go through a bunch of my skincare products and started chucking, or gathering, them to be given away.  This jar was given to my sister’s best friend.  From what my sister said, she “loved it.”

Different strokes for different folks.

While the Omorovicza line is now carried in Sephora, and it has expanded it’s product line, I am not too interested in trying out the other products.   If a product irritates my skin,  even after adjustment of my other skincare products to counter overzealous product use, then I am not going to venture further into the rest of the product line.  I tried a lot of times to make this work with my skin.  Most skincare brands have a “philosophy” that is represented in the ingredients and formulation.  I figured this skincare philosophy doesn’t really match my skin, or my skincare regimen.  And that’s ok.  Not every product is going to work for everybody.  I think this mask is very drying and probably does not coordinate very well with prescription retinoids and glycolic acid cleansers.

For those who are still interested in this line, this mask is made without parabens, sulfates, and synthetic fragrances.

Ingredients: Mineral Cosmetology: Patented combination of Budapest healing water and complex mineral compounds that enhance bio-availability of minerals to the epidermis and dermis for firmer, suppler skin. Hungarian Moor Mud, White Clay; Hungarian Thermal Water, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Olivate, Zinc Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbitan Olivate, Mannitol, Malpighia Punicifolia (Acerola) Fruit Extract, Tocopherol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance, Linalool, Yeast Extract, Limonene, Citronellol.

Leave a Reply

