Becca Shimmering Skin Perfectors SPF 25

Becca Shimmer Bottle

1. Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector SPF 25 in Opal and Moonstone, 1.7 oz for $41.00

Amazingly enough, I think I may have found a multi-purpose luminizer that is almost as amazing as Giorgio Armani’s Fluid SheersBecca Shimmering Skin Perfector SPF 25 is already a classic in the blogosphere, and it is preferred by many pro makeup artists.  I can see why.  This luminizer is described by Becca Cosmetics as a “luminous and water-light…sheer liquid…[that provides a] lustrous radiance with ultra-fine, light reflecting particles that subtly highlight[s] the face and diffuse[s] uneven skintone[s].”  It is infused with various antioxidants like avocado oil, vitamin A, B, D, and E, inflammation reducing witch hazel,  soothing aloe extract, and a broad spectrum sun protection factor. 

Becca Shimmer 1

This IS an incredibly lightweight, “water-light” shimmer that provides a subtle pearlescent glow to skin.  Like many other luminizers, it can be blended with moisturizers, blushes, and foundations, or applied as accents on high points of the face.  However, I would like to add one additional use.  I have been using it to alter the coloring of my foundations.  So far, only my Giorgio Armani’s Fluid Sheers were able to be used like this.  A few months ago, I purchased Rouge Bunny Rouge Milk Aquarelle Liquid Foundation in Cashew Parfait.  It was too dark and I could not return it.  It sat unused until I decided to make it work.  Well, I added Becca’s Shimmer Skin Perfector in Moonstone to tone down the true medium, tawny olive tone.  It worked.  The watery texture of the Shimmer Skin Perfector in Moonstone worked incredibly well with the gel texture of Rouge Bunny Rouge’s Milk Aquarelle Liquid Foundation.  You can tell by the swatches that it offers a very sheer, almost translucent hint of color to the skin.  Giorgio Armani’s Fluid Sheers are far more pigmented but I use those to darken too light foundations,  while it looks like I can use Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfectors SPF 25 to bring DOWN the depth of darker shades I have.

Becca Shimmer 2

Unlike Rouge Bunny Rouge Sea of Illumination highlighter – which you have to be very careful with and use sparingly –  you can be less precise with the amount you use from Becca Shimmering Skin Perfectors SPF 25.  It is  goof proof because of the sheer wash of (most)skintone friendly, pearlescent color it provides.  I have Moonstone and Opal, which are both great on fair to light-medium skintones.  Moonstone is a pale shimmering gold and Opal is a warmer, tawny color that Sephora’s website describes as a golden opal pearl.  Moonstone, I think, can be used year round for a subtle glow, while Opal adds a translucent shimmering sheen of warmth to the skin that would look great in the summer, or it could warm up pallid skintones year-round. Frankly, for those who don’t need a billion and one shimmers on their vanity, but do want a multi-purpose luminizer that is goof proof, offers a not exactly bank busting value (at 1.7 oz for $41.00) in a sturdy, non-breakable package, then THIS IS IT.  I suggest both Moonstone and Opal for the lighter skintones and Topaz for darker tones that do not want to appear ashy.

Here are the swatches fully blended:

Becca Shimmer Blend Collage

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Homosalate, Glyceryl Stearate, Octyldodecanol, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane (Avobenzone), Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Trilaureth-4 Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Hamamelis Virginiana Witch (Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Ceteareth-12, Ceteareth-20, Phenoxyethanol, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil/Huile minerale, Glucose, Fructose, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Alcohol Denat, Dextrin, Sucrose, Urea, Propylparaben, BHT, Hexyl Nicotinate, Glutamic Acide, Aspartic Acid, Alanine, Aloe Barbadensis Extract (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract), Butylparaben, Parfum (Fragrance). May contain/peut contenir [+/-]: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Tin Oxide, Mica.H1278

5 comments

  1. Dude what IS IT today? Everywhere I look, I am seeing gorgeous Becca products!!! And you have both shades that I have been REALLY wanting!! *drool* 😛

    You have very oily skin, right? And you find that mixing a foundation with luminizer is okay for you? Because I’ve heard about this trick a million times and have always been curious but I thought that NO WAY would it work for me, being so shiny myself as is

    • hahaha – convergence of the universe. I have been mixing luminizers with foundations for years be damned my oily skin. The key is using a foundation that gives a satin, or matte, finish. I, also, usually set with finishing spray. Wait a bit and pat my skin wth tissue to remove excess moisture. People have complemented me on glowing skin, not oily skin. I blot skin throughout the day. Doesn’t mean I don’t occasionally go all strobelight accidently some days, but honestly I get complemented on my skin (my unblemished forehead which has a lot of real estate up there), despite my cheek, or jawline, acne. The key is mixing the right foundation with it.

    • Honestly, definitely pick it up. You can mix it with just about anything and give your skin this luminous glow. At 1.7 oz it’s provides more product than the average luminizer. Face, neck, decolletage, collarbone, shoulders, legs, arms. Honestly, great product.

  2. Pingback: Jouer Cosmetics Highlighter « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

