Glycolic Acid + Salicylic Acid Facial Cleansers

DDF

I love glycolic cleansers.   They are amazing on oily skin.  I tried SO many glycolic acid cleansers trying to find the best one.  MD Forte Cleanser II and III are still my absolute favorite glycolic acid cleansers (reviewed here) because they leave my skin perfectly degreased, smooth and matte, but not tight.  However, I still prefer my cleansers to have salicylic acid, a pore-penetrating and purifying ingredient.  I have super oily, acne-prone pores and salicylic acid is a necessity.  Finding a glycolic acid AND salicylic acid cleanser that is not excessively drying is VERY difficult.   The three below are my favorites at various price points.

DDF Brightening Cleanser, 8.5 oz for $38.00

DDF Brightening Cleanser is one of my staples and I have purchased it three times.  You can feel it purifying your face whenever you use it.  It has glycolic acid, salicylic acid, malic acid, glycyrrhiza glabra root extract (brightening ingredient) and a vitamin c derivative (another brightening ingredient).  It exfoliates old skin cells, clears out pores,  evens out uneven skintone, whether it’s hyperpigmentation from a blemish, or the incidental uneven tan.  This gives a refreshing clean feeling to the skin, but it can also be a bit drying.  I know if I use this I have to scale back everything else I do.  You can feel the cleansing power in it.  Because of this, I do not use it every day.  I save this for extra oily days and the summer.  I do not like to regularly use this in the winter, although I do use it occasionally in the winter when I want to get an extra deep clean. 

It also doubles as a targeted body cleanser for problematic parts of the body that may experience excess overpigmentation like knees, elbows, or if you suffer from buttne or bacne (oh, how sophisticated of me, but did I really want to use the word buttocks?).  If you do use this on knees, elbows, arms, or legs to lighten scarring, or brown spots, just make sure to double up on the moisture after.  This is really drying and skin that is NOT oily, and those body parts are already extra dry to begin with.

As far as recommendations go, I only suggest those with non-sensitive oily skin to use this product.  This is a great product for those with older, rougher skintypes that have suffered sun damage and need the brightening and exfoliative action of this cleanser, or anyone with oily, acne-prone skin.

Ingredients: Water, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Glycolic Acid, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Potassium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Salicylic Acid, Panthenol, Prunus Persica (Peach) Leaf Extract, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Morus Alba Bark Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Arctostaphylos Uva Ursi Leaf Extract, Sodium Benzoate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Xanthan Gum, Butylene Glycol, Disodium Edta, Methylisothiazolinone, Fragrance.

Topix “Glycolix” Gly-Sal 10-2 Cleanser, 6.7 oz for $19.50

I discovered Topix “Glycolix” Gly-Sal 10-2 Cleanser because I wanted a cheaper alternative to DDF’s Brightening Cleanser.  Hello?!  Have you seen how expensive that bottle is?  That’s $38.00!  This is nearly half the price!  But I also wanted something with more salicylic acid.  Unlike the DDF Brightening Cleanser, which does not tell you how much glycolic acid, or salicylic acid, it has the Topix “Glycolix” Gly-Sal 10-2 Cleanser makes it very obvious: 10% glycolic acid and 2% salicylic acid.  However, I find it a teeny bit more drying than the DDF Brightening Cleanser.  This is a must during the summer, but I can also use it year round as long as I am not aggressive with other products in my regimen.  It lacks brightening ingredients to handle post acne marks but the pore declogging aspect is worth it.   The antioxidant green tea and Zinc PCA increase the skin conditioning.  I have purchased this product many times.  I have purchased the 5-2 version once, but I decided there was no reason to go down in actives when for some reason the 5-2 version didn’t feel that much less drying as the 10-2 version.  

I can only really recommend this for oily, acne-prone skintypes that aren’t sensitive.  Your skin should be fairly non-reactive to glycolic acids.  

Ingredients: Salicylic Acid 2%, Camellia Sinensis Leaf (Green Tea) Extract, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance, Glycolic Acid, Linolemidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Polysorbate-20, Purified Water, Red #40 (CI-16035), Sodium C12-15 Pareth-15 Sulfonate, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Triethanolamine, Yellow #5 (CI-19140), Zinc PCA

B.Kamins Acne Wash, 8.0 oz for $34.00

I purchased this in the summer of 2012.  If you read some of my posts over the summer, then you know that I was experiencing really bad acne breakouts that just did not want to stop.  I was throwing everything at it.  Blitzing my skin meant that my usual oily skin cleansers became too drying and painful.  But I could not just switch on to a moisturizing product because my pores were still too greasy even if my skin was superficially dry and irritated.  I selected this cleanser specifically because B.Kamins focuses on sensitive oily, acne-prone skin.  My skin was both at this point. 

This is a gentle skin cleanser that contains buffered glycolic acid, lactic acid and 2% salicylic acid, along with skin conditioners, allantoin and panthenol, with B.Kamins proprietary moisturizing B Maple Complex to soothe sensitive skin and prevent it from overdrying.  This stuff is amazing.  I was able to integrate this into my skincare routine and not experience any drying or irritation.  I was amazed at how my skin felt AFTER I used this cleanser.  It felt purified but gently moisturized.  This product left my skin feeling silky-smooth and pampered.  It kind of felt like matte “BUTTA.”  Yes, I felt up my face for a while.  The only other product that left my skin feeling like that was the Astara Blue Flame Purifying Treatment, which was weird.   It may have been the Maple Complex within the cleanser that provided that soft, matte “butta” feeling to my skin, in combination with the allantoin and the panthenol. 

This stuff is amazing for normally greasy skin, that has been irritated and dried out by retinoids.  Because it is so expensive, I showed restraint during the summer and I still have over half the bottle left.  This is a great colder weather face wash for normal to oily skintypes that are acne-prone but still have sensitive skin.  I can use this year round, but I prefer to save it for extra sensitive skin days that require pore purification and gentle, minimal mattifying moisture. 

Ingredients: 2% salicylic acid, Aqua/Water/Eau, Lauryl Glucoside, PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Acer Saccharum (Maple Isolate / Isolat D’érable), Glycerin, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Glycolic Acid, Lactic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Panthenol, Allantoin, Mentha Piperita.

DRUGSTORE BUDGET BUY

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Anti-Blemish Cleanser, 5.1 oz SRP

If these glycolic acid + salicylic acid cleansers are out of your budget, or seem like they may be too aggressive for your skin, then I suggest picking up the drugstore budget buy: Neutrogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Anti Blemish Cleanser.  I used this cleanser for several years before I moved on to MD Forte, DDF, and my Glycolix cleansers for more aggressive exfoliation and purification.

Neutrogena Healthy Skin

Neutrogena’s acne care line is one of the best drugstore lines for mild acne that requires a little bit more oomph, than gentler lines like Aveeno’s, or Yes to Inc.’s acne lines.   I consider Neutrogena’s acne line to be a consistent middle of the road drugstore brand in the way it handles acne.  With Aveeno best for more sensitive skin types and Stridex and Oxy being more aggressively drying.  However, for the most post, the overwhelming majority of acne care products in drugstores are fungible, with the difference coming down to packaging and marketing.

Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (0.5%), Water, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Glycol Distearate, Glycolic Acid, Sodium Lactate, Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Polyquaternium 11, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance

52 comments

  1. Pingback: Drugstore Cleanser-palooza for Oily Acne-Prone Skin « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. THANK YOU for this post! I am in LOVE with glycolic acid cleansers as well. I’ve tried a pumpkin mask with (a wee bit % unmentioned) glycolic acid in it and I love how my skin feels so soft, smooth and supple after just 10mins. I’ll be trying MD Forte soon.

    Question – is this safe to use daily? Specifically MD Forte II? I’m afraid of overexfoliation which really caused me to break out and suffer dehydrated oily skin 😦

    Thanks!

    • Nah, you can use glycolic acid cleansers daily. The real concern is finding the right glycolic concentration to meet your daily needs. I would imagine the warmer and higher the humidity the oilier the skin, if your skin is predisposed to be oily. My skin is SO MUCH earlier in the summer, than in the winter. Yet, I have been able to use II daily throughout all seasons. I wouldn’t recommend getting level 1 just because I feel you can find something that low at cheaper price points, but above that they start to be irritating or super drying and this is where MD Forte excels because I find they are not at higher levels.

      I do strongly suggest you use a REALLY STRONG SPF or walk with a hat though since glycolic acids slough off skin cells allowing sun to penetrate faster.

  3. Hey, great post. Glycolic acid is neutralized by water and becomes ineffective, that’s just the nature of this particular AHA. I was planning on massaging it onto dry skin first and leaving it on for a few mins so let the active ingredient work then washing it off. Any thoughts on this or the best way to use these cleansers to get the best results?

    Also, Ive seen a nuetrogena cleanser with an active ingredient of salicylic and an inactive ingredient of glycolic. any idea what this means? does the inactive glycolic work anyway?

    Thanks!
    Joseph

    • Hi Joseph, you are correct. When my skin was more resistant (less sensitive), I would use a level III glycolic cleanser from MD Forte and rub it on my face and leave it there for up to 5-10 minutes or longer before I washed it off with water. I don’t like doing that anymore because I use strong retinoids now. Any of the glycolic acid cleansers mentioned in this post are quite effective. Although, the weakest is the Neutrogena budget buy mentioned in the post.

  4. Thank you for your reply. I keep reading how ineffective glycolic and salicylic cleansers are due to the fact they aren’t left on the skin long enough, However, I’d still like to try them. Very conflicting advice on the internet!
    I also prefer to moisturize right after cleansing, but have heard the salicylic or glycolic product needs to be the first on your skin to work. Any thoughts on the effectiveness of these products when they are applied AFTER moisturizer instead of before?

    • Um, definitely BEFORE. Derms usually recommend application of moisturizers before very strong treatment products, like Retin-A. This is to weaken the effect on the skin, if it is too strong. Also, most OTC products purchased in drugstores are too weak to have an immediate effect on skin, without months and months of consistent daily usage. Unless you are very dry, I don’t think moisturizing before application of salicylic acid or glycolic acid is very helpful as all it will do is weaken the effect of the product. Plus, like you mentioned these ingredients are most effective with skin and skin contact. Most moisturizers act as a barrier and just sit on top of skin. If you need moisture on your skin, you may want to think about using a lactic acid based product that adds moisture to skin. it’s usually recommended for the dry and sensitive skinned. However, if you still want to use glycolics and salicylic acids effectively (if you are oily, acne-prone), then how about a misting spray with hyaluranic acid to prep the skin before a salicylic and glycolic acid product? Your treatment steps are going to vary based on your specific type of skin, comfort level, product and time of year…so, there is no real right answer. You are going to have to test it out with trial and error. Good luck!

  5. Thanks for your detailed response! Yes, I expect trial and error will occur. I have very oily skin but I know I need to moisturize after I cleanse as my skin just *looks* like it needs it. Adding moisturizer after applying these acids to a cleansed face doesn’t weaken their efficacy does it?
    Thanks again for your time!

    • Nope, applying it after the acids, won’t weaken the efficacy. I do apply moisturizer when I need it after. Also, believe it or not you may want to investigate certain types of essential oil used sparingly as a moisturizer…it actually helps reduce oiliness. Certain types only, like ylang ylang based oils. just a thought. Good luck!

      • Hi I was about to start on some tretinoin and i was wondering the steps for that like i know i need a sunscreen but what else do i need?

      • Hi Amber –

        Are you using Accutane, Retin-A, or some other brand retinoid version? Sunscreen is absolutely required but as to everything else, it will depend on what you use and how your skin reacts. Accutane literally stopped the excessive oily production I had and all acne, so all I needed was normal cleansers and very light moisturizers. With Differin, I focused more on mild mattifers and glycolic/salicylic acid washes. With Retin-A, I needed to get a gentle exfoliator to reduce all the skin flakes was I getting from the rapid shedding and a very thicker moisturizers. With Tazorac, I need to use very gentle exfoliators, face washes, but thick essential oil based serums to slather my face in. This is to say, it will all depend on your skin – but the number 1 thing is getting the HIGHEST SPF and UVA blocking sunscreen you can find. I suggest a mineral based one because the chemical sunscreens may burn your skin with use of tretinoin.

      • No accutane. I think its calle steiva A? Shoul i have percausions about it? Im trying it for pretty bad acne.

      • Any tretinoin product is going to have to come with safety warnings. Tretinoin cannot be used if pregnant or planning on getting pregnant as it causes deformity. That’s the big one. Some other concerns as well but you should read warning label for that. I didn’t experience any issues – not even excessive drying. Other than that – SUNSCREEN (and if you experience any drying or rapid skin exfoliation – a soothing skin emollient that won’t clog your pores).

      • Ok and with just other products or even that the tretinoin do you put like moisturizer and sunscreen first and then product or product and then moisturizer? Or moisture product and sunscreen? I was never taught im sure u can tell and i have bad acne now and im 27.

      • ok. So tretinoin should only be used at night. During the day you may experience dry skin and flaking. I would suggest a gentle exfoliating cleanser, maybe anything by Aveeno with exfoliants in it, or the Australian equivalent. I would get a japenese softening lotion meant for dry skin to exfoliate any further loose skin cells, while also gently hydrating the skin (I like Shiseido – white lucent version, but I am sure Australia has tons of cheaper options being closer to asia, like hado labo). Then I would follow with a gentle skin moisturizer (I personally think an essential oil serum would be best but some people are anti-oil so a regular cream moisturizer is good too (I really loved NUXE nirvanesque during this time period, but Hado Labo makes some super nice hydrating, non-clogging products, as well – and then I suggest a MINERAL sunscreen. A chemical sunscreen will likely be too irritating on your skin after the tretinoin. I am assuming you are in Australia because of the brand Stieva-A. If you are not apologies.

      • HAHA! Woops! My bad! That’s what I get for whipping out a response without checking IP’s. I suggest Duane Reade for the Aveeno, Drugstore.com for Hado Labo, and Skinstore.com for the essential oil product like Decleor’s Rose D’Orient which helps with the excessive peeling from tretinoin that can occur. Excessive peeling will be your biggest annoyance – on the otherhand, you will also be scrubbing the years off your face…wrinkling isn’t a concern on tretinoin.

      • I really appriciate your time and help Im lad i found this site or blog area I have been researching things for oily/sensative/acne prone skin for a loong time now. I ran into nurse and she pulled me aside saying she used to have bad acne and that nothing would help her until one day a doctor tol her to start taking burdock root pills because it cleanses out the blood. So I barely started taking that.

      • hmmmmm…depends on what the source of acne is…some natural remedies may help…like changing diets…but hormonal acne is tricky…especially the severe kind. Natural remedies at most can clear the mild acne forms like vulgaris, but not the severe kind – like cysts. But I believe in throwing everything at mangaging acne so I hope it works out for you.

      • I hve cystic and just pimples acne everywhere on my face. I recently started getting a type of nodulistic acne as well around my hairline. She told me she had bad acne and nothing would help her. She also said shed get boils. So hopefully this does help some? And like this acne will pretend to clear up then boom get worse. Im using panoxyl all it does is basically dry my face out.

      • The only thing that ever worked on my cystic acne was Accutane and Tazorac. The Retin-A just peeled my skin into tiny flakes while the Tazorac lifted it in sheets. The Accutane stopped working eventually but the Tazorac still works. However, cystic acne is the worst…throw everything you can at it…

      • Accutane “cured” it for a while. I was amazingly clear and normal toned (no oil) for a few years. Then the acne came back but in such a reduced state that it did not bother me at all. I went on a differin, salicylic acid cleanser regimen which pretty much kept me clear for some more years. Then my acne came back from stress and extreme bottled anger while at work. I went on Accutane again, but it didn’t have the same effect.

        Eventually, I started realizing that exercise helped me manage my stress and anger so I started working out more often and it helped me stay clear, along with differin, glycolic acid cleansers (MD Forte) and DDF’s photoage matte sunscreen (which was discontinued).

        Then I started grad school and I went on BP pills for a year and my skin has not recovered since, as now my acne is primarily hormonal. I believe the BP pills I went on destabilized my hormones (for the record, I kept breaking out with the BP pills but in a different pattern) and when I went off, my acne breakout pattern changed again and became REALLY BAD for about a year. It settled down but my acne breakout pattern changed again and now it is erratic and purely hormonal based. I use acne medication to quickly remove the evidence of my hormonal flare ups, while preventing non-hormonal causes. For some folks, acne is never really “cured” just managed.

      • I first got acne at 17 then it went away i used something called natures cure? Then my daughter passed away when i 22-23 and it cane back it was rlly baadd. Also i was working at walmart and think i was sensative around the dirts n the back. I got some ipls done and it cleared up. Also was pregnant w my 2nd baby so im not sure if she cleared it up lol.. But it was good for a while until last yr i had my son and after that they gave me a hormonal shot called the depo before a procedure and that just brought it alll back and soo bad nothing is working on it at all.

      • It’s the hormones…some people’s skin do not react to hormonal changes, others are super sensitive to it. I know that pregnancy can relieve acne or bring it on for some people. In your case, I guess it makes it worse. What a lot of doctors don’t mention with hormonal birth control options is that it can cause acne in some, while managing it for others. I know my year on seasonale, destabilized my normal hormone levels and that I experienced very severe acne of a kind that I had never experienced before and nothing worked on it. My hormone levels have stabilized now but not to what it was before. Now I get random spikes of cystic acne that makes no sense since it’s not on parts of my face that I ever used to break out of before. Since then I have refused to go on birth control pills and refuse to use any chemical-hormone managed birth control option because I know my skin reacts poorly to it. I am guessing the depo shot is the problem. You may want to look into other BP methods that won’t jack up your skin. My guess is that you may only be able to manage the outbreaks, but not the prevention until you figure out a better hormonal BP option. Most topical solutions will be useless in preventing hormonal induced acne…they will only be able to speed the removal of them.

      • Well see i got a procedure done in october that prevents pregnancy. Its called the adianna? They wanted me on the depo shot because you know you can get pregnant before a procedure like that tho i wouldnt of i just had my son. Either way they game me te depo in august then in october so it was like a super dose i didnt even want the second shot. I read it can take a yr for the depo to clean out of your system the last time i had it was october though. Acne is sooo annoying and stressful..

      • Yeah, it’s going to be a while. In the meantime, I think you can take some natural herbs and other ingredients known to have some effect on hormone levels in women…I believe they are called phytoestrogens…but I can’t say for sure. I read so much stuff and I don’t commit much to memory.

  6. Also what do you wear on your face during the day? To control acne and oilyness. During and after whatever you use at night? So moisturizer is the first item placed on your skin or whatver else you are using?

    • My skin fluctuates seasonally so it always changes. Honestly, if I were to write it out it would be like an insanely long list, which changes on the type of breakout, the type of retinoid I am use, and the season. Eventually you figure out what works for your individual skin needs. I will post a summer regimen for my skin right now soon as in the summer my skin gets so much worse.

  7. hi, I had acne when I was younger and I still suffer from oily, acne prone skin. I have tried so many products and none of them seem to work.
    I used proactive for about 2 years and they worked pretty good but I stopped because they dried out my skin. A few months ago I tried the glycolic acid cleanser peter thomas roth, and didn’t work for me. Then I tried thd ddf brightening and I liked it, but when I ran out of that cleanser, I tried the brad vichy, it worked well at the beginning but not anymore, now I tried the apricot st ivens, and I still have black heads. I am desperate and looking online, I saw this glycol that I find it interesting because it is a combination of glycolic and salicilic acid, I would like to try it, but I dont know which one would be good. the 5-2 or the 10-2. I am 44, so I want to address the wrinkles too. I used glycolic acid in the past and liked it. What do you recommend??
    thanks

    • Hi Blue – Sheesh and here I was hoping I would be clear skinned and dry by my 40’s – wishful thinking. Since I hit my 30’s I have to constantly switch up my routine. I find that glycolic acid and salicylic acid are aabsolutely necessary in my facial cleansers to address my super oily pores and to soften my skin. Honestly, I would go for the 10-2. You are not a newbie so you can tolerate the higher strength. But I also encourage you to try MD Fortes 20% cleanser which is actually less drying than the 10-2 by topix glycolix. I don’t rely on it exclusively because I do need the salicylic acid.

    • Hi blue i just wanted to say inhave had reallly bad custic acne nodulistic acne and glycolic acid 10 sycilc acid 2 by ddf has cleared my face up so much better then what it was. I have also been taking some burdock root pilld that clean out your blood its all natural take it for about a yr i have been on it a few months. I also have been trying out some moisterizer by glycolix elite te ultra light moisterizer i mix a little w the ddf but because i use tretinoin at night so i mixx te ddf n moisterizer together then wait a bit then use the tretinoin as a spot treatment. But tht ddf reall got rid of that bad acne. For sunblock inuse devita solar protective spf 30. I hope this can help!

      • Hey blue sorry about all the misstypes im in my phone and i just got done clearing my face of rlly bad hurting my face acne w the ddf 10-2. I also wanted to mention if you dry out easily or have rlly sensative skin instarted trying out neutrogena ultra sensative face wash although i wanted to try the extra gentle one my guy couldnt find it but i have some on its way. So far its ok on acne prone skin maybe a little tiny bit drying thats why i ordered the extra gentle one. Ive seen better reviews on it.

    • I haven’t officially reviewed this product on the blog I don’t think but I have already purchased a 2nd tube but I suggest you try out Epionce Lytic Plus Tx, which has 3 percent salicylic acid and avocado oils to prevent over drying. It is very smoothing and it does keep me clear most times. Since I have susceptible to ALL types of acne, I need to use different types of products, but I rotate them.

  8. Hi
    Last year you recommended me glycolix. I was using glycol cleanser 10-2 for almost a year. It helped clear my blackheads but dried out a little bit. then I ordered the glycolix elite moisturizer cleanser 2 weeks ago. I have noticed that my skin is still dry and I see fine lines and wrinkles. I want to find something that helps both with acne and anti aging. I am 45 years old. I have oily skin. I have been researching and found md forte is good for anti aging. Do you think I can start with cleanser III? I am not sure if it is discontinued or I can find it somewhere. I know you tried before, did it help with wrinkles? I though I could start with III because I have been using glycolic acid for so long. What do you think?
    Thanks for your advices

    • Hi! I LOVE MD Forte cleansers. I think I must have purchased over a dozen bottles in my lifetime. I usually bought level II or III because i can tolerate high glycolic acid levels and my skin is both oily and acne-prone. I had to step away from the Level III though because I was using too many other products with actives. Level III is great if you are sticking to milder products for the rest of your skincare regime, or if you are on the super oily, super resistant skin side. I do find that the MD Forte cleansers, even at the highest concentration are gentler than the other glycolic acid washes I have used like Glycolix and Phisoderm. However, if you are experiencing dryness maybe start off with Level II. You can’t go wrong with Level II.

      Here’s a question. Have you tried Decleor’s ylang ylang oil for blackheads? it soaks up oil and clears blackheads in conjunction with glycolic acid. During the summer, I do this on my super oily t-zone and concentrate on my noise. I use regular moisturizer on the rest of my face (whatever brand dujour – still looking for a basic moisturizer i can stick with and not brand hop).

      • Thanks for your response. I was researching online and the MD Forte is discontinued. I don’t have acne anymore. But I think i have to keep using anti acne products because if I use regular products, I will get blackheads. So, I need something not too strong to help with my oily skin and something really good for my fine lines and wrinkles.
        I tried before the cleanser with just glycolic acid Peter Thomas Roth, and few days later, I had blackheads. Then I decided to change to a cleanser with both glycolic and salicylic acid.
        Do you think MD forte helps with wrinkles?
        Where can I get it?

      • OMG!!! I had no idea. I buy in bulk and had not too long ago finished my last MD Forte cleanser. But was going through my other stash of cleansers to finish them before going back to my tried and true and retiring with it. SMH. Well this is problematic…Ironically enough I have been using Allergan’s Vivite line but only their Radiance Therapy product which is actually very good. But this is a skin lotion not a cleanser…. ;/ Crud.

        I have used DDF’s glycolic acid wash and Peter Thomas Roth’s glycolic acid wash but I felt both were kind of too mild and overpriced. DDF Brigntening Cleanser was kind of too harsh though to use every day (and it’s more than I want to pay for a face cleanser) and I am really trying to size down number of products I use on a daily basis.

        Hate to say this but I have now been sent to the drawing board to find a replacement glycolic cleanser that offers both value and a high concentration of glycolic acid that is not irritating on my skin and can be used daily.

        I am going to continue using my drugstore Phisoderm standby and using up my Topix glycolix cleanser (Both have glycolic acid and salicylic acid) ;/

        Any product with glycolic acid will help with smoothing skin. It’s the concentration and formulation that counts. PTR concentration is too weak (and overpriced). You haven’t tried Phisoderm yet?

        If I find something new that is comparable to the MD Forte I will post about it. I dislike the fact that Allergan discontinued the MDForte line because I did try their Vivite cleanser and i thought it was overpriced and too scratchy to be used every day.

  9. I use ddf brightening cleanser and it turned into a must I have really oily acne prone skin also. Sometimes I won’t use it a few days as it will burn me at times but other times it’s really great. I also have very sensative skin. Tretinoin was the ONLY thing that ever cleared my cystic acne and any acne even before it was done developing. Along w ddf glycolic silyic acid as an undercoat. I barely quit using tretinoin tho because unfortunately is is very toxic for you and can mess up your optic nerves since it has a lot of vitamin a. And your body does absorb that!

  10. well, after been researching a lot, I decided to stop using glycolic or salicylic acid for my skin. Now I am trying crave cleanser and moisturizers. I will let you know how I feel. I hope they work for my condition

    • Oooooooooh. I actually use the Cerave cleanser for Normal to Oily Skin. I like it a lot. I’ve been alternating it with my almost finished topix/glycolix cleanser and the new M2 Mandelic cleanser I’ve started using. I’ve already ordered a 2nd bottle of the Cerave cleanser since its just about done. I like both a lot, but I will likely only continue to use thee Cerave and alternate with the Phisoderm/topix cleanser for savings. Hope it works out for you.

      • I have been using the cerave cleanser for normal to oily skin and the moisturizer AM and PM (for normal to dry skin, it is the only one they have), for about 2 weeks and it is really good. it is not causing any blackheads or pimples. once a week I use the glycolix cleanser 10-2. I still want to eliminate the fine lines around my eyes, so I started using the vissionaire serum of lancome, IU hope it works


Leave a Reply

