6 Month Anniversary + Blogging Challenges

I started my blog on a whim 6 months ago from today on July 4, 2012.  It was not planned.  Blogging had been in the back of my mind for over a year, but I don’t believe I would have done it had it not been for the right push.  Hate to say but true.   That July, I was incredibly frustrated about something else all together.  Blogging was not on the agenda, or at the top of my list of concerns.  Just another wishful thought I am not sure I would have ever have acted on had I not been so immensely frustrated about an unrelated event.  In a fit of anger, I decided to say “fuck it” to EVERYTHING.  It is usually in those moments of RELEASE that I do the things I had wanted to do but for whatever reason had held myself back.  I immediately went on WordPress and played with titles for over an hour before deciding on one, and immediately went to gmail to create an email address.  My first post was born and it was with good reason that it was a book post.  I wanted to seize on that moment and make sure I posted something – anything – before the wave of anger had passed and complacency took over. 

It’s been exactly 6 months now and I am pretty amazed.  I was not sure I was going to last this long blogging.  I certainly have been post prolific, that’s for sure.  I have reached some nice little milestones for a non-publicized anonymous blog (only a handful know who I am offline) that does not rely on images of myself (a hard sell within the beauty blogging community since it is nice to know who is behind a post).  Also, hate to admit it but I am a stats girl and over 37,000 hits by end of today is pretty exciting.  However, I want to move away from that because I am a little OCD, and it’s not healthy.  It’s also not sustainable without going nuts on the post front.  I mean, I am a product whore, but the goal is to streamline my stash, not find an excuse to go beserk.   I want more quality posts, not quantity.

But there is A LOT of room for improvement.  There are a lot of things I would like to change.  For the past few weeks, I have been playing with the format, colors, font, and previewing different themes.  I have been playing with various posts that have not seen the light of day because of their somewhat “controversial” content.  (It’s a beauty blog folks – there is no real politicizing – but it doesn’t mean you can’t get “controversial’ about certain aspects of the beauty blogging community.)  I have debated the timing of giveaways and the rules for such giveaways.  I have thought about tone and organization.  I have grown increasingly frustrated with the quality of my pictures – largely dependent on bright natural light, which I get less of in the winter.  This is more  an equipment related issue as I use a digital camera, which is not the best for capturing the brilliant sharpness that I enjoy from other people’s blogs; however, learning how to use photo editing programs better other than adding text would be helpful!

The positive side is that my frustration hasn’t decreased my interest in blogging, but only increased it. I want to make it a better blog, but one that still retains my voice, my imprint.  I am pretty amazed at how attached I have grown to my  homely, rough around the edges (who am I kidding – everywhere) little blog that I am constantly thinking of ways to improve it.  This is the first real creative outlet I have had in a very long time where I have free reign to produce something that is not mandatory, required, or based on a grade.  I like it.

Considering it has only been 6 months and I am not the most tech saavy, I know it will take some time for me to grow more comfortable with various technical aspects.  I am already itching to get a DSLR camera, as well as a photo editing program but that will have to wait.  What will be harder is “branding” a unique cohesive voice for this blog that is reflected in its visual style, organization, and point of view.  Certain aspects of my blog are different compared to most beauty blogs, even if it’s a bit poorly executed.  I want to continue to develop my voice and writing style (and, um, proofread – ALOT), as well as focusing on those elements that differentiate my blog from others.  I have a heavy skincare focus due to the problems I have with my skin, but I am also very into career development – not from a “been there, done that” perspective, but from a “I am in the trenches, trying to make it happen” perspective.  I am not sure where this will lead me, but I am pretty certain this blog will be around for a one year anniversary, although the post count will likely go down.  Knock on wood.

Thanks to my regular readers and my frequent google image search viewers, as well.  For regular readers, if you have feedback, please let me know.  I have been thinking I need to tighten up the content on my posts.  It literally reflects whatever mood I am in – which can result in rambling, and I think I need a more consistent style that focuses on brevity.  Less rambling good, no?

Again, thanks so much!!!

🙂

4 comments

  1. Hello! I’m stopping by to reply a comment you left on my blog because you’re most likely to see it here.

    It’s funny, I tried using my mom’s digital camera for blog pictures before settling on using my iPhone 4 (which has impressive close-ups actually). Digital cameras that are a few years old (my mom’s is) are not very good at focusing and their macro settings are less than decent. I think newer digital cameras might be good at close-ups now but to be on the safe side I’m saving up to invest on a DSLR. A DSLR is a great investment for a blog and it’s something that you’ll get a lot of use out of for personal reasons as well.

    I really love the way you write and I hope you’re able to keep improving your blog until you’re happy with it 🙂 xx


Leave a Reply

