Hada Labo Shirojyun Lotion + Shirojyun Moisture Milk

Hado Labo

1. Hada Labo  Shirojyun Lotion, 5.7 oz for $19.99 + Shirojyun Moisture Milk, 4.7 oz for $19.99

I first heard about this product from blog Drivol About Frivol.  The blogger has sensitive, dry skin that she is constantly trying to quench with some serious moisture.  Why would an oily skinned, acne-prone girl jump on this?  Well, as I have mentioned before, I use a lot of stripping, exfoliating, and drying agents on my skin.  I don’t tolerate blemishes on my skin, so I nuke them – fast and furious.  It means that my skin requires moisture to restore the moisture balance in my skin without clogging it.  I usually use Decleor’s Rose D’Orient Serum to soothe and moisturize my skin before sunscreen and makeup application, but that stuff is EXPENSIVE.  I’m not using a drop; I am using substantially more and coating my face with it.  I wanted a cheaper alternative that wouldn’t burn my skin that I could alternate with.  Yes folks, when you have stripped too much of your skin and disturbed the pH balance it will burn on contact with most anything.  This includes: Skinceuticals B5 Gel, Avene’s Hydrance Optimale Rich Hydrating Cream, Cetaphil’s Cleanser, and La Roche Posay’s Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser.  I had to get this stuff, but it was a Japanese brand and I wasn’t going to go through the trouble of finding an ebayer who sells it. (I’ve gotten lazier about procuring hard to find asian products).  I sat on my desire. 

So, I was super excited when I went on Drugstore.com, to buy some bulk toiletries, and I saw they had an international brand sale.  Out of curiosity, I decided to look through all of the products and there it was Hada Labo.  SCORE!  I purchased the Shirojyun Lotion and Shirojyun Milk.

The Hada Labo Shirojyun Collection is focused on deep hydration using hyaluronic acid and brightening for luminous skin with a vitamin C derivative and  botanical brightening agent.  Botantical extracts and skin conditioners are added to improve the long lasting feel of moisture on your skin that deeply penetrates and doesn’t just sit on your skin.  While I did not get the cleanser, I picked up the lotion and the milk.

The Hada Labo Shirojyun Lotion is the first step after using the cleanser.  When I read the description, I thought it would be a typical japanese super watery toner.  It is not.  It is a tad viscose – way thicker than the much thinner and very watery (and annoying to apply) SK-II Lotion.   I patted this on some serious parched, tazorac’ed skin and it instantly quenched and mositurized my skin without feeling like a heavy cream and it did not evaporate leaving dry, parched skin.  It penetrated my skin and kept it moisturized for a very long time.  I had a particularly bad dry patch just under my jawline and connected to part of my neck where my skin does not get oily.  The retinoids I used had migrated south while I slept.  This kept it unbelievably moisturized and silky smooth.

The brightening agents in this lotion are the arbutin and the magnesium ascorbyl phosphate.  I have not noticed any reduction in dark spots on my face, but I also don’t use this every day.  It is dependent on how dry my skin is, although I expect to use it more often as we get further into winter.

Ingredients: Water, Dipropylene Glycol, Glycerin, Arbutin, Disodium Succinate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Methylparaben, PPG 10 Methyl Glucose Ether, Sodium Hyaluronate, styrene/VP Copolymer, Succinic Acid, Tremella Fuciformis Polysaccharide

I, also, picked up the Hada Labo Shirojyun Milk.  I don’t expect to use this as often as the Hada Labo Shirojyun Lotion for obvious reasons.  However, I will make an effort to use it during the winter and spring because I will not be able to use it in the summer.  I think for my particular needs the Hada Labo Shirojyun Lotion is all I require for now.   The milk has a thicker consistency than the lotion but it is still not thick, or feel heavy.  It is not that milky, but it is also not like a cream either.  It is more like a gel-cream.  It penetrates deeply and moisturizes the skin providing great hydration that doesn’t feel thick.  It provides a cool refreshing feel to my tazorac’d, superficially dry skin.  It also contains arbutin and magnesium ascorbyl phosphate.  There is a serum and a cream that you can use before and after the milk for the driest skintypes but these would be unnecessary for me.  At most, all I would require for the driest, coldest weather would be the lotion and the milk.  The milk did not appear to break out my skin, or increase oiliness.  In short, it is a great, inexpensive moisturizer for colder days where I am still using strong retinoids.

Ingredients: Water, Dipropylene Glycol, Triethylhexanoin, Isopropyl Palmitate, Arbutin, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Carbomer, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Methylparaben, PEG 20 Sorbitan Isostearate, Pentylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Triethanolamine, Xanthan Gum

As I mentioned before, I picked these up from Drugstore.com and it was totally worth it.  I don’t think I need to pick up the Shirojyun Milk next time around, but I will be definitely picking up the Shirojyun Lotion again.  It is  a cheaper and very effective alternative for naturally super oily skin that is getting tazorac’d on a frequent basis.

One more thing – there is absolutely NO ENGLISH on the labels.  It is ALL IN JAPANESE.  The plastic wrapper has an english label with the ingredient and instructions for use, but clearly you don’t keep the wrapper. 

Leave a Reply

