Vichy Laboratoires Normaderm Triple Action Anti-Acne Hydrating Lotion

Vichy Norma Derm

1. Vichy Laboratoires Normaderm Triple Action Anti-Acne Hydrating Lotion, 1.7 oz for $23.50

I think of Vichy as the other french skincare drugstore line.  La Roche Posay is better well known and it has a far more extensive product line.  However, I like both lines.  I am all for acne treatment products.  While I didn’t really use drugstore acne treatments in my mid twenties, when all I needed was my retinoid rx and glycolic acid lotions and face washes, these are different times.  I need everything now to handle the CONSTANTLY fluctuating state of my skin.  *Shakes first at adult hormonal acne*

What I like about Vichy’s Normaderm Triple Action Anti-Acne Hydrating Lotion is the fact that it can be used on sensitive skin and it provides soft, silky but matte moisture.  This is not an irritating product.  This product was specifically formulated for sensitive, acne-prone skin.  No matter how irritated my skin is I can put this on and I feel no irritation.  Brand literature for this product says that it “clears and helps prevent new blemishes, [provides] 24 hour hydration [and creates] an instant matte-effect, using salicylic acid acne treatment hydra peeling technology.”  This products key ingredients are salicylic acid combined with glycolic acid and lip-hydroxy acid (LHA), which are powerful micro-exfoliating ingredients.  For those who care, this is also paraben free.

I really enjoy this product.  It is soothing and works on even my most irritated, dry skin.  But it didn’t make my skin oily.  My skin feels fantastic.  I generally use this on weekends, before I go to gym, run quick errands outside, after the gym, freshening up.  I have purchased this product three times and I think it is pretty much on my repurchase list.  This is not the best for super humid, hot summers, or super cold, dry winters.  Also, my biggest issue with this product is that even though it doesn’t feel thick on the skin, it is actually kind of thickish on application.  Therefore, it can be difficult to layer any sunscreen on top of this, if you also used another serum, below it.  I have to be spare with the other skincare products I use when I use this, as well as be careful with how I apply a sunscreen on top so it doesn’t result in pilling, or lifting of the serums/sunscreens.

If you have dry, sensitive, or normal to oily skin, this is a great, gentle find and it can be combined within Retinoid Rx products for tougher, resistant oily skin types.  However, this IS NOT a fix for moderate to severe acne.  This really is suited for very mild acne.  However, I think anyone who suffers from acne could use this as a protective moisture lotion that won’t clog their skin.

Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (1%)Water, Glycerin, Alcohol Denatured, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Isononyl Isononanoate, Nylon 66, Pentaerythrityl, Tetraethylhexanoate, Isopropyl Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Ammonium Polyacrylatedimethyl Taurate, Sodium Hydroxide, Glycolic Acid, Silica, C12 13 Pareth 23, C12 13 Pareth 3, Glyceryl Acrylate/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Isohexadecane, Divinyldimethicone Dimethicone, Sodium Polacrylate, Perlite, Poloxamer 338, Disodium EDTA, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Acrylates/C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Polysorbate 80, Fragrance

2 comments

  1. Hm..wonder if this is similar to their Normaderm Pro Mat, which I have. I tried it once and have yet to use it again. I honestly am not sure why I bought it because I was well-aware that the second ingredient was alcohol denat, but I think I was so desperate at the time, I decided to go for it anyway. It didn’t help me stay matte at all–only initially upon application. But all that alcohol immediately sucked the moisture right out of my skin and left my face producing even more oil. Also, it pilled BADLY. The experience left me hesitant to try anymore Vichy products to be honest :/

    • To be fair, pilling is still a issue with the normaderm, as well. It is why I have to be careful with what I apply underneath and above. I can’t really apply make up on top AND sunscreen which is why I exclusively use this to go to the gym, after I am done at the gym, or on quick casual errand runs. But it has been great for when my skin was blitzed from retinoids.


Leave a Reply

