Skinceuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50

Skinceuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50, 1.7 oz for $32.00

1. Skinceuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50, 1.7 oz for $32.00

I like mineral sunscreens because they do not burn my skin when I am on my super strength acne regimen.  I do not like mineral sunscreens because they often leave a white cast which means I need to add foundation, bronzer, or some other product to cover the white cast.

When I saw this product I was really excited about an American brand being able to produce something close to Asian sunscreens, which are cosmetically very elegant and great for oily skin in humid places.  The brand literature says:

“Sheer Physical UV Defense is a ground breaking physical sunscreen offering a first-to-market transparent, mattifying liquid that is paraben-free and offers true broad spectrum coverage from UVA and UVB rays. This unique formulation provides a non-irritating, ultra sheer texture for all skin types, even the most sensitive.”

This product was marketed as sheer, however, it is not completely sheer.  My skintone does experience a dullish overcast when I put it on so I would need to use a little bronzer.  However, almost NO mineral sunscreens are truly sheer on skin that is not very pale.  Any pigment underneath will come off as dulled and a little ashy.

I was also surprised to discover that this sunscreen had a grainy rough texture.  I have never come across a sunscreen with a grainy texture before. I don’t know if this was a bad bottle, or if it was representative of the texture, in general.  My facial scrubs are supposed to exfoliate my skin, not my sunscreen.  I used it a few more times and vigorously shook the bottle but it was the same.  I was just not going to keep it.  I saved the receipt and returned it.  It takes a really bad experience for me to return a skincare product.  I love experimenting and I love giving the benefit of the doubt, but grainy sunscreen? I don’t think so.  It could have been a bad batch but I checked other reviews for this and some mentioned a grainy texture so there maybe a quality control issue.

I was very disappointed because I like Skinceuticals and they have some top notch stuff, but it was not the first time I used an overhyped product of theirs that did not match the hoopla.

*I actually used this product a while ago but it took me a while to post about it.  It was technically one of my first posts for this blog but I quickly made it private for some reason.  I guess it’s time to bring it out and put it out there.

Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Water, Dimethicone, Isododecane, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Undecane, Triethylhexanoin, Isohexadecane, Nylon-12, Caprylyl Methicone, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Phenethyl Benzoate, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Silica, Tridecane, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Dicaprylyl Ether, Talc, Dimethicone/Peg-10/15 Crosspolymer, Aluminum Stearate, Pentylene Glycol, Peg-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Alumina, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Magnesium Sulfate, Caprylyl Glycol, Peg-8 Laurate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Tocopherol, Propylene Carbonate, Artemia Extract, Benzoic Acid, Peg-9

2 comments

  1. Oh that’s too bad about this. Grainy sunscreen?? WHY?!! I don’t see how anyone would PREFER their sunscreen to feel this way. Strange.

    I am curious to hear whether or not you have a favorite sunscreen, though! As someone with very oily skin, I am always in search of the best light, comfortable, sunscreen that slightly mattifies or at least doesn’t make me oily. I’ve tried MANY–especially lately. I used to prefer a mineral sunscreen but had to give up and include chemical ones too bc all the mineral ones I tried were too ashy/white or too thick/made my skin super oily :/

    • Ahhhh – My holy grail oily skin sunscreen used to be DDF Photoage Matte SPF 30 – until DDF discontinued it. It was truly matte and felt wonderful and I even used it at NIGHT for the matte properties it gave my skin. Don’t know why they discontinued it! Who knows – maybe it wasn’t an effective sunscreen or it was a carcinogen! But they should have reformulated it because the matte properties were AMAZING! Now, matte sunscreens I like are Peter Thomas Roth Uber Dry SPF 30 and for cold Fall through Spring Cetaphil Dermacontrol SPF 30 (cuz it’s cheap). For Winter, I can swing Josie Maran Sunscreen SPF 40 for non-oily and gentle moisture. Clarins UV Plus dayscreen SPF 40 is awesome, too. But I also like all of the Shiseido sunscreens except for the big blue bottle of lotion with SPF 60, which is too drying! Sofina, Anessa (shiseido brand), Kanebo are ok, too. Except, I am moving away from traditional asian milky-lotion sunscreens because it is too drying with too much alcohol when I use my TAZ, retinoids, glycolic acids!


Leave a Reply

