Gym Bag Edition: November Samples

I get a ton of samples where ever I purchase skincare products – online or in store.  Samples are pretty much a given now with any purchase.  It helps to be really nice or get an extra generous person.  I make a point of letting associates know that I do leave associate reviews, which I do.  One particular Sephora person gives me a ton of samples whenever I go to the store.  What was amusing was seeing the person in front of me ask for a few a samples a bit earlier with another associate and watch that associate be stingy by giving her ONE dinky packet.  I don’t know if that associate was in a crappy mood or the person had been rude to her.  Generous associates and friendliness go a long way.

Anyways, I have a TON of sample packets, mini bottles, tubes and jars.  My problem is remembering to use the stuff.  I used to keep them stuffed in a mini train case but then I would forget about them.  I then moved to an acrylic storage box but I still would forget about them even though they were plainly visible.  So, I figured out that the best way to use samples was to leave myself without many of my regular products.  Best place to be stranded without products is at a gym.  So, I swapped out some full size items and added tons of packets and mini tubes.

It doesn’t matter what brand.  As long as I make sure there are multiple facial cleansers, moisturizers, serums, treatment products for any particular problem, and sunscreens, I am good.  Since my skin is no longer massively wrecked, I don’t mind being more schizo with the skincare products.  Plus, it is only being used after I am done at the gym.  Great time to try something new and see how it feels.

I like to use some of the mini pots as holders for my highlighters.  Benefit’s Erase Paste currently contains excess product that squirts out from the By Terry Rose De Rose Liquid Blush and a healthy dollop of Giorgio Armani’s Fluid Sheer in Golden Beige.  Did I mention that I did not bother to scoop out the actual Erase Paste? It was a last minute thing and I needed ANY container to hold the excess that came out.  It was nearby and I used it.  The end.  The paste itself is compact and not my color.  The highlighters just sit on top.  That’s right, I just squirted liquid highlighter in there on top of the paste.  I think I am going to see what happens when I use all three blended together.  The golden beige may actually make the paste useable on me.  Who knows?

Here is a pic of the gym bag samples spreadout.

So far, I am VERY pleased with the feel of Murad’s Essential C Day Moisture SPF 30 PA +++.  I was reminded why I love Maybelline’s Dream Bouncy Blush in Coffee Cake – the best shade in the WHOLE collection.  I really dig Cane + Austin’s Acne Treatment Pads (5% glycolic and 2% salicylic acid) – if only they sold these single use packets!  I am more likely to use the large bottle of SK-II Facial Treatment Essence by refilling the little sample bottle, over and over again.  Still trying to figure out a wonder use for this pitera rich anti-aging “miracle.”  But I am suspiciously apprehensive of La Roche-Posay’s Anthelios 50 Daily Anti-Aging Primer with Sunscreen (click on name for review), which I am pretty certain is BREAKING ME OUT in localized large spots that become whiteheads within a FEW HOURS of use.  (Actually, if I cleanse thoroughly and am careful with what I use before I layer it on, my skin doesn’t breakout).  I am going to be very upset if it is the sunscreen because it is new, was kind of expensive, and can’t be returned for sucking.  But I am holding out and will see if the same thing happens EVERY time I use it after the gym. 

Sample usage is all very low commitment AND cost effective.  Right now, I am starting a “using up my stuff before I purchase anything new” phase.  Most of my skincare purchases are part curiosity, part desperation to find something to clear my skin.  I am laying low.  I’ve got a enugh stuff to last me half a year, without buying anything new, with daily usage – half of which I haven’t even blogged about yet.  It’s a good thing you can’t see through computer screens – you would have seen me blink.  I will TRY MY BEST not to buy any new skincare products.  (Curse you Sephora, Beauty Habit, Dermstore, Skinstore, SkincareRx, Drugstore.com, Beauty.com, CVS, Duane Reade, and Whole Foods!)

*The nylon navy case with partial mesh insert is from the japanese store Muji.  Cute, small, smooshable and under $10.00.  Yay!  I bought it in the retail store.  Unfortunately, it’s not available in the U.S. online store. 

10 comments

    • Not all SA’s are like that with me. It helps if you have a regular person you come across over and over again. Plus, under the circumstances SA’s are just very grateful I didn’t act like a jerk because there was an issue with their computer systems the few times I checked out with her. She was like HERE TAKE THIS AND SO SORRY – shoves packets/mini boxes. But nothing stinks more than a rude/mean SA.

    • These were collected over a long time period, but also as a result of a few VERY generous SA’s who were appreciative I did not cop an attitude with them, when maybe someone else would have during technical difficulties. Finally realized I had to make it a mission to use ’em up otherwise it would be a waste!

  1. Pingback: R.I.P. Muji Nylon Makeup Bag or How Someone Became Extra Grimey « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

