Mists of the Skin

I started spritzing my face while in grad school.  I picked up many positive beauty habits, and many not so great general habits I am trying to break while in grad school.  Going to school “FULL-TIME” is never actually full-time.  Going to school full-time doesn’t even compare to having a full-time job with a minimum 40 hour work week.  You actually end up having A LOT of time going to school full-time.  I actually had a lot of time taking one course over a full course load, doing an externship, wasting several hours at a time with friends for lunch a few times a week, going to the gym about four times a week for nearly two hours at a time, obsessively surfing makeupalley.com on breaks from reading dense texts, and generally dawdling throughout the day.

One of the better habits I picked up was using facial mists and makeup setting sprays.  My first introduction was from Skindinavia and I find it actually is one of the best makeup setting sprays out there.  I purchased the largest bottle available and it took me several years to finish that sucker.  I haven’t repurchased it yet because I have so many other facial sprays, whether for makeup setting, or other facial toning purposes, so I am not repurchasing Skindinavia’s Original Makeup Finishing Spray for a while, but it really is awesome.

This is my current facial mist and makeup setting spray collection.  I don’t really distinguish between the two, except for the makeup setting sprays which I will only use on skin that has foundation.  The facing toning mists, on the otherhand, I use on skin with or without makeup.  Doesn’t matter. (Except for the c.Booth!)

1. MAC Fix + Rose, 3.4 oz for $20.00

I do not believe they sell the “Rose” version anymore, but it is supposed to have a slight rose scent to it.  The bottle I have is almost done, but I have the regular version, squirreled away for eventual use.  I find this less of a makeup setting spray than a toning mist.  MAC literature for this product focuses more on the vitamins and minerals angle, with the “finishing makeup” angle kind of a secondary concern.  This is pretty accurate.  This facial mist does refresh the skin and give an enhanced subtle deweyness to it.  The question is whether it is any different than the facial mists you can buy at Whole Foods for half the price and double the size?  I don’t think so.  On a budget?  You can get the same enhanced radiance and mineral infusion from any natural, or almost natural, skincare line carried by Whole Foods.  Hmmm, why do I have that extra bottle squirreled away again?

2. Earth Science Herbal Tonic Mist, 8.0z for $9.95

This is one of the facial sprays I picked up at Whole Foods, but you can find it for cheaper at Vitacost.  (Man, I hate buying something only to find out I could have gotten it cheaper somewhere else.)  This is a tonic mist that can be used as a facial moisturizer for normal and oilier skintypes, or extra hydration pre-cream moisturizer for drier skintypes.  I have used this facial spray on naked skin before I applied serum, or moisturizer, but I have also used it after using Decleor Essential Serums on super dry skin so the essential oils could grab on to the spray particles and lock in the ingredients.  Is there any science to this?  I don’t know.  It seemed like a good idea.  May not make a difference, but I do it anyways.  I also use this to add a little sheen post makeup.  Earth Science is a hypo-allergenic natural skincare brand that does not test on animals or use parabens.  I am happy with this facial mist and would not hesitate to purchase again, especially because the price is so nice.

Ingredients: Aloe juice, arnica extract, panthenol, glycerin (vegetable), sea kelp extract, sodium PCA, raspberry leaf extract, chamomile extract, comfrey extract, fennel extract, hyaluronic acid, niacin, micellized beta-carotene, sorbic acid, grapefruit seed extract, sea salt, allantoin, biotin, natural fragrance oils, calendula extract, citric acid.

3. Earth Science Clarifying Herbal Astringent, 8.0 oz for $9.75

This product is labeled as an astringent but this does not work like typical american astringents that are very drying with a high alcohol content, which is why I do not use it as a astringent.  This has more in common with asian watery lotions that are meant to gently exfoliate the skin while adding moisture and minerals to the skin.  I actually love this product a bit more than the Herbal Tonic Mist because it is meant for combination/oily skin.  Brand literature for this product says that it ” Corrects and controls “over-active” skin.  This toner provides blemish control by tightening pores and substantially reducing oil production in the skin.  It also prepares the skin to be more receptive to further treatment.”  There is nothing drying about this, and as far as tightening the pores, it was not a noticeable sensation.  I actually put this in a spray bottle and spray my face to my hearts content.  I love the all natural pore clarifying ingredients like witch hazel, sulfur, camphor, zinc and rosemary.  It also has apple cider vinegar AND ascorbic acid, as well as moisture binding hyaluronic acid.  This has peppermint, as well, but I can’t really tell.  Overall, this product is very gentle.  Love it, and a definite repurchase.

Ingredients: Purified water, witch hazel extract, glycerin (vegetable), apple cider vinegar, sage extract, rosemary extract, horsetail extract, cucumber extract, sea kelp extract, peppermint extract, panthenol, sulfur, camphor, sodium PCA, zinc sulfate, sorbic acid, grapefruit seed extract, allantoin, hyaluronic acid, ascorbic acid, fragrance, cellulose gum, annatto extract.

4. Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Clarifying Facial Toner, 4.4 oz for $19.99 (Discontinued)

I have mentioned african black soap before in a post for Nubian Heritage Body Washes, which are AWESOME!  I could not help but try their Clarifying Facial Toner.  But PEW!  It is a stinker!  I think it is the sulfur.  The ingredient list is AWESOME but I started holding my breathe when I used this and covering my face quickly with a serum, or facial moisturizer, to remove the stink.  I wish this had smelled better because a good product shouldn’t stink.  I think the makers realized no one is going to buy something that stinks so bad because it was discontinued.

Ingredients: Deionized water, african black soap extract, methylsulfonylmethane (sulfur), aloe barbadensis leaf juice, glycerin, witch hazel, vitamin c, panthenol (pro-vitamin B-5), salicylic   acid, spiraea ulmaria (meadowsweet) extract, allantoin (comfrey root extract), willowbark extract,  moroccan camomile sauvage oil, tea tree oil.

5. Sumbody You’re So Beautiful Purifying Mist, 2.0 oz for $17.95

I purchased this because the portable size appealed to me.  If you are into facial mists than you also like the idea of having a mist on hand that you can stash in your bag.  I have used the Evian and Caudalie facial mists and I didn’t care for them.  Evian is better suited for very dry skin types while Caudalie had a distinct scent I didn’t care for.  This is a purifying mist meant for oily, blemish prone skin, but I didn’t really notice anything drying about this product.  This is a gentle formulation that maybe only the extremely dry and sensitive should stay away from.  This facial spray was basic at best and when you consider the price for what you are getting, very price.  Earth Science was better and more economical, if not convenient.  I would not repurchase this.

Ingredients: Water, Distallates of: Witch Hazel, Tea Tree, Lavender, Neroli, Pacific Sea Salt, Tinctures of: Rooibos, Burdock, Licorice Root, Plantain, Usnea, Dandelion, Neem.

6.  c. Booth Tea Tree Therapeutic Toner, 4.0 oz for $8.49

This is the most purifying facial mist of the bunch and it is awesome.  Technically, it is a toner, but I do not bother with the cotton balls.  I spray this sucker all over my face and just make sure to close my eyes super tight, and wipe the moisture away from my eyes before I open them. While this is not drying, I do sense the purifying actives in this spray more than I do in the other facial mists I use.  This is not a natural product and it has preservatives.  I don’t care.  Sorry.  This is a great toning mist which adds more purification than moisture so dry and sensitive skinned folks should stay away.  I have purchased this bottle three times and will continue to do so.  One caveat is that you should NOT use this as a makeup finishing spray, or as a radiance enhancer.  This has denatured alcohol and it does upset the texture of the foundation, pr other makeup, on your skin.  This is strictly a purifying facial mist for acne-prone, oily skinned folks. 

Ingredients: Water, Alcohol Denatured, Hamamelis Virginiana Extract (Witch Hazel), Rosa Centifolia (Rose) Flower Water, Polysorbate 20, Glycerin, Melaleuca Altemifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil (Tea Tree), Oryza Sativa Bran Oil (Rice), Limmanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil (Meadowfoam), Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice, Allantoin (Comfrey Root), Sodium PCA, Urea, Trehalose, Polyquaternium 51, Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid), Parfum, Tetrasodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Propylene Glycol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate

7. Dermalogica Soothing Protection Spray, 8.0 oz for $32.00

This spray has been a lifesaver for “OMG, my face is burning” skin.  Despite having naturally resistant, non-reactive skin, I use a ton of stripping, exfoliating, drying products on my skin that MAKE it non-resistant, reactive skin from time to time.  When even dry skin face washes and moisturizers burn my skin, I use this to soothe and protect my skin before I add any layers of product that will leave me with a firey sensation.   Brand literature for this product says that it acts as an environmental shield to immediately reduce the redness and inflammation associated with stress, pollution, climactic extremes or allergies…[this is] ideal for all sensitized skin conditions.”  I 100% agree with this.  I use this when I need to use a buffer from even moisturizing and protective essential oils.  This calms my stripped skin and allows all other layers to go on gentley.  The key soothing ingredients are in the proprietary “anti-ozonate complex.”  I don’t care what’s in there.  I still have the original bottle because it is A LOT, but I will repurchase because one thing you can always count on me to do is to go a little overboard with the glycolics and the retinoids to cause a little chemical burn, here or there.  As a matter of fact, I have one now courtesy of layering B.Kamins Lactic 10 Peel over an area of skin where I had forgotten I had used tazorac the night before and salicylic acid earlier in the day…WOOPS!

Ingredients: Anti-Ozonate Complex, Green Tea, Balm Mint, Cucumber, Licorice, Raspberry, Canadian Willow Herb.

8. Urban Decay De-Slick Oil-Control Makeup Setting Spray, 4.0 oz for $29.00

I wish I had picked up the smaller size for this product because I find it is not very good.  First, this supposedly has a “de-slicking, oil-control” function, however, I find my skin gets kind of greasy with this on.  Surprising, no?  Also, as far as the makeup setting aspect, well, it helps to shift my makeup.  It doesn’t really set.  Comparing this to the Skindinavia Original Makeup Finishing Spray, which made no claims for oil control but allowed my makeup to last several hours longer in humid summers, as well as control the oilies, Urban Decay’s De-Slick Oil-Control Makeup Setting Spray looks an even greater disappointment.  [OMG – What the fudge?!  This spray was created BY SKINDINAVIA FOR URBAN DECAY! What is up with the different feel and texture?!]  As a matter of fact, I would like to know why a “de-slicking” and “oil-controlling” setting spray has gluconolactone in it?  I am familiar with gluconolactone as an exfoliative AND moisture BINDING ingredient in some of my skincare products I only use when I have DRY, SENSITIVE skin.  Brand literature for this product says that it is a “weightless” mist that can keep skin matte for nearly “16 hours,” absorbing” excess sebum and [controlling] surface shine.”  Weightless?  There is nothing weightless about gluconolactone.  This is a hard fail. 

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), SD-Alcohol 39-C, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Isononyl Isononanoate, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, Sodium Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, PVP, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Methyl Diisopropyl Propionamide, Methyl Methacrylate Cross Polymer, Dimethicone PEG-7 Phosphate, Gluconolactone, Sodium Benzoate, PPG-3 Benzyl Ether Myristate, Glycereth-5 Lactate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Fragrance.

As you know, my skintype is oily and acne-prone.  Why is an oily, acne prone girl loving facial mists?  Well, the best facial mists create a radiant, dewey but NEVER greasy look to skin.  If all goes well, I only look greasy several hours in and that’s why there are napkins to blot people!  Once the excess oil is blotted away my skin stil looks radiant.  Your skin just looks better with all those minerals.  A facial mist has NEVER broken me out and the purifying ones are awesome!

Leave a Reply

