Kinky-Curly and Curls

Since I have gotten serious about my hair I have been exploring all hair avenues.  My hair goal: voluminous, shiny, wavy hair with no frizz.  Current hair: fine, dry, dull, porous and prone to frizziness on ends. Lastly, I have an oily scalp, which makes moisturizing conditioners or shampoos bad, greasy news.  Washing my hair too often means dry, breakage prone hair.  Not washing it enough means super greasy roots, but still dry ends. 

I have been exploring curly hair products.  Girls with curls (teehee) are after the same thing I want.  They want frizz free, moisturized but not heavy, or greasy, hair products that weigh down the hair, that still manages to moisturize the hair shaft.  Curly hair is naturally very dry, porous and prone to breakage.  Curly haired girls want to keep bouncy curls. I want to maintain my natural waves and create bounce before they fall flat and straight.  However, because curly haired girls have hair with extra built in curly bounce, they are able to use products with special types of lighter silicone that seal the hair and the curl.  On me, it just straightens out my waves.  So, what to do, what to do? 

How about going for the most bare bones shampoo and conditioner meant for curly hair?  When I came across Kinky-Curly and Curls in my local drugstore, I was intrigued by the mostly natural, but very small list of ingredients.  I figured why not?  While I have never considered either brand based on their advertisments because it was not advertised for my hairtype, the possibilities opened up, staring at me in colorful rows of bottles. 

 And, oh boy, do I have a report.

1. Kinky-Curly Come Clean Shampoo, 8.0 oz for $12.00 & Kinky-Curly Knot Today Leave In/Detangler, 8.0 oz for $12.00

I have never washed my hair with a shampoo that did not have a coating agent.  This really is “clean.”  It was hard to work a lather because there really wasn’t a lather.  I ended up using a lot more product because I was unaccustomed to the lack of lather.  It took a while to work in my scalp and through the rest of my hair, and when I washed it out my hair had absolutely no slip.  My hair felt like a fine, knotted thick mass. 

I went on to use Knot Today but I didn’t realize I was NOT supposed to wash it out.  This had no slip and was very difficult to work in to my hair.  When I washed it out I realized my mistake but I was game to see the end result anyways.  After I had rinsed out Knot Today, my hair was still a thick, tangled, plasticy mess.  You see, I committed hair wash sin #1: I did not detangle my hair before I washed it.  OUCH.  After I got out of the shower, I got to work untangling my hair with a wide toothe comb and my hair had never been SO HARD to untangle.  There was NO SLIP to provide easy passage to my hair strands.   It also took FOREVER.  I almost gave up and I was so frustrated at how much hair I was losing in the untangling process. Finally, after I had laborously detangled section by section, I was done and certain I would never use the products again.  But then I noticed how quickly my hair dried in my ponytail.  The next day I noticed my hair was amazingly voluminous and my hair was not fuzzy.  For several days, I had full voluminous hair where my individual strands did not clump together by the weight of a silicone or fatty alcohol derivative.  My roots were lifted and the little baby waves I had were still there.  My hair was also less greasy.  It lasted much longer than with any other product I had used before.  I was pleasantly surprised.  However, adjustments would have to be made.

Shampoo Ingredients: Purified Water, Mandarin (Orange Fruit Orange), Marigold (Flower Organic), White Willow (Salix Alba) Bark (Organic), Sea Kelp (Organic), C14 16 Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidoprophyl Betaine (Coconut Derived), Citric Acid, Sea Salt, Phenoxyethanol, Natural Fragrance.

Leave In/Detangler Ingredients: Mango (Fruit Extract Organic), Slippery Elm (Organic), Marshmallow (Althaea Officinalis) Root (Organic), Lemongrass (Cymbopogon Schoenanthus) (Organic), Cetyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Citric Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Natural Fragrance

2. Curls Coconut Curlada Conditoner, 8.0 oz for $9.99

The second time I used the Kinky-Curly products, I used the Come Clean Shampoo with Curls Coconut Curlada Conditoner, which I had purchased at the same time.  The Coconut Curlada Conditioner was not impressive in conditoning, and it did not make that much of a difference to my hair in providing slip, or even weightless, shaft penetrating conditioning, and I found it is no different than any other mostly natural marketed conditioner meant for dry hair, which feels heavy creamy when applied, but washes off without much penetration.  However, I did use a dollop of the Knot Today with liberal spritzing of Infusium 23 Leave In Treatment throughout my hair, and my hair was SO MUCH easier to detangle and I didn’t lose like 200 strands of hair.  But my hair was still voluminous and this time around softer.

Ingredients: Water, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearalkonium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 60, Coconut oil Gardenia Tahitensis Flower Extract, Certified Organic Arnica, Montana Flower Extract, Certified Organic Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Methylheptyl Isostearate, Potassium Sorbate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol,Fragrance.

I am still tinkering with the Kinkly-Curly Come Clean Shampoo mostly, and pairing it with other conditioners, and the results have all been positive, although I noticed with the usage of traditional conditoners makes my hair shaft gets oilier faster, however, there is definitely more shine and waves last longer, if still greasier.  It seems like since the Come Clean Shampoo is not depositing a drying or moisturizing wax on to the hair shaft, it is allowing traditional conditoners’ waxier emollients to glide through the hair easier, maintaining waves, highlighting shine, but also leaving my strands greasier.  Apparently, using a shampoo that deposits waxes and silicones along with a conditioner that does the same, cancels out the shine, and makes the hair duller and rougher. 

This is a work in process. But Kinky-Curly Come Clean Shampoo has impressed me. 

The other other two products were not impressive.  However, the Knot Today is still worth investigating because I do feel the clean, non-waxy formula is a huge plus.  I just haven’t figured out how to use it most effectively for my hair without yanking out several hundreds of strands of hair at a time. 

I suggest Kinky-Curly Come Clean Shampoo for all curly haired, wavy haired, and straight haired ladies who have normal to dry-ish hair, especially if it is fine and prone to greasiness.  This shampoo will leave your hair voluminous! Also, the Knots Today Leave In/Detangler diffused with water and spritzed as a detangler would be great for normal and oily haired girls who don’t need or want extra moisture and who do not want to way down their hair. 

I have decided that photos for hair posts are NOT that helpful after the results of my Renpure Keratin post because I do not have a DSLR, lighting system, and I am NOT going outside with someone to take hair shots (!).  Also, since I do not use shine enhancing products (which make my hair greasy) and I do not blow dry my hair for regular days, my hair will always show up dark, inky, and dull block of hair in photos.   Here is a shot of my hair to illustrate.

Leave a Reply

