ZINN Velvet Facial Cleansing Milk

1. ZINN Velvet Facial Cleansing Milk, 125 ml for $29.99

There have been a lot of new skincare brands featured in my local drugstore chain lately.  I could not help but try out a few products.  These brands are quite expensive for drugstore brands so I believe these are niche brands that my local drugstore is testing out.  ZINN Skincare products are organic and handmade skincare concoctions made in Morocco, or so says their marketing.  When I saw this I was thinking I could try it out as a makeup remover because of all of the essential oils I saw on the ingredient list, such as argan oil, sunflower seed oil, and jojoba oil.  I was even suprised to find tea tree oil in this, which I thought would be purifying on the skin.

However, this product was a let down for my fluctuating skintype.  This is a thick cleansing milk that you can blend into your skin and tissue off, or simply rinse off with water.  I rinsed off with water and did not try the tissue method.  I didn’t feel like I was removing anything when I massaged my face with it and I felt like I left residue on my face when I rinsed it off.  I didn’t think it was deeply cleansing or nourishing.  The texture and efficacy of this product reminded me alot of the Yes to Carrots Nourishing Exfoliating Cleanser and the Yes to Carrots Nourishing Repairing Night Cream.  Heavy, thick, non-reactive, just sitting on my skin not being absorbed but not providing a deep clean either.  I find this common among “natural” skincare products that are meant for dry skin.  While my natural skintype is oily and acne-prone, being on Tazorac shredded my skin and it needed both moisturizing products.  But dry skincare products often just “mask” the feel of the skin with a heavy cream that just sits on the skin, not actually doing anything to it.  I actually think petroleum jelly would have had a better feel because the skin would have been protected from external environmental aggressors.  Also, ZINN Velvet Facial Cleansing Milk seemed to leave a heavy film, or residue, I did not find pleasant.  I actually ended up double cleansing to remove the feel of this product.

This is a definite no.

Ingredients: Water, Helianthus Annuus Oil*, Argania Spinosa Oil*, Glyceryl Stearate, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter*, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetearyl Alcohol & Coco-Glucoside, Simmondsia Chinensis Oil*, Cera Alba, Rosa Moschata Seed Oil*, Coco-Glucoside, Benzyl Alcohol, Dehydroacetic Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Xanthan Gum, Tocopherol, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Oil*, Melaleuca Alternifolia Oil*, Limonene, Linalool. (*Ingredients From Organic Farming).

Leave a Reply

