Illamasqua Cream Blusher in Crush (Crush, Crush, Crush)

When are colors deeper and richer than in the fall?  Fall is by far my most favorite season because of the weather shift: bright, crisp, and windy.  The autumnal shift is beautiful especially if you are around trees to see the turning of the leaves.  I went to high school in New England where the school was surrounded by some of the most beautiful lush trees.  Visually, it was incredibly beautiful.  A real autumn experience.   The city pales in comparison.  In the city, there just aren’t that many trees unless you go to the parks, but, fortunately, I do live in a front of a tree whose branches reach my window level.  Just a little taste of the visual beauty of autumn.  Forest greens, pumpkin oranges, jewel toned sapphire blues, rich burgandy.  Enter Illamasqua Cream Blusher in Crush.

1. Illamasqua Cream Blusher in Crush, 0.14 oz for $26.00

In the fall and winter, my preference for blushes always trend towards deeper flushes.  When else can you rock clownier cheeks than in the fall and winter when it is far more believable to imagine that the flush of red is the result of wind chapped cheeks!  Having been born with a naturally sallow-green complexion that seems to be getting sallower and greener as I get older, it means that my blush addiction was necessitated by need more than fancy.  I NEED rosy lively color on my face to combat my sallow color which does nothing to impart freshness.  I do not understand latinas who have similar tones, who DO NOT wear blush.  I feel like I need to put out a PSA or something.  Put down the lipliner and that horrid shade of pinky-brown! Put it AWAY! Grab some blush NOW!

Illamasqua Cream Blusher in Crush is the PERFECT shade for a deep and vibrant cold weather induced blush on the cheeks that looks flattering on ALL SKINTONES.  From the fairest to the deepest, whether cool-toned, neutral-toned, warm-toned, or the olive – this will look go anyone.  Sephora describes this shade as a deep raspberry red with a dewy finish, which I agree with.  The color is deep and rich, but it can be sheered out amazingly well for a very sheer flush of color that is not patchy, but very even throughout.

What I like about Illamasqua’s Cream Blushers is that despite being so pigmented, texturally they are quite thin and do not require a lot of product to deposit color.  Also, despite the cream formulation, it reminds me of a gel-powder in the way that it sets to the skin.  Even blending it out, you can feel a little bit of a powder gel formulation to it, without looking like a powder on the skin.  Once it is on the skin it does last a long time and does not migrate.  Having oily cheeks though, it does mean that my skin can eat color very well.  But this Cream Blusher does last a very long time on my skin.

Check out the swatch below. 

Surprisingly, I don’t have a single blush shade that is as deep as this one, exceptperhaps Bobbi Brown’s Pot Rouge in Chocolate Cherry.  I have simply taken an old swatch shot for comparison.

Ingredients: Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Octyldodecanol, Cetyl Palmitate, Petrolatum, Cera Carnauba (Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax), Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax), C18-38 Alkyl Hydroxystearoyl Stearate, Kaolin, Tocopherol, Parfum (Fragrance) And May Contain: [+/- Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, Red 7 CI 15850, Yellow 5 Lake CI 19140, Red 36 CI 12085, Red 21 Lake CI 45380, Carmine CI 75470, Blue 1 Lake CI 42090, Manganese Violet CI 77742, Mica]. May contain Carmine as a colour additive.

If surprised by the fact that I did not have a blusher this shade, I am still pleased because it means I am cutting down on buying the same colors over and over again.  This is a great shade and it is wearable on ALL skintones.  Why not listen to Paramore’s Crush, Crush, Crush song while blending this sucker on your cheeks for extra fun.  Sadly, I can’t remove that song from my head now. 

CRUSH, CRUSH, CRUSH!

 

8 comments

  1. Illamasqua Crush is such a nice deep colour, I think Crush looks great on fair and almost every skintone. I really like it. I am really loving such colours, especially for fall.


Leave a Reply

