Givenchy Le Prisme Visage Mat Soft Compact Face Powder in Amber Organza

Ah, my first powder foundation post.  I always really found it interesting that beauty magazines not to long ago used to suggest powder foundations for oily skinned girls.  It was always “stay away from liquid foundations” for oily skin.  Except, for many, many years I could not use powder foundations on my skin.  My skin was TOO oily to use it.  The oil in my skin would cake up the powder, cause a color shift, and generally look just bad.  Nevermind that powder shades were even MORE limiting than liquid foundation versions.  It is not easy to find a powder shade that is appropriate for light-medium olive skin – usually going beige-pink, beige-peach, or beige-orange.  So, I stayed away while still checking out various products to see if shades and formulations had improved.  And, yes they have!

1. Givenchy Le Prisme Visage Mat Soft Compact Face Powder in Amber Organza, 0.38 oz for $46.00

Givenchy’s Le Prisme Visage Mat Soft Compact Powder in Amber Organza is by far one of the best textured, blendable, natural appearing powder foundations my skin has ever tried.  First, what appealed to me most is the fact that it has four blendable shades that offer custom coverage.  The four shades are offered in different tones with one shade, being the lightest, useable as a highlighter shade or just another shade to custom blend the perfectly matching shade to your skin.

When I saw these compacts at Sephora, I was immediately drawn to the Amber shade.  All the others appeared too brown or too beige-pink light. While I may be able to swing Beige Mousseline in the dead of winter, it is not worth trying out for me because I still have olive undertones, so it may look ashy on me.  The Amber shade has distinct yellow-gold shades that can be easily layered to emphasize the gold but it can also be toned down with the lighter shades.  The sheerness of the powder allows me to use this shade any time of the year, EXCEPT the summer, but not because of a shade mismatch, but because my skin really is TOO OILY in the summer.

This powder is very finely milled and incredibly blendable.  Swirling a brush over all four shades and buffing it into my skin creates seamless color and no excess powdery residue or caking.  I have used this over too white mineral sunscreens and I have received incredible finely textured coverage.  I prefer to use this powder in the fall and winter when it is colder outside and my oily skin will not be as oily.  The finish is softy matte and can stay so for a while.  But this is not meant for oil control and I would not suggest using it for this purpose unless your skin is only slightly oily. 

Here are the swatches of each of the shades.

Here is a swatch of all of the shades blended together.  As you can see it is very difficult to tell where the shade ends on my skintone. 

The Sephora website says that this powder contains “atomized particles offering homogenous and evanscent coverage for a silky and natural finish.”  “Atomized mother-of-pearl delivers extra radiance without a shiny effect.”  “Translucent nylon particles creates a radiant complexion, while Lysine-coated pigments provide long lasting and stay-true colors.”  Whatever it is, I agree that Givenchy’s Le Prisme Visage Mat Soft Compact Face Powder formula offers an incredible finish on skin that does not look powdery or cakey.

Ingredients: Talc, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Diisostearyl Malate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Disodium Edta, Parfum (Fragrance), Lauroyl Lysine, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Linalool, Hydroxycitronellal, Benzyl Salicylate, Bht.

Leave a Reply

