No, No, You Don’t Own Me

Modern day mainstream pop culture entertainment has generally been dominated by young male tastes, which is why movies that focused on a majority female cast are so rare.  Even rarer, when the female cast are in their forties or older.  Women in their forties and older are usually cast as background characters in mother, grandmother, and teacher roles, fulfilling a very basic two dimensional character, usually bereft of any real joy or fun.  The fun and silly have been stripped from their personalities the moment they gave birth or chose not to (as bitter, dry women).

So, it was always a real treat when a movie or t.v. show focused on the lives of older women, not as tragic, boring, life has passed them by stereotypes, but as fun, vibrant women still very much enjoying their lives.  Apparently, they didn’t just shrivel up and die once they were no longer the object of a younger man’s desire.

Movies like The First Wives Club are still treats that I love to watch countless times.  Television shows like The Golden Girls were must watch t.v. for me even as a junior high student.  I still enjoy the re-runs.  I didn’t see “old” women.  I saw funny characters still enjoying life and providing me much laughter.  But did you notice the problem with my earlier statement.  I said “movies” or  “shows”  – as in plural.  These movies or shows are exceptions.  Sure, there are a few others out there produced in the last twenty years or so, but you get the idea. 

I wish there was more entertainment that provided a look into the lives of older women, not as appendages but as separate, independent individuals, even within the highly exaggerated faux world of scripted entertainment.   Older women may not have had a place in the public sphere as little as 100 years ago, but the reality is far different now.  I would like to know that I am not some sort of anomaly when I get older and still have a silly, humourous side that isn’t dependent on conversing with babies, no matter how cute those little munchkins are.

With that I leave you with the crowd pleasing lyrics to You Don’t Own Me, as sung by the female cast of The First Wives Club.  Feel free to sing along at the top of your lungs in the privacy of your home.  🙂  One of the most annoying lies about becoming an “adult” is that some how the fun is leeched from your personality, gradually hitting zero once the gray starts peppering your hair color.  Prove ’em wrong.

You don’t own me
I’m not juss one of your many toys
You don’t own me
Don’t say I can’t go with other boys
Don’t TELL ME WHAT TO DO
AND don’t TELL ME WHAT TO SAY
AND WHEN I GO OUT with YOU
Don’t PUT ME ON DISPLAY

You don’t own me
Don’t try to change me in any way
You don’t own me
Don’t drag me down ,
’cause ill never stay

I don’t tell you what to say
I don’t tell you what to do
SO JUST LET ME BE MYSELF
That’s all I ask from you

I’m young
And I love to be young
I’m free
And I love to free
To live my life the way I want
To say and do whatever I please
(Reapeat)

NO NO
You don’t own me
NO NO
You don’t own me
NO NO
You don’t own me

YOUNG N FREE
YOUNG N FREE
YOUNG N FREE

YOU don’t OWN ME

(REPEAT *4)

YOUNG N FREE
YOUNG N FREE
YOUNG N FREE
YOU don’t OWN ME!

Leave a Reply

