Make Up Forever Blush Powder in Matte Cinnamon (161)

1. Make Up Forever Blush Powder in Matte Cinnamon (161), 0.08 oz for $20.00

Make Up Forever was never really high on my radar as a go to brand until I stumbled upon their eyeshadow/blushes.  While I had sampled and swatched various products in Sephora quite often, I never really found anything that was a must buy  – that is until I tried their eyeshadow/blushes.  Now, like POKEMON cards – I MUST COLLECT THEM ALL!

So, how did I end up trying one of their blushes/eyeshadow?  I had decided that I really wanted to find neutral, or work appropriate eyeshadows that worked with my skintone.   There are so many “neutral” eyeshadows that really only work on certain skintones.  To be frank, many of the advertised “neutral” shades work best with cool, or pale yellow/beige skintones with light eyes and natural light, cool-toned hair.  Having repeatedly purchased “neutral” eyeshadows that didn’t do anything for me I was going to go through the painstaking process of going through the color rainbow to find everyday eyeshadows that work with my currently tan enhanced, light-medium yellow-olive skintone, medium brown eyes and black- reddish brown hair that didn’t look like blah dirt on me.

I started thinking of the color-wheel and all the types of colors and undertones.  I thought I should start out with the reddish-browns to act as a counter to my yellow-green skintone.  Why-not!? Also, I know what you are thinking! What the hell! Isn’t that the color of (pueblo) dirt?!  Yup. 

So, let’s discuss. 

Shade 161, which is described as Matte Cinnamon on Sephora’s website, is a truly matte, blendable, deeply pigmented shade, and it is reddish-brown.  For those who own Burberry’s “Light Glow” Natural Blush in Russet, Matte Cinnamon (161) is a richer, deeper reddish-brown tone compared to RussetRusset is the heavily bleached by the sun version of Matte Cinnamon (161), with sparse, tiny sparkle throughout.  You can compare on Beauty Look Book and Temptalia.   (For the record, I tried Burberry Blushes in Russet and Earthy and I can safely say I will not be buying any Burberry Blushes.  I do not like glitter anymore in my blushes and I didn’t care for the shades)  

Back to Matte Cinnamon (161). 

There  is absolutely no sparkle, glitter, iridescence, sheen to this formula – AND I LOVE IT!  I don’t know why it never occurred to me that maybe matte eyeshadows were the best finish for someone like me who has super oily skin.  I was very happy with the way the shade enhanced my rather smallish eyes, providing an enhanced, natural contrast – that did NOT look like dirt.  However, because it is very deeply pigmented, the heavier the coverage, the more “fashiony” the color appears on my eyes.  This is definitely in the red-rust shade range, but I have deep set eyes so it’s not really an issue.  I like to sheer it out immensely and add a touch more brown to tone down the color.   Also, brown eyeliner and light mascara is a must for a more natural, accentuated look.  However, using this shade as an eyeshadow means I have to be VERY careful with the blush tones I use.  Basically, NO REDDISH BROWN blush tones, whatsoever.  Otherwise, I look like a pueblo ghoul or feverish sick ghoul. * 

Speaking of not wearing reddish-brown blush with a reddish-brown eyeshadow because it will make me look feverish, this shade actually works EVEN BETTER as a BLUSH shade.  Granted, it is sold as a blush, but Make Up Forever blushes and eyeshadows can be used either way.

As a blush, Matte Cinnamon (161) looks like a lovely russet on my cheeks.  Totally believeable and natural when sheered out, or as a lovely rich sunburn with a heavier hand.  (What?) –  HEY! Sunburns can be hot given the right occasion and placement!  This rivals my Becca Mineral Blush in Sweet Pea, which has a creamier blendability.  You can check out that swatch here.

So, basically, I love Make Up Forever eyeshadows and blushes now.  It comes in a tiny, slim square with a magnetic lid, which I actually don’t mind.  It is not a lot of product for $20.00 but I am ok with it because it is SOOOO deeply pigmented and I like the fact that it doesn’t take that much space.  If you start trying Make Up Forever eyeshadows and blushes…you may not be able to stop.  You may need to buy a palette.  I am considering it.  Sadly, if I don’t SEE a product, I forget about it and it lays dormant in acrylic cases and drawers. 

*I actually DO LOOK better with mild FEVER eyes.  Since my eyes are so small and I don’t have much space for eyeshadow, whenever I get mild fevers, my eyes become more noticeable because of the color contrast around my eyes and the shadow it creates that subtley enhances them.  I just have to be careful with other shades on my face.

Ingredient: Talc, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, BHA.  May Contain: Kaolin, Nylon-6, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Polyglyceryl-3 Disostearate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Polybutene, Butyl Stearate, Red 27 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Red 7 Lake, Ultramarines, Iron Oxides, Carmine, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 30, Manganese Violet, Red 21 Lake, Yellow 10 Lake, Chromium Oxide Greens.

Leave a Reply

