Revlon PhotoReady Sculpting Blush Palettes

Becca’s Mineral Blushes got me back into powder blushes…I think I should not have been so easy, at least for drugstore powder blushes.  I should have known better.

1. Revlon PhotoReady Sculpting Blush Palettes in Rose, Neutral and Berry

I liked the idea of getting three different but complentary blush shades made to contour and sculpt the cheek area.  Revlon PhotoReady Sculpting Blush Palettes  would have been a great if they had enough pigment to show significant color.  I originally picked up the blush palette in Rose.  When I used it I could barely see the color on me and I had to dig deep.  I thought that maybe it was a shade best meant for the very pale with minimal undertone contrast.  So, I picked up the Berry and Neutral blush palettes because they looked like darker shades that would work better with my undertones.    These two shades were a bit more noticeable on my skin than the Rose, but it was still a VERY sheer, bare color effect.  I had to dig my brush in there to get color.  There is just too much transparent filler in this for someone who is darker than Fair to Light.

However, this is a great blush for someone who is just venturing into cosmetics, or hates wearing cosmetics and just wants a hint of color.  Also, if you are going to work in an office and if you have a tendency to look a little clownish – YO – I know that I can be very aggressive with the blush- well this sucker will not look clownish NO MATTER WHAT.  It is built in self control for a blusher addict. 

Now the most pigmented shade is the darkest shade, followed by the midtone shade.  The lightest is basically a highlighter you can pop on the very top edges of your cheeks, above your eyebrow bone, or even below the brow bone.  There is no way you will EVER look like a disco ball with this.  It is just too freakin’ light.  So, it is a conservative gal’s dream, who may resent HAVING to wear cosmetic to appear more professional, but wears it just for a hint of color. 

The swatches below show how faint the color is.  I had to dig deep with my fingers to get ANY color to show on my inner arm, which by the way is lighter than my facial skin.  I also had to use flash to show the color.  Natural light just made it even lighter.

Here are the swatches.

Basically, if you are a makeup connoisseur – leave these behind.  Do not pick up at all! Unless, you are the shade of WHITE PAPER and you want a conservative, sheer look.  Then, knock yourself out with these blushes.  If you are much darker than the shade of white paper – DO NOT PICK UP.  However, the medium-toned can swing Berry for a light flush of almost there color.

If you are venturing into cosmetics, and are a little intimidated of appearing “fake” or “jezebelish,” then by ALL MEANS, this is your blush.  You will never be taken for a mannequin, or harlot, in this.   If you would like to be confused for a harlot or a clown, I am not too particular as to the distinction – Ha! It’s a joke! – then, you should DEFINITELY stay away from these.  This is almost a sunk cost for me.  Berry has enough pigmentation and undertone contrast for me to use on those bare effect, bright lipstick days.  The others are for my pre-k niece, who LOVES makeup and has been dying to get into my stash to play with.

Update: After spending some time with my niece and giving her the blushes to play with she gave them back to me and said “they are not working.”  She said she did “not want them. ” On the flipside, when I went to see the damage to my face (Yes, I allow her to draw on my face with my ‘do not repurchase’ cosmetics), I did not resemble Baby Jane or a Jackson Pollack.  I was, however, impressed with the Berry shade because I did look like I had a fresh natural blush to my cheeks, forehead, chin, nose…of course, my niece was digging in with her brush, so it required A LOT of product.

When an almost 4 year old girl gives back a cosmetic because “it doesn’t work,” and loses interest in it, well, that’s when you go back and reformulate the sucker to have more pigment.  Are the pigment dyes really that much more expensive than the silica? Really, Revlon?

4 comments

  1. Eek–I’m sorry that you had to spent $13…3 times for these. 😛 You’re right though–they seem great for makeup noobs and younger girls who want to “feel” grownup and wearing makeup but don’t look ridiculous or like they’re playing dress-up.

    • I. Should. Have. Known. Better. I could have bought ONE really awesome blush with what I spent. Oh well. Blah.

  2. For some reason, Revlon’s eye and cheek products bever appealed to me and after your post I think I haven’t missed anything out. You should have bought one palette first 😛 I agree, you could have one amazing blush instead *spanks* 😛

    • I like Revlon’s nail polishes, foundations, and lipsticks – but this powder blush was pretty weak. I am a dum dum because I actually purchased the Pink Rose a few months ago, and then saw the Neutral and Berry recently. I figured I just got a bad shade. NOPE. It’s a formulation issue, not a shade one. Way too sheer. I am wondering how Gucci Westman would even use these? I know she did a fashion editorial recently using these – but I don’t know how she would have shown any color. Maybe the models were casper-toned? I don’t remember.


Leave a Reply

