The Balms the Bomb!

I love balms.  My skin loves balms.  My pores loves balms.  Balms can be soothing, moisturizing, deeply penetrating, restorative, purifying, and silkening.  Now to my stash.

1. Badger Organic Damascus Rose Beauty Balm, 1.0 oz for $14.00

This is a VERY moisturizing beauty balm with a base of olive oil, caster oil, and beeswax and essential oils of lavender, rose damascus, and chamomile.  This deeply penetrates the skin and only a little is needed if you need moisture.  However, I use a little bit more to coat my face if my skin is feeling particularily raw.  I use this the least because it is so concentrated, and because it is better suited to the drier, winter months.  I do not use this during the summer or spring.

Ingredients: *Olea europaea (extra virgin olive) oil, *ricinus communis (castor) oil, *cera alba (beeswax), essential oils of *lavandula angustifolia (lavender), *rosa damascena (rose otto), and *anthemis nobilis (Roman chamomile), and CO2 extracts of *rosa canina (rosehip), *hippophae rhamnoides (seabuckthorn), and *calendula officinalis (calendula). *=Certified Organic

2. Darphin Organic Aromatic Purifying Balm, 0.5 oz for $70.00

I was hoping to see if this was a more luxe, purifying version of the Decleor Aroma Night Ylang Ylang Purifying Night Balm.  Unfortunately, it did not seem to have the same purifying effect on my skin, but it did have a conditioning effect.  The texture, however, was incredibly buttery smooth.  This was not enough to save the balm, though.  I would not repurchase this again as I found the Decleor version more economical and effective for clarifying my pores.

Ingredients: Base of Apricot oil, sunflower oil, hydrogenated vegetable oil, beeswax, nutmeg oil, trea tree oil, sage oil, thyme oil, grapefruit peel oil, rosewood oil, lavender oil, chamomile oil, other preservatives (incomplete)

3. Egyptian Magic All Purpose Skin Cream, 4.0 oz for SRP

This is an awesome product.  Scoop it out and put mild pressure on it and it immediately liquifies into a viscose liquified cream.  I use this when I need to soothe dry, irritated, burning skin, or skin that feels raw from Tazorac or Retin-A.  It is deeply moisturizing, soothing, purifying, restorative and conditioning.  I only use it for a few hours at a time, as I use alot of it to create an almost greasy film on my skin, which I eventually wash off with a glycolic acid/salicylic acid cleanser. 

Ingredients: Olive oil (olea europaea oil), beeswax, honey, pollen, royal jelly and propolis extract

4. Decleor Aroma Night Ylang Ylang Night Balm, 1.0 oz for $73.00

I previously reviewed this product hereI will note the texture of this product can be a little uneven compared to the smooth butteriness of the Darphin Organic Aromatic Purifying Night Balm.  There is nothing wrong with that as it still melts and sinks into your skin.  I think this may have to do with the fact that I have had this balm for several years, because it did not start out like that when I first used it.  Once I finish this balm, I will be able to check the texture of a brand new balm and compare.

5. Decleor Aroma Night Rose D’Orient Soothing Night Balm, 1.0 for $73.00

I previously reviewed this product hereExtensively reviewed in my prior post.  This stuff is awesome.

6. Decleor Aromaessence Essential Night Balm, Discontinued

I previously reviewed this product hereThis has been discontinued.  However, the ingredients do not deviate greatly from the other balms. 

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Egyptian Magic and my Decleor balms.  For a budget buy, Badger is great, too.  Darphin is great for those who want a luxury skin balm who don’t need much beyond conditioning of skin.

7 comments

    • Your skins amazing – no visible pores or wrinkles, mostly normal with a bit of dryness in the t-zone area? Great skin elasticity? Is your skin on the rough or smooth side?

  1. Ok that’s it: I REALLY need to get my hands on some Egyptian Magic. I use my Aquaphor religiously (undereyes if they’re especially dry and eye cream alone won’t cut it), lips, cuticles, and even burns (it worked WONDERS on the burns I got on my face from a recent car accident), but it DOES contain petrolatum and mineral oil. I’m obviously not against using products that contain such ingredients, but I would prefer not to when possible. And I like that the Egyptian Magic contains honey–I LOVE using honey on my face!

    • Glad to hear you were fine after a car accident – thats scary! Propolis-honey is a great ingredient known to be protective, restorative, decongestive, antibacterial, and anti-inflammatory. Propolis is great for sensitive skin, too. Hope to see a post on your experience with the stuff in the future!

  2. Pingback: A-Bombs Away! « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

