Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Synchronized Complex

I have never really had a problem with my undereye eye.  I don’t suffer from under eye circles, or extreme dryness, or wrinkles.  Not even puffy eyes.  Except for that one night I woke up with my undereye area completely swollen, like there were pillows stuffed under there.  I freaked out.  I was like, OMG – OLD AGE IS HERE. IT’S HERE!!! SWEET BABY JEEBUS, am I going to have to start hunting for eye-depuffers now, too, along with my hormonal acne?!  I don’t know why I woke up looking like that but it freaked me out and I think that’s when I started contemplating getting serious about researching heavy duty under eye treatments.  Thinking about it….not actually doing anything about it.  The puffed eyes did eventually go away later that day. 

But under eye treatments are important (aside from wearing sunglasses, reading eyeglasses – if you need them – and SPF) as you get older, because the under eye shows the first real sign of aging. 

1. Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Synchronized Complex, 0.5 oz for $52.00

I started using Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Synchronized Complex a few years after graduating college.  I loved the little brown bottle that reminded me of old world apothecary stores and chemists.  But what I really enjoyed was the soft, silky gel-cream that felt so wonderfully soothing, moisturizing, and left a long lasting silky feeling to my orbital area.  I went through several bottles of this stuff before I got lazy and stopped repurchasing it for a while because I started trying other brands.  But I came back, and none of those other brands got repurchased, except for La Roche Posay’s Active C Eyes cream.  I am back on Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Eye Synchronized Complex and I haven’t really found anything else that has the long lasting cosmetic, moisturizing, and soothing feel of this product on my orbital area.

But I should try to talk about what this product does per the brand literature and compare to my experience.  This gel-serum is supposed to reduce the first signs of aging in the under eye area while locking in moisture, preventing oxidating/environmental damage, soothing irritated skin, slowing the signs of aging (wrinkles, puffiness, uneven tone, dehydration, raccoon eyes, lines), while repairing previous damage to skin cells.   I will reiterate that I do not suffer from wrinkes, uneven tone, or circles, but that part of my face is kind of dehydrated (compared to the rest of my oil-slick producing face), and I do note a few fine lines.  Well, I love the silky gel-serum texture of this on my eyelids and undereye area.  I use it at night and during the day.  It is moisturizing, and it doesn’t run to other parts of my face, or get in my eye.  It is also soothing.  I, sometimes, used too strong Rx retinoids under my eye (Don’t Do This*) and it totally chapped them up, and I had to use this stuff to soothe and soften the aggressively peeled skin underneath my eyes.  It worked.  Totally comfortable.  I, also, have used this on severely dried parts of my face as an ointment.  Yup, it worked.

I will continue to use this because I haven’t found anything better, AND I don’t really have a serious issue with undereye area, yet.  Plus, I really do love their bottle.  I should also note that this is basically the under eye treatment version of their facial gel-serum Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex, which I have tried and truly is unnecessary on my face, and not worth it unless you are not using retinoids, and you have dry-sensitive skin. 

As far as other under eye creams I have used – an honorable mention goes to Clinique All About Eyes, and the Moisture Rich version, which I purchased repeatedly until I started using Estee Lauder’s Advanced Night Repair Eye Synchronized Complex.  If you are under the age of 30 and don’t have real undereye issues, but do want something moisturizing, then you should totally pick this up.  It is not that expensive and it is a great starter eye gel-cream.  There is no point for me to get it now because I do need something that is more treatment, but for younger folks, it is worth a try.  Also, La Roche Posay Active C Eyes is great because it has 5% L-ascorbic acid and it is not irritating, and can double as a face cream when you forget to bring one to the gym.  🙂 

*As far as using prescription strength retinoids on your eye area.  I have found that my under eye area can tolerate Differin well without the massive flaking and painful drying and shedding of skin, I was hit with using Retin-A.  OUCH!!!  I never intentionally used Retin-A on my under eye area, but I do slap that stuff all over my face and it did end up there.  I have learned NOT to do that.  However, noticing the shedding affect on my skin, I did decide that I could use Differin on my under eye area with no issue and I do intentionally put Differin there now

6 comments

  1. I agree about the serum–I think it feels nice and it has a lot of great ingredients in it, but I didn’t see any visible results on my skin. I think it’s because I’ve been using Retin-A and Epiduo for a while now. But it’s a nice option and I just might repurchase it just to have a nice serum to use on the off nights that I don’t feel like using Retin-A or Epiduo. I haven’t tried the eye cream but it sounds lovely and I kinda want to try it now!

    • Yup. MANY anti-aging serums that focus on fine lines and want not are kind of useless if you are on a Rx retinoid.

  2. I am jealous, no wrinkles and circles? *sigh*. I have to say, till now non of EL products did something for me, it seems like my skin is not liking their skincare at all. I agree on the LRP C cream, I sometimes use it as a base for other eye creams (on its own it is definetly too drying for me). The best eye cream I tried was Sisleya and Shiseido Future Solution, although Shiseido’s Benefiance WRinkle Resist worked really well for me. As for serums I like Caudalie vinexpert.

    • Ha – I just picked up Shiseido’s Benefiance Wrinkle resist toner, along with the white lucent – going to compare. Peeling skin has me going through my softening lotions. Have you thought of using a retinol based under eye cream – or would that be too irritating?

      • I think that would be too irritating for me right now. I can’t imagine using it in winter, my skin is so dry 😦 The benefiance toner broke me out for some reason but I really like their white lucent cleansing cream and serum (a bit drying as well but I can get along with it, the result I get from this line is pretty good).

  3. Pingback: R.I.P. Muji Nylon Makeup Bag or How Someone Became Extra Grimey « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

