By Terry Blush Veloute in Ginger Glaze + Rose De Rose Sheer Liquid Blush in Amber Rose

I have been preferring warm-tawny blush and highlighter shades over cooler and neutral tone ones.  These shades work better with my current yellow-green, platano-like color.  So, I have been snapping tawny shades whenever I see a distinct permutation that I don’t have.

1. By Terry Blush Veloute -Velvet Cream Bush in Ginger Glaze, $46.00

This shade is a no-brainer.  Ginger Glaze is a peachy-tawny shade that looks great in any season because it’s like bringing your own personal summer sun wherever you go.  I love this shade and it is up there with Becca’s Mineral Powder Blush in Wild Honey as one of my favorites. 

Application wise, this feels like velvet.  By Terry has gone out of the way to make sure that the textures of their cosmetic line feels as luxurious as their price tags.   I don’t think I have ever touched a cream blush that feels like velvet in the pot and on the skin, as you swipe it with your fingers.  This is due to it’s hybrid cream-powder formuation.  This product is a mix of both waxes and super micronized powders that allow the color to glide on, provide a matte look, while softly moisturizing the skin providing long term wear. 

Brand literature for this product mentions that this product can be used to sculpt the cheeks and soften the skin.  The shade is not sheer, and not necessarily very opaque.  There is good color coverage with this, but I do not suggest using it heavily, lest you look like a Miami Baby Jane. 

The other two shades in the line emphasize the neutral skintone effect with a sunkissed effect that I have been going for, for other skintones: Apple Glow and Peach Nude.  The only other shade that interests me is Peach Nude, but I will wait it awhile before I pick it up.  It is a tiny pot for a rather large price tag.

Ingredients: ISONONYL ISONONANOATE TALC SILICA CETEARYL ETHYLHEXANOATE POLYETHYLENE OCTYLDODECANOL BIS-DIGLYCERYL POLYACYLADIPATE-2 CERA ALBA/BEESWAX HYDROGENATED CASTOR OIL CERA MICROCRISTALLINA/MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX LAURYL PCA PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, ALPHA-ISOMETHYL IONONE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, CITRONELLOL, COUMARIN, EUGENOL, GERANIOL, HEXYL CINNAMAL, HYDROXYCITRONELLAL, HYDROXYISOHEXYL 3-CYCLOHEXENE CARBOXALDEHYDE, LIMONENE, LINALOOL PRUNUS CERASUS (BITTER CHERRY) SEED OIL PRUNUS DOMESTICA SEED EXTRACT RUBUS IDAEUS (RASPBERRY) SEED OIL BHT MICA CI 15850/RED 7 LAKE CI 17200/ACID RED 33 CI 19140/YELLOW 5 CI 75470/CARMINE CI 77491/IRON OXIDES CI 77492/IRON OXIDES CI 77499/IRON OXIDES CI 77891/TITANIUM DIOXIDE

2. By Terry Rose De Rose Sheer Liquid Blush in Amber Rose, $58.00

You know they call this a blush, but truly I purchased it as a highlight…which I will then use as a blush…heehee.  Felt like adding that.  Amber Rose was the only shade I was interested in and it is exactly has the name describes – amber rose, a muted shimmery rose shade with tons of amber, copper micropigments.  I used flash for the swatch below so the amber is coming through more than the rose element, but they are both there.  I will update with another pic when I have a chance. 

It is a unique, gorgeous shade that looks great on medium to darker skintones.  You can sheer it out on your upper cheekbones, while adding another complementary cream blush into the mix to pick up the super sheer microshimmer that is completely refined and not trashy, or tacky.  However, you can also layer it to get more color impact without looking cakey, or runny.  Just pat, pat, pat and blend out a little.   This is a lot product, and since I don’t require alot, I expect this bottle to last me YEARS!  Hopefully, this sucker won’t expire for a while.

Brand literature says this can be swiped across the eyelids for that glossy look that runway shows seem to prefer.  I imagine this is far easier to apply, and more comfortable to use on the skin, then vaseline mixed with loose powder.  I have not tried this look, but will update when I do.  It also mentions that this product contains rose extracts, like so many other By Terry products.  Specifically, “ROSAMINE, a natural carmine pigment derived from Rose petals, combines with matte and translucent micro-reflectors to enhance curved areas with a fresh and natural rosy sheen.  [Also, the] ROSALISS complex, bursting with White, Black and Pastel Rose extracts and pulverized perfecting prisms, smoothes the relief and illuminates the complexion with luscious radiance.”

Update: Just saw on BritishBeautyBlogger that By Terry will release a small holiday collection containing Or de Rose Blush Prestige, which is described as a amber-nude shade.  I wonder how close it is to the Amber Rose I have. 

By Terry, based on my limited stash, has been a wonderful experience in luxurious cosmetics.  Touch, scent, and sight – it is the best cosmetic brand I have dabbled in. It is also one of the most expensive ones for me.  Purchasing from this line will never be accidental for me, or on a whim, but very targeted to get the most bang for my buck based on products that I know I will use frequently.

Having said that – I am quite curious with their skincare line, their colored mascara line – specifically, burgandy (I love colored mascara!), and their Baume De Rose, which I got a sample of…and damnit, it REALLY IS THAT GOOD for people who have perpetual dry, chapped lips.

I do not know how long I can resist the Baume De Rose…so, surely it will end up on this blog.  🙂

2 comments

  1. By Terry Rose de Rose products are phenomenal, I don’t mnd the shimmer there as well. How funny, Amber Rose is the one I ‘gifted’ to a friend, I liked the other two better D: Baume de Rose feels so luxury, it is not a miracle (of course, would be great, I bet it has to be made out of unicorn pee or something) but I still really like it. BTW, I love the way you write, I wish my english were better, so I could play a bit more with words, haha.

    • Engish not your first language? Well, could have fooled me! Amber Rose was the only shade I liked in this product. Everything else was very cool, or fruit-toned for my current tastes 🙂 Not a big lip balm person, but since my prior experience is from avene, fresh, and drugstore finds – Baume De Rose – felt like manna because of how it sunk in and didn’t just superficially coat. The effect eventually disappeared, but I was super surprised.


Leave a Reply

