October Morning Skincare Routine

I am still learning my way around treatment of adult hormonal acne.  Basically, Differin and Retin-A are kind of ineffectual because it doesn’t treat the root of the problem very wel,l and it doesn’t remove the problem very fast either.   It just exfoliates my skin at fast levels on a “granular” level.  It leaves my skin “dusty.”  Tazorac, on the otherhand, has been a good friend to me.  It is a super fast skin slougher that seems to exfoliate far more evenly on my skin than Retin-A.  Honestly, after a few days of use I have a super thin film of skin I can peel off.   I like Tazorac because it super speeds the removal of acne AND hyperpigmentation marks at the SAME TIME, but it is actually less irritating on my skin than Retin-A, while being far more aggressive in peeling my skin cells in large sheets of skin.  But it is incredibly ITCHY and remains so until you “forget” about it.  But Tazorac is hardcore and it means I have to significantly alter the rest of the skincare, sunscreen AND makeup products I use.  Everything else has to be gentler, less irritating, and super hydrating and protective without clogging my pores.  Truthfully, my skin is so raw that I need to rely on mostly natural products, or products meant for sensitive, dry skin.

Since late september, I have been using the following skincare routine for my mornings:

At night I use Tazorac all over the face where I have breakouts.  In the morning, I wash my face with L’Oreal Youth Code Regenerating Skincare Foaming Gel Cleanser (which on my normal untreated skin, I thought was not deep cleansing enough, and left my skin a little too moisturized, but on my Tazorac’d skin is perfect and non-irritating, while mildly exfoliative).  I need to use Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Balancing Softener Enriched to gently remove the excess skin residue left by the Tazorac.  I then shellac(!) my skin with Decleor Aromessence Rose D’Orient Soothing Serum really heavily.  Basically, crisco.  Dudes, I have stripped a rather thick layer of my skin.  Anything else will burn!  I add an additional protective layer of Yes to Carrots Repairing Night Cream (which I will NOT be repurchasing and will be swapping in NIA 24 Skin Strenghtening Complex, when it is finished). I, then, use Josie Maran Daily Moisturizer SPF 40, which I only use in the fall/winter because it is a nice, soothing moisturizing base that is unsuitable for me in the summer.  For extra protection, I may use a second sunscreen layer with Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Cream For Face SPF 55 PA+++, which is long wearing and has super high zinc oxide that will not budge, but is not the best directly on raw skin, and it can be a bit drying.

1. Tazorac

2. L’Oreal Youth Code Regenerating Skincare Foaming Gel Cleanser, 8.0 oz for SRP

3. Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Balancing Softener Enriched, 5.0 oz for $48.00

4. Decleor Aromessence Rose D’Orient Soothing Serum, 0.5 oz for $68.00

5. Yes to Carrots Repairing Night Cream, 1.7 oz for SRP

6. Josie Maran Daily Moisturizer SPF 40, 2.0 oz for $32.00

7. Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Cream For Face SPF 55 PA+++, 2.0 oz for $35.00 (Not Pictured)

As far as the foundation I am using that does not burn my truly sensitive, raw skin, I have rotated in Origins Plantscription SPF 15 Anti-Aging Foundation because it is actually great on sensitive, reactive skin!  It does not burn, or irritate, my skin like some of my other foundations when my skin is super raw.  The only issue is that my Shiseido mineral sunscreens make it paler, so I have to gently pat it on section by section, or if I don’t have time, I will slap it on and add Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheer in Golden Beige to the mix.  If the mineral sunscreen is still interfering with my foundation – which it sometimes does if I used ALOT – call me crazy, I do actually pat on a teeny bit of ANOTHER FOUNDATION – Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup, which works AMAZINGLY well on top of other foundations and creates this hybrid velvet, skinlike finish – NO MATTER WHAT.

Why am I going through the trouble of using two foundations?  Look, I just do not trust chemical sunscreens with TAZORAC.  I am exposing raw, fresh skin to the elements.  I trust the thickest, whitest zinc oxide sunscreens over all other sunscreens and this stuff is difficult to use if you are not the shade of paper, especially if you are adding a darker foundation on top, which will inevitably blend in.  While slowly patting on foundation is a better bet to prevent this, sometimes, I don’t have the patience and, amazingly, slapping on another foundation is faster and more foolproof.  Not just any foundation, though.  The texture of the foundation has to be incredibly thin, or weightless, so that it does NOT LOOK CLUMPY or THICK.  Remember, I have a lot of layers of product beneath it.  Urban Decay’s Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup leaves an incredible skinlike finish, setting like a color opaque, eggshell-thin membrane, over the foundation beneath.  Why not use Urban Decay’s foundation in the first place?  The mineral sunscreen interferes with ANY first layer of foundation I add, mixing with it, and the demi-matte finish is NOT appropriate for raw skin. 

Well, that’s my morning skincare routine.  If it switches up significantly, I will post another routine.

🙂

3 comments

  1. I really like Shiseido skincare, way back my skin was too sensitive too use it on a daily basis though. I sometimes use the white l. cleanser and really like it. have you seen any improvement on your hyperpigmentation while using this toner? I am waiting for mine to arrive and this will be the first time I am going to try this product. I am addicted to sunscreen, never go without, even in winter I use spf 50+, my skin problems also are better since I use ss. I always wanted to try the JM argan moisturizer actually, spf 40 is a huge plus and argan oil is gold for (my ) skin. Since my skin is dry, I can slap on all the products and I am still ‘shine free’, even with thick layer of ss and foundation.

    • I don’t think I have ever seen fading of spots with the toner alone. To be fair, though, I never looked out for it since my main focus for the toner was to remove dead skin cells, which are quite visible after a peel. If you havedry skin then this will feel quite nice. Overall, my spots have faded tremendously but it is largely because of Tazorac and the C serums I have been using. In general, I like Shiseido products, most curious about their Future Solutions LX but I am holding off since it is so pricey. I am curious to see what you think of the toner so can’t wait for your review.

      • I find the cleanser works really well for my spots (no miracle, it just supports the other products I have for my spots. vit c serums are wonderful, an allrounder. I have some samples from their FS LX line, only tried the eye cream as for now and I really liked it. it is super pricey though.


Leave a Reply

