Red Lip Collection: The Swatches

Classic red lips are forever.  Sophisticated, confident and simple.  But not all classic red lips are right for everyone.  Even with a “classic” red lip you need to find the right undertone match.  But beyond that, your skin has to be flawless and you will want to have to standout.  Consequently, classic red lips are not my forte.  My skin, or something else is almost always off, and I am NOT calling attention to it.  Also, something about a classic red is more intimidating than a bright fuchsia, rosy-pink, or orangey-red lip, to me.  Maybe, it’s the “classic” thing.  I am not “classic.”  Off-kilter? kitschy? Sporty? Nerdy? Hammy? Spacey? A little Cybil? Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. And, maybe?  🙂

1. Chanel Rouge Allure Velvet Luminous Matte Lip Colour in La Somptueuse (#39), $32.50

This is one of the two Chanel lipsticks that called to me.  Ultimately, this was by far the most flattering in all types of light.  Obviously, it wears beautifully on the lips.  It is a gorgeous color.  It is a “classic” deepish red.  A safer red to me than the bright blue-reds commonly featured like Nars Jungle Red, which was awful on me.  La Somptueuse reminds me of NARS Fire Down Below.  I used to own it before I decided to chuck it in the garbage because I thought the texture was too dry…but it may have been how NARS lipsticks run…this was before I picked up Heatwave and loved the dry texture because it meant it would not shift.  Too bad.  I feel like a dumb dumb.

2. MAC Cosmetics Lipstick  in Russian Red, $15.00

MAC Russian Red is one of those reds in MAC’s collection that gets press everywhere for being so universally flattering.  I think Ruby Woo gets more press, but I really dislike Ruby Woo as it is a true blue-based red that I cannot wear.  Russian Red is a neutral mid-tone red that leans a little blue on me.  It is a matte texture that stays on the lips once applied.  I have only worn this shade in the winter at night.  The safety of darkness I suppose.

3. Cover Girl Lip Perfection Lipstick in Hot Passion, SRP

This is the brightest red I own.  Super color saturated, creamy and staining, as many Cover Girl Lip Perfection lipsticks are.  Frankly, I have become a little afraid of Cover Girl’s Lip Perfection because of the staining aspect.  It is one thing to stain, but this also kind of shifts a bit.  This is why I prefer matte to all other textures.  I have fuller lips with an overbite due to a large set of front teeth ala Georgia May Jagger/Lara Stone (even had the large gap front bugs bunny teeth, before I got braces and corrected the gap.  I love my teeth now, I hated them as a kid).  These factors make it likely for my lipstick to shift because my front teeth can sometimes scrape my bottom lip, so I am super anal about checking to make sure nothing migrates. 

Here are the swatches:

Notice how the reds go from deep to bright in three?  🙂

I am not a huge red lippy person so I doubt my red lip collection will grow like my orangey-reds or rosy-pinks, but it’s always good to have a classic red lip.  You just never know when you may need one.

Leave a Reply

