Vitamin C Serum: Ole Henriksen’s The Naked Truth Kit

I love, love, love trial kits because it allows you to try a product without sinking a lot of money in it before knowing it actually works.  I wish more brands did this.  I have been curious about Ole Henriksen’s Truth Serum Collagen Booster and the Truth Creme Advanced Hydration, which is a brightening moisturizer, for a while but never actually got around to purchasing it.  So when I saw this neat mini set of both products, I swooped down and picked it up. 

1. Ole Henriksen The Naked Truth Kit containing Truth Serum Collagen Booster (0.5 oz) and Truth Creme Advanced Hydration (0.25 oz) for $22.50

The Truth Collagen Booster serum has a moisturizing base, which is not surprising considering the ingredient list. Frankly, when I want to try something new, I tend not to wait for the most appropriate season to do so.  I am all about diving in.  Plus, my skin has been kind of dry from the retinoids and benzoyl peroxide.  So, I was not afraid of the moisture.  However, I think I need to be for vitamin c serums.  Even when my skin is dry, and, really, we are speaking of superficial dryness caused by retinoids irritating my skin, my skin is still actually very oily within its pores.  I think it makes it MORE difficult for moisturizing vitamin c serums to penetrate my skin.  Also, if you look at the ingredient list there are two L-ascorbic acid derivatives, but they are not the strongest.  Also, I cannot seem to find out exactly how much vitamin c is in here.  Is it 5%, 10%, 15%?  I suspect it is on the low side. This product has a ton of really positive reviews from people who used it for far longer than I did, and I suspect it would have a subtle brightening and firming effect on my skin, over a long time.  But I am into fast and very noticeable results.  This is not the vitamin c serum for you, if you are looking for the same. 

This did not irritate my skin and if you have dry, sensitive skin, and have never used a vitamin c serum, then this would be a great addition to your skincare routine.  If you do go through this bottle and wonder if you can handle something stronger then I suggest upgrading to the stronger EmerginC 20 C Serum, which is more powerful but still has a moisturizing base.  One more thing to note is that it has a slightly off orange scent, similar to Garnier Nutritioniste Skin Renew Clinical Dark Spot Corrector, which is more medicinal than Ole Henriksen’s version.  This is not a repurchase for my oily, acne-prone, somewhat resistant skin.

Ingredients: Water, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Calcium Ascorbate, Sorbitol, Glycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Euphrasis Offinalis Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Oleth-20, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Benzophenone-4, Sodium Hyaluronate, Thioctic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Citric Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Fragrance, Yellow 6 (CI 15985).

The Truth Creme Advanced Hydration, however, is not exactly off the repurchase list, but it isn’t exactly a lock on it either.  I do think I need a larger verson of this product to really get the full benefit.  I like the ingredient list.  The creme feels smooth, soft, and hydrating without being irritating, or drying.  However, I do feel stronger actives in this cream than the serum.  There is a slight tingling on my sensitized skin when not used with the Truth Collagen Booster.  The serum’s  glycerin-rich base conceals the tingly-ness of this cream.   I would need to purchase a full size jar to see full long term effect.  However, I was very impressed with what I saw for the brief time I used it.

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Squalane, Triheptanoin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Candelilla/Jojoba/Rice Bran Polyglyceryl-3 Esters, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Ceramide 2, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Hydrolyzed Viola Tricolor Extract, Calcium Ascorbate, Rosa Canina Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Saccharum Officinarium (Sugar Cane) Extract, Acer Saccharinum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract , Soybean Sterols, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Bisabolol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Trehalose, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Extract, Sorbitol, Xanthan Gum, Potato Starch Modified, Sodium Phytate, Potassium Sorbate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance.

I think trial sets are great purchases, but the downside is that you may not get enough product to really see how effective a product is, especially long term.   A product doesn’t have to be aggressive for me to note a positive effect, but it needs to have a NOTICEABLE effect within a few weeks, even if it is not necessarily the FULL effect.  I reserve this higher bar for TREATMENT products, not necessarily preventative ones.  I expect more faster because I have gotten results like this from other products, so why would I downgrade? 

So far, the best vitamin c serum I have used has been the Obagi Professional C Serum at 20%, which I have repurchased and I am currently using.  I will report back if I have the same results on my older, oilier, hormonally acne challenged, but superficially drier skin.  And let me tell you, my hormonal chin/jaw acne and combo stress/hormonal cheek acne has mostly subsided, but I have got a TON of brown spots all over the left cheek (my right went almost untouched).  It has NEVER been this BAD before!  Insane!  I think the high humidity made it so much worse.  Regardless, Obagi is going to get tested on the worst, most post-spotted skin I have ever had.  Makes me so angry, I want to kick the air and flail my arms around, while loudly cursing gibberish in the air…then I remember anger does horrible, horrible things to my skin…

OM

P.S. – Expect more promotional pushes for this product at Sephora since Sephora now owns the brand.

Leave a Reply

