BECCA Cosmetics Mineral Blushes

I first fell in love with Becca Cosmetics because of the extensive shade range they have for foundations and concealers.  This is amazing.  It is very unusual for any cosmetic line to start out with the breadth of shades that they did from the palest to the darkest.  But for a INTERNATIONAL brand to do so – is just WOW!  Becca Cosmetics has one of the BEST beauty advertisments, in my opinion, in the beauty business.  They are always so atmospheric, ethereal, but also earthy, too.  Everything they put out, I want to buy, even though, it may not look the same on me.  Thankfully, I have shown restraint.  Otherwise, I would own everything.

I first purchased the Luminous Skin Colour Ultra Sheer FoundationThen, I went on to the blushes.  I got a Cream Blush in Turkish Rose and a Beach Tint in Grapefruit, which I did not know how to use, and then chucked…dumb, I know.  But I figured it out and picked up a Beach Tint in Fig, and repurchased GrapefruitEventually, I picked up BECCA Cosmetics Mineral Blushes

1. BECCA Cosmetics Mineral Powder Blush in Sweet Pea and Wild Honey, 0.2 oz for $32.00

So, these are incredibly smooth and kind of creamy for a powder.  It is very finely milled.  This is by far the best powdery blush I have ever purchased, texture wise.  Aside from my NARS Orgasm Blush, which I chucked half used because the container got gross, I have never paid much for a powder blush because (I used to think) good powder blushes could be gotten at inexpensive prices (MAC prices are fairly inexpensive).  Plus, ALL powder blushes get EATEN by my cheeks.  So, why am I going to spend a lot of money on a powder blush that will disappear on my cheeks no matter how luminous the finish and creamy feeling.  I prefer to spend more money on cream blushes because there is a noticeable difference between cheap cream blushes and expensive cream blushes that is obvious on my skin. 

However, I can see the error of my ways…at least now.  I don’t know what the hell mass retailer beauty companies are doing with their powder blush formulations but there is definitely less pigment floating around and more filler now (Maybelline Expertwear Blush, L’Oreal Limited Edition Project Runway Blush, Revlon PhotoReady Sculpting Blush Palettes).  Or, if there is more pigment, then the granules are bigger and rougher, and depositing way too much sloppy color (N.Y.C Color Wheel Mosaic Face Powder).

Now, this current dissatisfaction may be as a result of changing skin needs.  My skin is externally rougher but oilier in the pores, than when I was younger.   Despite my skin being externally drier now, but still oily.  STRANGE.  I think it’s called getting old.  OHNOOOOOOOS!!!

I really did love my drugstore blushes for a very long time.  And my go tos were all from Cover Girl: Cheekers Blush, Classic Color Powder Blush, and Instant Cheekbones Contouring Blush.  I can’t comment on these now since its been a while since I used them.  The point being that I have noticed that drugstore blushes just aren’t as pigmented and require tons of reapplication to get visible color on my cheeks, instead of a faint wash that disappears after about tw0 hours.

I picked up two shades of BECCA Cosmetics Mineral Blushes: Sweet Pea and Wild Honey.  They are rather unimpressive in the pan.  These are both described as nude shades.   Sweet Pea is described as a rosy plum-nude, while Wild Honey is described as a peachy nude. Sweet Pea has a distinct reddish-brown tone to it while Wild Honey reads like a  peachy-tan shade.  Wild Honey can be used like a bronzer shade for light skintones (even as a contour), while Sweet Pea can be used as a bronzer on darker, red or brown undertoned ladies; or for some bare windchapped cheeks for the lighter ladies. 

Wild Honey is not as visible on my tanned face as Sweet Pea.  (The inside of my arm, which isn’t exposed to the sun as often, is several shades lighter than my face.)  It is more of a subtle sun-kissed glow – I like it.  Sweet Pea looks like a mild sunburn, or windburn, in the winter.  Both are incredibly muted, adobe clay-like colors that read very natural on the cheeks.  This is an understated windswept, or sunburnt, look.  Think – Michael Kors runway shows (F/W 2010-11, S/S 2012, and I am sure there are more – that dude loves his BRONZER!).  Less Aspen, more pueblo-lite.  Michael Kors, almost always sends his models down with some exaggerated in-the-middle of the desert tans, or on a ski-lift getting windburned cheeks.  Think of BECCA Cosmetics Mineral Blush in Sweet Pea and Wild Honey as the much more natural version.

Need a visual?

Here are the beauty shots for Michael Kor’s Fall/Winter 2010 Collection.

Here are the beauty shots for Michael Kor’s Spring/Summer 2012 Collection.

Want to bring a little bit of summer with you to the fall?  Pick these shades up.

Ingredients: Mica, Squalane, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Glyceryl Caprylate, Glycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Retinyl Palmitate, Terpineol, Water/Aqua/Eau, p-Anisic Acid, Sodium Levulinate, Levulinic Acid, Potassium Sorbate. May contain/peut contenir [+/-]: Iron Oxides (Cl 77491, Cl 77492, Cl 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Cl 77891), Red 30 Lake (Cl 73360), Red 7 Lake (Cl 15850:1), Yellow 5 Lake (Cl 19140:1), Carmine (CI 75470).J1258

6 comments

  1. Pingback: By Terry Blush Veloute in Ginger Glaze + Rose De Rose Sheer Liquid Blush in Amber Glow « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: Revlon PhotoReady Sculpting Blush Palettes « Fairytales and Coffee

  3. Pingback: Make Up Forever Blush Powder in Matte Cinnamon -161 « Fairytales and Coffee

  4. Pingback: Jouer Cosmetics Mineral Powder Blush in Bougainvillea « Fairytales and Coffee

    • It was super crusty and nasty looking. Plus, I tried cleaning it several times. I kept for a while in that state because the product was still good inside, but eventually I could not handle the grossness of the packaging. NARS packaging does not “age” well.


Leave a Reply

