Violet Lips: The Swatches + MINDY!!!

Oxblood, deep berry, and violet lips are on trend this season.  But let us be truthful, they ARE ALWAYS ON TREND in the Fall/Winter!  Let’s stop acting like we are being all new and fresh. We are not.  If I have to read one more magazine talking about how seasonal colors are the “newest” trend, as if it is surprising, when it is a seasonal color (kind of like neon pinks, bright reds, and bright oranges ARE ALWAYS on TREND in the spring/summer – except when they are not, and then it’s a NEUTRAL, and then back again).  Really, I could go on, but I won’t because I actually do like all of these shades…it just gets annoying to state the obvious like it’s fresh.  It’s not, kind of like seasonal changes…it’s new, except it’s not –  it’s just back again.

Wow – did not realize how that had been annoying me.  I suppose I should delete this and put something more banally positive – eh.  🙂

In the moment baby! 

I think it’s also because I am previewing the first episode to The Mindy Project, while I am writing this, which, OMG is FUNNY! I heart you Mindy Kaling!  I can’t wait for Tuesdays!!!  Please let it pick up viewers and do not cancel it! (‘crosses fingers’).

Back to the point of this post – I really like violet lips.  I am thinking of expanding the measly two shades I have with Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist in #49. But that won’t be for a while.

1. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick Creme in Va Va Violet, SRP

This is a deep purple shade, which I love because it is soooo dramatic.  This also requires perfect, flawless skin.  Actually, I only like wearing lipstick when my skin is not broken out.  Deep, vibrant shades call for FLAWLESS skin, no blemishes, no hyperpigmentation strays…just gorgeous skin…Is it any wonder that I CAN’T wear shades like this very often.  I do not like wearing a lot of other makeup when my lip is that strong…basically, a very light, sheer foundation mixed in with moisturizer, and an illuminator, some mascara.  That’s it.

2. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick Pearl in Violet Frenzy, SRP

This is actually pretty sheer and leaves a weird “I’ve been dead for a while in the winter” look on me, but when I leave it as a stain, it is really, really pretty.  This is a pearl finish so it will be shimmery.

3. Cover Girl Lip Perfection in Entwined, SRP

I featured this in a berry lip post and, truthfully, this shade looks like a muted berry, but on my lips it shows up more plummy.  I think it has both tones and depending on your skintone and the lighting, the berry, or the muted plum, will pop out.  You can even tell how the color shifted a bit because of different lighting from the previous swatch because of the lighting.  On me, the plummy tone is very noticeable but not in a good way.  It is too muted and dull a color with my skintone.  As I said before, this is a fall/winter shade for when I lose my tan.  I picked this up in the summer so…I am crossing my fingers.

The swatches:

I hope this introduced you to a few shades you can check out that won’t cost an arm and a leg.

For the record – all of these shades would probably look great on Mindy Kaling!

🙂

Leave a Reply

