Model Faces

I am inspired by unique feminine beauty.  Not everyone is going to find the same people beautiful, although there may be a large consensus, of who is beautiful.  Beauty, even when following “traditional” measures, is still in the eye of the beholder.  Not everyone has to agree.  As far as I am concerned, I don’t have to consult someone else’s opinion, if I find someone beautiful.  It just is (to me) and I could care less whether you agree with me or not.  I may be surprised that you can’t see it but it won’t change my opinion. 

Joan Smalls Rodriguez and Daphne Groeneveld have captured my imagination for a while.  I love seeing editorials and adverts for these two.  Both women have “strong” features, and more so in the case of Daphne Groeneveld, who some view as not “traditionally” pretty, or even pretty at all.  Her traditional markers of idealized european beauty: blue eyes, blond hair, pale skin, play an interesting contrast against her not so “typical” features.  It makes her  completely Dutch ancestry all the more interesting, especially in light of another Dutch supermodel, Lara Stone, another favorite model of mine, who has “atypical” features.  Meanwhile, Joan Smalls Rodriguez’s strong, contrasting beauty comes from her latino melange-like ancestry, which incorporates her father’s African and Irish roots, as well as her mother’s Spanish, Taino, and South Asian (Indian) ancestry.  There is something gracefully feline and dangerous about her bone structure that is just incredibly beautiful.

I hope these two have a very long career, not just in their youth, but also in old age. I would love to see them as older female models. 

Leave a Reply

