REN Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask

1. REN Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask, 1.7 oz for $55.00

I like the idea behind REN products all natural bio-actives.  However, it doesn’t mean it will be the most effective product on your skin.  This product has a ton of positive reviews and I can only imagine that these women must have sensitive, dry, thin skin, or they almost never treat their skin to retinoids or stronger glycolic peeling agents.  This is a leave on mask with a thick gommage-like texture to it that you spread all over your skin and leave on for a bit of time before you wash it off.  I always leave my masks on for longer than recommended unless it will burn the hell out of my skin (looking at you Neutrogena Clear Pore Cleanser/Mask – really, I should have known better since it has benzoyl peroxide and that irritates and dries the heck out of my skin).  I was not in any danger with this mask.  It has a very mild exfoliative effect on my skin.  It also does not last very long.  You are supposed to layer a thick amount all over your skin.  This wouldn’t matter if it had a significant exfoliative effect, but it doesn’t.  That’s a lot of money for a super mild exfoliator, when my skin can tolerate more.  Honestly, I received more exfoliation from the Remede Skin Exacting Masque, which is a hydrating gel-mask!

I like the idea behind this mask, but it needs more aggressive actives to make it worth my while.  This is a great product for people with thin, sensitive skin that does not tolerate strong exfoliants.  If you are looking for real exfoliation, do not get this product.  If you have super oily skin, or are acne prone, this product is not worth your while either.  You can experience better exfoliation and brightening from a scrub cleanser from the drugstore for under $10.00.  This could be used as a gentle exfoliant for the days I have nuked my skin.   Sometimes, super gentle exfoliation is needed, but I can get better results from the sleep in Exuviance Vespera Bionic Serum, which, also, has more uses per bottle.

Ingredients: Polysorbate 60 (Source Rape Seed Oil), Glycerin (Source Coconut Oil), Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Water, Lecithin (Source Soybean), Lactic Acid (Source Wheat), Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Seed Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Passiflora Quadrangularis Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Ananas Sativus (Pineapple) Fruit Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Alcohol denat. (Source Grape), Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil, Xanthan Gum (Source Corn), Maltodextrin, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Parfum (100% Natural Fragrance), Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Oil, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Phenoxyethanol (Source Aromatic Ether), Sodium HydroxymethylGlycinate (Source Amino Acid), Hippophae Rhamnoides (Seabuckthorn) Berry Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E).

3 comments

  1. Too bad you don’t like this mask. I really like it but I have sensitive skin. It’s good to know what people with oilier skin think about this mask actually. I agree, it is not very agressive. I have to say, I don’t get a massive result either. Just a gentle exfoliation. When I use it reguraly, I can see an improvement in my skin texture (my main problem). Have you tried other exfoliators, like Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant? It’s not a mask but delivers fast results and the skin condition actually ‘stays’ good. I can use it only (max.) three times a week but I think oilier/not as sensitive can use it every day.

    • Yeah, I think the Ren Radiance mask is probably great for sensitive skins. I have read about the Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant – Dermalogica is one of those brands that for some reason I keep passing by and I don’t know why – but I did try their Soothing Protection Spray, which is awesome and calming down sensitive, enflamed skin after I have nuked it.

  2. Pingback: Arcona Raspberry Resurfacing Peel + Tea Tea Mask « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

