Blushes: Sonia Kashuk Beautifying Blush

I am not a makeup snob.  If you make a good product I will buy it.  I have seen Sonia Kashuk’s makeup line promoted at Target for a while, but it took me a long time to actually buy something from her line.  My safety product is blush, so I purchased three blushes.  I have to say that the shades based on my visual check all seemed kind of similar.  I was afraid of getting multiple blushes from the same line in the same hue, so it took me a while to choose these three.

1. Sonia Kashuk Beautifying Blush in Melon, Lily (D), and Flamingo, SRP

The first thing I have to say is that these are really not that pigmented on light-medium skintones, or darker.  This may be visible on very fair individuals.  This is not a summer blush for me.  I have to layer a ton of product to get some visible color, but when I am layering, it makes my cheeks super powdery.  There is alot of powder residue falling around.  The shades are also very similar to each other because of how sheerly it applies.  This reminds me of MAC Beauty Powders with there sheer hints of color.  This also does not last long on oily skin.  This blush DISAPPEARS really quickly.  For a drugstore product, it is okay if you are very fair, have normal skin, and want a soft, sheer flush of color.  I can only really use this in the fall/winter/spring when my skintone has shifted back to it’s natural color, and my skin is not AS super oily.  This is the blush I would wear if I were wearing a lipstick since it is so sheer and would not compete with my lips.  I do like the packaging, which is very compact, but I hate how the rim gets so easily discolored.

All in all, I do not think I would repurchase this blush.  It is not necessarily bad, but its not very good either.  The sheerness of the product makes many of the colors look the same on my cheeks, especially once my skin oils get in the mix….before the oils make the blush disappear.

The swatches:

Leave a Reply

