The Essential Oils: ‘Til Infinity and Beyond

I have never met an essential oil product I didn’t like.  (Ok.  Not true.  I met one.  Nude Skincare Replenishing Night Oil Serum.  I could not finish it.  It smelled like used dishwater and felt like a soapy, viscose water with oil left in it, like from a sink.  PASS!)  Granted, I put my money on “perceived” quality by buying up.  Something about going natural, or mostly, natural, makes me more leery of buying cheap.  Yet, I don’t hate on anything I find in Whole Foods, either.  I have a couple I will include in a budget version of this collection later on.  A few of these bottles above are just one use away from being finished.  YES!  RESTOCK IS NEAR (insert ‘crazy eyes’). 

🙂

But I am also not crazy…looking at you Amore Pacific Green Tea Seed Treatment Oil for $195!!!! Not even a full ounce!  

Anyways –

I have nary a bad thing to say about any of the items pictured above.  They have different essential oil components, although likely in the same, or similar carrier oil. 

1. Thalgo Thalgodermyl Purifying Extracts, 0.5 oz for $47.00

Alright, maybe it’s not fair to call this an essential oil product considering the first few ingredients. But I like it anyways.  This is definitely more of a treatment product against acne, and oil filled pores.  I prefer to mix with with a moisturizer, or “true” essential oil product.  This is more aggressive than any of the other products in the sense that it cuts through oil, although it has not dried me out, but you feel a hint of the alcohol.  I also like the cool push-button applicator.

Ingredients: Propylene Glycol, Aqua (Water), Alcohol Denat., Butylene Glycol, PEG-60 Almond Glycerides, Caprylyl Glycol, PPG-26 Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Arnica Montana (Flower Extract), Equisetum Arvense (Extract), Panax Ginseng (Root Extract), Betula Alba (Bark Extract), Laminaria Digitata (Extract), Fucus Vesiculosus (Extract), Lithothamnium Calcareum (Extract), Algae (Extract), Citrus Limonum (Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil), Lavandula Hybrida (Oil), Verbena Officinalis (Extract), Anthemis Nobilis (Flower Oil),Glycerin, Carbomer,Nordihydroguaiaretic Acid, Oleanolic Acid

2. Decleor Aromessence Iris Rejuvenating Serum, 0.5 oz for $84.00

Priciest essential oil I have.  It is, also, the silkiest essential oil product I currently have, and it feels and smells wonderful.  It is meant for aging skin.  I use it when I want to baby my skin but also feel luxurious.  I have the old bottle and it is one use away from done.  However, the silkiest essential oil (like) product I have ever used was EmerginC’s Complexion Perfection Oil, which is super smooth and silk, and also meant for mature, drier skintypes.

Ingredients: Corylus Avellana (Hazel) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Prunus Domestica Fruit Extract, Rosa Moschata Seed Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Neroli Oil, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil, Leptospermum Scoparium Oil, Boswellia Carterii Oil, Jasminum Grandiflorum (Jasmine) Oil

3. Decleor Aromessence Ylang Ylang Purifying Serum, o.5 oz for $68.00

I have mentioned this serum before.  Great oil-sucker, pore purifier.  Sometimes, I dab this on my nose before I apply moisturizer to suck up oil.  I have purchased this like three times.  It goes quickly because I use it so often.  I have tried Sundari’s Essential Oil for Oily Skin and Essential Oil for Normal-Combination Skin and it doesn’t compare as an oil-sucker, pore purifier.  Sundari’s oils’ are thinner and may only work as “moisturizers,” while Decleor has a thicker feel and does feel “coatish.”  I have also purchased the Decleor Aromessence Rose D’Orient Soothing Serum about two times, but I have not repurchased it yet, but it is a definite repurchase.  It purifies pores, not as well as the Ylang Ylang version, but it soothes the surrounding skin, which is great for irritated skin.  The Ylang Ylang will not really hydrate or soothe.

Ingredients: Corylus Avellana (Hazel) Seed Oil, Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Pimenta Acris (Bay) Leaf Oil, Linalool, Citronellol, Geraniol, Eugenol, Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Salicylate, Farnesol, Isoeugenol, D-Limonene

4. Pevonia Botanica Face Oil – Sensitive, 0.5 oz for $24.00

I like this product.  I use it for when my skin feels dry and irritated.  It is a thick oil.  Lower priced than the Decleor, but with similar ingredients.  I will have to check out the other face oils in this line, as well.  I haven’t done so yet.  It looks like a good value, but I am not sure if it can dethrone my Ylang Ylang and Rose D’Orient as pore purifiers.

Ingredients: Corylus Avellana (Hazel Nut) Oil,  Rosa Gallica (French Rose) Essential Oil,  Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Essential Oil,  Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Essential Oil,  Tocopherol,  Tocopheryl Acetate (Vit. E).

5. Sundari Chamomile Eye Oil, 0.3 oz for $45.00

I would not buy this again for a number of reasons.  1) It is meant to moisturize under eye area, but this stuff gets in your eye and you see cloudy vision for a while.  2) It migrates because it is very thin and runny. 3) The main ingredient is jojoba oil and that stuff can be gotten cheaply under the Desert Essence line, which I have a large bottle of.  4) The “treatment” ingredients don’t appear to have an effect that I guess COULD justify the higher price tag.  5) I ended up using this as a facial moisturizer, which is fine.  5) This is severely overpriced.   Not a repurchase because I think this is highway robbery not because it is bad.

Ingredients: Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Perseagratissima Avocado Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Gel, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Oil, Cymbopogon Martini Oil, Retinol, Ascorbic Acid, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol.

I hope you found this useful.  Unless you have allergies to certain ingredients, essential oil products are great.  I do not think you have to go expensive.  There are budget buys out there.  Desert Essence is a great line with a jojoba oil product that can penetrate pores, moisturize skin, wash off makeup, treat the scalp, moisturize dry ends, and a host of other things.  It is non-comedogenic and pure.  Check it out.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: A-Bombs Away! « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: Decleor Aromessence Rose D’Orient Soothing Serum + Ylang Ylang Purifying Serum « Fairytales and Coffee

  3. Pingback: I Love Empties! « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

