Pink Lips Mini Collection: The Swatches

I like pink lips.  They don’t like me.  I have purchased pink lips to only realize, it is just not a good look.  Miss Piggy and Kermit the Frog may belong together, but I and pink lips do not.  This is does not stop me from looking for a pink that does work.  I already know rosy-pinks work, but I want more variety in my life dammit!  Fortunately, I have learned the error of my ways and only buy budget lips when experimenting with pink.  It won’t hurt me as much.

1. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick Creme in Temptress, SRP

This shade has a definite lilac/blue tone to and it is kind of sheer with some sparkle in it.  This just makes me look more like Kermit the Frog by enhancing the green in my skintone.  If you are blue-toned, jump on this because it a pretty color, but only on a fair-skinned blue -oned lass…  🙂

2. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick Creme in Pink in the Afternoon, SRP

Me likey this shade.  It has a hint of peach, a warm tone.  However, I need it to be deeper on me.  This is borderline wearable.  Very pretty on those fair to medium ladies with strong peachy or golden undertones. 

3. Cover Girl Lip Perfection in Heavenly, SRP

This was probably the best color of all the pinks because it is significantly deeper than all the other shades.  But it is not that flattering on me right now.  You know when you have a color that works but doesn’t really do anything for you.  It is just kind of there.  This lipstick shade would require a significant amount of other makeup to punch up my look.  Except, why would I wear a lipstick shade that requires other cosmetics to punch it up from blah?….Right.   For me, the point of lipstick is TO punch up my look because I don’t normally wear it.  This lipstick may work in the winter when I am significantly paler, therefore, providing more contrast -allowing for more punch.  My uneven tan and melasma significantly muddies this look.

The search continues….

For now, here are the swatches:

Leave a Reply

