The Serum: Exuviance Vespera Bionic Serum

1. Exuviance Vespera Bionic Serum, 1.0 oz for $72.00

I have read many beauty editor raves/mention in magazines about La Mer Cream De La Mer and the super secret marine ingredients in the “miracle broth.”  Blah, Blah, Blah.  I have never tried this product.  User reviews have been split between those who luxuriate in its uber expensive price tag so it must be good and those who were miffed they paid that much for a super heavy moisturizer that clogs their pores.  Well, when I discovered Exuviance Vespera Bionic Serum, I imagined it like a poor man’s La Mer Cream De La Mer, thinner, more runny, sticky and cheaper.  Maybe, it’s the green bottle, or, the “marine botanicals” mentioned in its brand literature.  Regardless, it had a lot of positive reviews and I was intrigued about a serum that was described as a intenstive treatment for stressed skin.  That sounds like an oxymoron.  Isn’t stressed skin supposed to be babied? 

Anyways, I liked the reviews and I bought it and I only used it on those days my skin was super dry and cracked and could not tolerate my normal night routine.  I would either use this alone at night on just bad days, or to seal in the ingredients and create an occlusive barrier, heavily layer one of my Decleor  Aromaessences Essential Night Balms (preferably Soothing Rose D’Orient) on top.  When I woke up in the morning, my skin was soft, moisturized and finely exfoliated at the same time.   My skin would look remarkably well in the morning. The benefit of the Decleor Aromaessence Night Balm was that it would still suck up oil from my pores, while preventing any of the moisturizing ingredients from the serum from dissipating. 

Here is the catch.  It really should by only used at night because it is kind of sticky.  I tried to use in the day as a morning serum and…not a good idea, even with layering other product on top.  It is too moisturizing on my everything is ok,  no breakouts, but still super oily skin.  Unless, you have dry skin year round, best not to use in a humid, high heat summer.  So, I reserve this as an intensive treatment for my seriously stressed out skin…. 🙂  See, once in a while, brand literature is factual!  I have purchased this serum three times and will continue to do so.  It lasts a long time because I don’t use it every day.

Bonus! You get to actually READ the ingredients instead of, you know, reading the trademarked “miracle broth” as a catchall for what’s in there.  Let’s see, some super sloughing, moisturizing but gentle exfoliants (gluconolactone, lactobionic acid, mandelic acid); a vitamin C derivative (Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate – YAY!), a weaker form of retinol (retinyl palmitate), some marine stuff (algae!), an amino acid that can speed wound healing and assist production of collagen (arginine), and a form of Vitamin D3 known to accelerate cell growth in skin, which is severly irritated and enflamed (cholecalciferol). 

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Butylene Glycol, Algae, Glycerin, Gluconolactone, Lactobionic Acid, Polysorbate 80, Triethanolamine, Mandelic Acid, Arginine, Tocopheryl (Vitamin E) Acetate, Citric Acid, Tetrahexyldecyl (Vitamin C) Ascorbate, Retinyl (Vitamin A) Palmitate, Zea Mays (Corn) Oil (Vitamin D3), Cholecalciferol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Disodium Edta, Propylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Parfum (Fragrance)

2 comments

  1. Pingback: A-Bombs Away! « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: I Love Empties! « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

