The Illuminati Collection: Luminizers

What seperates these illuminators from my Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheers?  My Fluid Sheers are (mostly) in a separate category for me because even though I have used them in the same way as I do the others below, they mostly serve the purpose of darkening up very white Japanese mineral sunscreens and adding a natural fleshtone to my Coppertone Faces Sensitive Skin Suncreen Lotion in SPF 50, which is MASK WHITE and THICK and cannot be used on its own.  The illuminators above serve traditional uses being less expensive.

1. Benefit When Girl Meets Pearl in Golden Pink, 0.4 for $30.00 (mini pictured)

I like Benefit luminizers.  I think I have never bought them separately because I always had so many Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheers that I felt bad for doing so.  But when I saw a Benefit mini set for sale that was mostly blushes and luminizers, I got it.  What I don’t like is the packaging it comes in.  When Girl Mets Pearl has a creamy texture which I love mixing in with moisturizers or foundations.  It does make your skin glow and I have used this as a pre-blush, which comes out a very sheer light golden-pink.   If they sell mini’s separately, I will continue to buy.  I hate the actual full size product packaging.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Octyldodecanol, Mica, Cetyl Dimethicone, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Phenyl Trimethicone, Tapioca Starch, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Tribehenin, Caprylyl Glycol, Behenyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Polyacrylate-13, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Extract, Carbomer, Peg-100 Stearate, Polyisobutene, Aminomethyl Propanol, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Benzophenone-4, Butylene Glycol, Sorbic Acid, Lentinus Edodes Extract, Bht, Disodium Edta, Fragrance (Parfum), Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Sorbitan Isostearate, Carmine (Ci 75470), Polysorbate 20, Sodium Methylparaben, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Sodium Propylparaben, Sodium Ethylparaben, Methylparaben, Linalool, Propylene Glycol, Butylparaben, Chlorphenesin, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Citric Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate. N° 05131/N.

2. Make Up Forever Uplight Face Luminizer Gel in Dewy Golden Beige, 0.55 oz for $29.00

I bought this, but you know I am not exactly enamored with this luminizer.  I don’t know why.  I think it is because it does not stand out like my other repeat purchase highlighters.  It is a solid highlighter with a plastic-y feel.  I have barely used this.  For me to repurchase a highlighter, it has to fill a void that my current staple of beloved highlighters do not fill.  This fills nothing.  I may have just made a mistake by choosing a too basic color.  I will check out the other shades they have to see if I feel the same way.  Unless, I find a shade that fills a void, this is not a repurchase.  On a separate note, I would like to point out how the branding and packaging of this brand is remarkably similar to Smashbox.  I don’t know who came first but this a problem from a branding perspective.  I constantly get these two brands confused. 

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Methylpropanediol, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Glycerin, Tromethamine, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Mangifera Indica Seed Oil (Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter), Pentylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Parfum (Fragrance), Tocopherol, Benzyl Salicylate, Coumarin, Citronellol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, [+/-  Mica, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Tin Oxide, CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide)].

3. Lorac Oil Free Luminizer in Pearl 1, 0.9 oz for $28.00

This was my first ever luminizer and I loved it.  I mixed this in with my moisturizers, sunscreens (I shouldn’t have), and even my foundations, and it made my skin GLOW, but not in a disco ball kind of way.  My skin looked ethereal.  Do not be afraid of the white-silver swatches.  This blends very well with golden beige and warm beige foundations, without whitifying them.  I use this often in the winter months for some reason, not sure why, but I just do.  While, I almost never use this in the summer because I am usually trying to darken up Japanese mineral sunscreens that run white with Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheers.  I have purchased this three times and will continue to do so.

Ingredients: No Sulfates, Synthetic Fragrances, Synthetic Dyes, Petrochemicals, Phthalates

4. YSL Teint Parfait Complexion Enhancer in Champaigne, 1.0 oz for $42.00 (Supposedly Discontinued)

This was a wonderful surprise and I think it comes a close second to Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheers.    The color Champaigne is a light beigey-golden that is my skintone only WAY BETTER.  This can be mixed in with foundation, moisturizer, layered on top of a little bit lighter mineral sunscreens (but not too white), used like a foundation primer, AND like a foundation.  It has a interesting gel-creamy but primer-like texture.  It looks opaque and kind of dull with teeny tiny shimmer but when blended it offers sheer opacity, if that makes any sense.  This stuff is AWESOME.  So, I was really surprised when YSL decided to discontinue it.  Except, it actually makes sense because I would NOT BE SURPRISED IF THE TECHNOLOGY AND INGREDIENTS TOUTED IN YSL LE TOUCHE ECLAT FOUNDATION was inspired, derivative, or is actually the same basic formula, with a few changes, as the Teint Parfait’s.  I know, I know, supposedly the Radiant Touch pens inspired the new foundation…but the new foundation wears similarly to the Teint Parfait.  Just my little opinion.  Since this clocks in at $42.00 and the new YSL foundation is $58.00, well, you can see how that would be a problem.  I was told by two beauty associates that the Teint Parfait would be discontinued.  So far, I still see it sold.

Ingredients: AQUA (WATER) . CYCLOMETHICONE . DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER . POLYMETHYLSILSESQUIOXANE . HDI/PPG/POLYCAPROLACTONE CROSSPOLYMER . SODIUM CHLORIDE . PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE . HEXYLENE GLYCOL . GLYCERIN . DIISOPROPYL DIMER DILINOLEATE . OCTYLDODECANOL . PHENOXYETHANOL . CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE . HEXYL LAURATE . POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE . QUATERNIUM-18 HECTORITE . FRUCTOSE . GLUCOSE . PARFUM (FRAGRANCE) . TOCOPHEROL . METHYLPARABEN . SODIUM STEARATE . PROPYLENE CARBONATE . TRISODIUM EDTA . SILICA . BUTYLPARABEN . ETHYLPARABEN . ACACIA SENEGAL . DIMETHICONE . SODIUM HYALURONATE . ALANINE . SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE . UREA . PROPYLPARABEN . ISOBUTYLPARABEN . BUTYLENE GLYCOL . ASPARTIC ACID . GLUTAMIC ACID . SOLANUM LYCOPERSICUM (TOMATO) EXTRACT . [+/- MAY CONTAIN : CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE) . CI 77019 (MICA) . CI 77492 (IRON OXIDE) . CI 77491 (IRON OXIDE) . CI 77007 (ULTRAMARINES) . CI 77499 (IRON OXIDE) . CI 77510 (FERRIC FERROCYANIDE) . CI 77742 (MANGANESE VIOLET) . TALC . CI 75470 (CARMINE) . “1YT06-1” . ]

The swatches:

Out of curiousity, I swatched Benefit’s Girl Meets Pearl against Edward Bess All Over Seduction in Afterglow to see how they compared since they are both a shimmery golden-pink.  However, the pink in Benefit’s Girl Meets Pearl is stronger, while Edward Bess’ All Over Seduction in AfterGlow is more noticeably golden then pink.  Also, All Over Seduction is easier to use as a blush because of its creamier and thicker consistency but When Girl Meets Pearl shows more of a hint of pink.   

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Best Multi-Purpose Highlighter: Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheers « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: Origins Halo Effect: Instant Face Illuminator for Face « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

