A Vitamin C Serum I Didn’t Like: Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Hydra-Pure Vitamin C Brightening Serum

Image

1. Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Hydra-Pure Vitamin C Brightening Serum, 1.0 oz for $95.00

In theory, I should have liked this product.  It has some great ingredients: L-ascorbic acid, phytic acid, salicylic acid, lactic acid, and two derivatives of vitamin c.  I do not have a problem with silicones or the feel of silicones.  It comes in a air tight container that won’t allow the vitamin C to turn bad.  Yet, I really could NOT stand using this stuff.  It felt heavy, occlusive, like thick sludge on my skin.  My skin felt like it couldn’t breathe.  Now, I have crisco’ed my face with waxy balms and slathered on essential oils, not dabbed, slathered, but I could not stand putting this stuff on my skin.  I have never not finished a Vitamin C serum before now.   Maybe I would have had I noticed an effect on my skin.  Most Vitamin C serums, even the ones that take awhile for me to notice a brightening effect, will make me skin feel firmer and more refined.  I didn’t notice anything this product.  Also, it was difficult to layer sunscreens on top, or serums below.  Everything pilled or kind of dragged.

I don’t normally do this but I have to say this isn’t the first time something from this brand didn’t really work out for me.  There is one hyped product, in particular, that all the beauty editors rave about, Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Alpha Beta Daily Face Peel, but I have never seen any improvement, even in the texture of my skin.  My skin did not feel refreshed or even “clean.”  I, also, tried some of their acne products and it had no effect.

This is not to say that nothing in this brand is effective, however, I do think considering all the RAVES (from beauty editors and online reviews) that perhaps this may be a brand that works on thinner, sensitive, drier skintypes, where even a mild exfoliative effect would be noticed with mild actives.  This is not a brand for oiler, really acne prone skin.

This is not a repurchase and I am going to have to force myself to use the rest of this stuff.  I paid too much for it, perhaps on the tops of my hand.

Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclomethicone, Ascorbic Acid, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, Squalane, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Quercetin Caprylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Linoleic Acid, Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Salicylic Acid, Lactic Acid, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Salix Nigra (Willow) Bark Extract, Acrylates/Carbamate Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Panthenol, Pentasodium Pentetate, Phytic Acid, Potassium Citrate, Potassium Gluconate, Tetrasodium Edta, Purified Water (Aqua Purificata), Phenoxyethanol.

2 comments

  1. Hi! Would love to connect with you further about your experience with the Vitamin C Brightening Serum. Please reach out to my email – would love to know when you are using it, how we can help etc!

    • Now that is excellent customer service. I don’t think all types of vitamin c serums can be worn by all skintypes. It is why I make a point to discuss my own skintype. This product will get a second run when the fall starts. If there is a change I will update my post. The fact that this serum did not work on my skin does not take away from it working on others with drier, thinner, sensitive, or more fragile skin types. But it did not work for me. Serums are very self explanatory when it comes to usage. Thank you for the offer of assistance, though.


Leave a Reply

