Edward Bess Compact Rouge for Lips and Cheek Rouge & All Over Seduction Illuminateur

I heard about Edward Bess cosmetics from a British beauty blog owned by an online beauty store called Zuneta.  I am constantly trolling international beauty blogs, especially British ones, in the hopes of finding new brands not yet available in the U.S.  When you become bored with what’s available in the U.S., you start sifting through international blogs.  When I saw that it was available at Neiman Marcus, I picked up two pots of blush. 

1. Edward Bess Compact Rouge For Lips and Cheeks in After Sunset, 0.5 oz for $38.00

This shade is a burnt rose shade that mimics a beautiful natural flush.  One swipe on each cheek is all it takes.  This is a multi-purpose pot of color, but I have never used it on my lips.  [UPDATE: Totally used on my lips over the winter and I LOVE it on the lips even more! Incredibly thin, barely there feel with wonderful subtle shot of rosy color!]  Now is this blush/lip color worth a repurchase?  Eh, I can’t say.  It is rather expensive for a blush shade that is common.  [UPDATE: A look back on this product’s natural flush and silky, easy glide on texture during my skin wrecked days showed me how instrumental this product was. ]  This is a repurchase! I like the portability of this pot with a mirror, which is a plus.  What I do not like is how easily the lettering on the pot can disappear.  I also do not like that the metallic pot that actually contains the color has separated from the plastic black encasement.  So, I have to be careful when I dab my finger in that I don’t lift the metal pan out, which happens frequently.  So, portability, YAY.  Quality of packaging, NAY.  The color can be found in various different brands, but the application on super dry, irritated, sensitized skin is amazing and the duo purpose of this product makes it a great edition to your makeup collection.

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Octyldodecanol, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Dipentaerythrityl Hexahydroxystearate/Hexastearate/Hexarosinate, Fragrance (Parfum), BHT, Trihydroxystearin, Lecithin, Bisabolol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Barium Sulfate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Polyethylene, Glyceryl Triacetyl Ricinoleate. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 21 (Lake CI 45380), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 30 Lake (CI 73360), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Orange 5 Lake (CI 45370), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Carmine (CI 75470), Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Tin Oxide (CI 77861), Silica, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate.

2. Edward Bess All Over Seduction in Afterglow, 0.5 oz for $38.00

Whenever I want to try out a new brand, but I am not sure it’s going to work, I go to my comfort zone, blush.  Now, All Over Seduction is actually a luminizer, but its creamy texture lends itself to being used like a blush.  On those days where I just want a coppery look, and I am not interested in wearing a lot of color, I pull this out in Afterglow and dab on my cheeks for a bare hint of color. This is a total summer time look, but it would be interesting to experiment with this shade in the fall and winter.  This little pot is actually something I would repurchase again.  The color is unique, the texture and color usefully multi-purpose, and the packaging is super portable.

Ingredients: Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Dimethicone, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Polymethylmethacrylate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Octyldodecanol, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Polyethylene, Microcrystalline Wax, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Tin Oxide, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Extract, Carum Petroselinum (Parsley) Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract, Centaurea Cyanus Flower Extract. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 21 Lake (CI 45380), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 30 Lake (CI 73360), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Carmine (CI 75470).

Here are super closeups of the pots with and without flash.  The flash was more to see how the luminizer looks. 

Now, the swatches:

5 comments

  1. Pingback: Absolute Skin Saviors of 2012 « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: Jouer Cosmetics Highlighter « Fairytales and Coffee

  3. Pingback: R.I.P. Muji Nylon Makeup Bag or How Someone Became Extra Grimey « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

