Treatment and Foundation in One? (Thhppfffttt): Clinique Even Better Makeup SPF 15

I am skeptical of foundations being touted as coverage and treatment in one.  In theory, it should be a brilliant idea.  If you wear foundation, than you are wearing a product on your face for near half the day.  Foundation would be an ideal product to introduce treatment ingredients.  Except, I am skeptical of big beauty companies actually putting anything that has a real skin treatment like effect in makeup.  Why?  Think about it.  It is a two for one!  You pay for one product what they would prefer you to pay for two, three, or more.  Look, I am a product junkie, but if you tell me I could legitimately get the same affect from one product, as I would from four, I would jump ship and just redirect my compulsive tendencies to another aspect in my life.  So, when I bought Clinique Even Better Makeup SPF 15, I was focusing more on the foundation aspect, and not the “even better” part, which I presumed would be neglible.  Beauty marketing is incredibly misleading.  So, I am commenting on this product as a foundation.

1. Clinique Even Better Makeup SPF 15 in Golden Neutral, 1.0 oz for $27.00

This is marketed as a moderate coverage foundation, that can be used on dry and oily combination skin.  I cry foul and believe this is more appropriate for dry-normal skin.  Not that I can’t use it for my oily skin, but it is ideal for dry skin types.  Also, I think this is more of a medium to full coverage, assuming you can set it.  This foundation takes a while to set, actually I don’t think it sets in the same way that the Urban Decay Naked Weightless Ultra Definition Makeup sets.  This foundation definitely kind of sits on skin in a moist way.  You don’t feel it like a layer but the sensation of moisture is there, if you are oily.

What I like about the foundation is that it can be sheered out, it can be easily mixed with other products, it doesn’t pill, and it is in a convenient container that can be thrown in a gym bag.  This foundation is no YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat or  Urban Decay Naked Foundation, but it is still a good foundation, and since it is cheaper than both of the other foundations, it is a good value.  Not great value.  It is still better than most drugstore foundations.

I got the shade Golden Neutral.  I swatched it next to YSL’s Le Teint Touche Eclat BD50.  They are very close shade wise, but Golden Neutral has a stronger golden base.  I am not sure if you can see, but it offers more coverage than the YSL BD50, which is allowing my own skintone to peek through its soft-focus gel formula and toning down the shade’s darker tone.

Overall, I am dissatisfied with Clinique’s shade options.  Considering all the shades they have, you would think they would have a better shade option than Golden Neutral, which I can only use sheered out and blended.  Like many foundations, this color gets darker on your skin as time goes by. 

I was able to get a sample of the Buff in this formula and I have swatched it here and here.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0: Winter Florals « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: Clinique foundations for yellow based skin tones | teejayesbeauty


Leave a Reply

