Imperceptible Finish: Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup

I was so enthralled with YSL’s Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation that I wasn’t as excited with my quick  swatch test for Urban Decay’s Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup.  I take away nothing from the sheer to light-medium glowing perfection that is YSL‘s new foundation, when I say that I am equally impressed with Urban Decay’s Naked Skin Foundation.  They are simply different foundations that I am equally excited to have in my collection. I selected 4.0  as my best match, which is a medium-light shade with golden olive undertones (per Sephora).

1. Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup, 1.0 oz for $38.00

This foundation truly feels like nothing at all, yet it covers very well.  I usually don’t bother with full foundation in the summer because it is hot and humid, and I am afraid it is going to melt off and leave sludge.  I prefer to rely on concealer for where my skin is broken out.  I used this foundation for two days where it was 90% humidity.  It did not melt off, sweat off, or irritate my acne.  The best part was that I didn’t even bother with concealer.  My goal was NOT to make it appear as if I had no acne.  There are bumps there, of course you are going to see bumps on my skin, but the redness was significantly reduced and the blemishes were much less noticeable.

On the first day of use, my skin was significantly irritated and dried out because of a overly drying drugstore cleanser I was testing out (Phisoderm).  My cheeks and jaw felt very rough and dry and I had just smacked on some Remede Skin Exacting Mask to see if it would soothe and hydrate my dry, cracked cheeks. (Apparently, the Remede Skin Exacting Mask, is not a true “mask,” but a weird hydrating AND exfoliating serum you are supposed to leave on your skin that has a surprising tingling sensation when it first touches your skin, but dissipates immediately). On a lark, I figured I would smack on some Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation to test it out while I took my niece to the park.  I slapped several pumps of the foundation on my skin and despite rubbing on several layers, and having to vigorously blend in because of the really rough condition of my cheeks, the foundation melded seamlessly into my skin.  There were no gobs, or thick layer, of cream on my skin.  It soaked right in and actually camouflaged my dry, rough cheeks (along with the Remede Skin Exacting Mask).  I returned after a few hours at the park and my skin was not peeling and the foundation had not lifted, or disintergrated.  It was still there, imperceptible.

On the second day, it was a bit more humid outside.  I simply put on my EmerginC 20 Vitamin C Serum, layered on Shiseido’s Urban Environment Oil–Free UV Protector SPF 42 PA+++ sunscreen and two pumps of Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation.  I placed two dabs of Edward Bess’s Compact Rouge For Lips and Cheeks in After Sunset on my cheeks and the foundation didn’t shift.  Even though the foundation seems to set very quickly, it wasn’t an issue because even where I went over the same place, while dry, the new layer melded imperceptibly.  When I came back home to check out my face, my foundation was still in place and it DID NOT look like I had on foundation.

My skin looked GREAT!  It definitely lived up to its demi-matte finish.  I didn’t even mind that the best foundation color for me, 4.0, was a bit darker, and more olive, than I am.  Looking at my face, I wanted the rest of my body to match my face.

Here are some closing bits on this foundation:

1.  It sets quickly but you can still layer on top without any issues.

2. If you layer a mineral sunscreen underneath, the foundation may  “lift” whenever you try to blend it in because it has melded to the mineral sunscreen as a top layer, and anytime you move it, color resettles poorly.  I have to vigorously blend and layer additional foundation when I am wearing a mineral sunscreen, which is often.  It does not have this problem with chemical sunscreens. NOTE: I no longer use mineral sunscreens with this foundation and now exclusively use chemical sunscreens.

3.  May be best to use a little moisture before you use this foundation.  It is a demi-matte finish.

4.  You cannot apply this on wet skin…I know, a no-brainer right?  Well, color me dumb and impatient.

5.  It will not lift in humidity or disintegrate on oily skin.

6.  It washed off quickly and completely with an oil cleanser.  Oddly, YSL’s Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation, which is a sheerer texture that allows skin’s own pigment to show through, does not come off easily with oil cleansing…how strange.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: The Foundations: Part 2 « Fairytales and Coffee

  2. Pingback: The Foundations: Part 3 « Fairytales and Coffee


Leave a Reply

